Buy Used
£0.57
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Middle Passage Hardcover – 11 Jul 1990

4.0 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover, 11 Jul 1990
£15.16 £0.57
Audio Cassette
"Please retry"
£54.99
click to open popover

Special offers and product promotions


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 209 pages
  • Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers; Reprint edition (11 July 1990)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0689119682
  • ISBN-13: 978-0689119682
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 14.6 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 3,356,505 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

"Essence"

A vivid and compelling work.



"The Washington Post

Middle Passage" is both unexpectedly funny and highly intellectual.



"Newsday

Middle Passage" resonates...a spirited adventure tale daringly spun off the realm of myth.



"USA Today"

A fascinating allegory of the way black and whites came together in this country...Johnson's remarkable novel challenges us.



"The New York Times Book Review"

Heroic...engrossing...in the tradition of "Billy Budd" and "Moby Dick,.".fiction that hooks into the mind.



"Chicago Tribune"

Long after we'd stopped believing in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that.



"Publishers Weekly"

A savage parable of the black experience in America...blending confessional, ship's log, and adventure...in luxuriant, intoxicating prose.



"Los Angeles Times Book Review"

Highly readable...by turns mimicking historical romance, slave narrative, picaresque tale, parable, and sea yarn, indebted to Swift, Coleridge, Melville, and Conrad.



"San Francisco Chronicle"

A rousing adventure yarn that resonates with and echoes the spirit of early sea stories...Johnson has fashioned a tale of travel and tragedy, yearning and history, and done so from a different, rarely explored viewpoint...."Middle Passage" is a story of slavery, often brilliant in its structure and riveting in the way it's told.



"The New York Times Book Review"

Heroic...engrossing...in the tradition of "Billy Budd" and "Moby Dick"...fiction that hooks into the mind.



"The Washington PostMiddle Passage" is both unexpectedly funny and highly intellectual.

"NewsdayMiddle Passage" resonates...a spirited adventure tale daringly spun off the realm of myth.

"USA Today"A fascinating allegory of the way black and whites came together in this country...Johnson's remarkable novel challenges us.

"The New York Times Book Review"Heroic...engrossing...in the tradition of "Billy Budd" and "Moby Dick,.".fiction that hooks into the mind.

"Chicago Tribune"Long after we'd stopped believing in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that.

"Publishers Weekly"A savage parable of the black experience in America...blending confessional, ship's log, and adventure...in luxuriant, intoxicating prose.

"Los Angeles Times Book Review"Highly readable...by turns mimicking historical romance, slave narrative, picaresque tale, parable, and sea yarn, indebted to Swift, Coleridge, Melville, and Conrad.

"San Francisco Chronicle"A rousing adventure yarn that resonates with and echoes the spirit of early sea stories...Johnson has fashioned a tale of travel and tragedy, yearning and history, and done so from a different, rarely explored viewpoint...."Middle Passage" is a story of slavery, often brilliant in its structure and riveting in the way it's told.

"Chicago Tribune" Long after we'd stopped believing in the great American novel, along comes a spellbinding adventure story that may be just that.

"Essence" A vivid and compelling work.

"The Washington Post Middle Passage" is both unexpectedly funny and highly intellectual.

"USA Today" A fascinating allegory of the way black and whites came together in this country...Johnson's remarkable novel challenges us.

"Newsday Middle Passage" resonates...a spirited adventure tale daringly spun off the realm of myth.

"The New York Times Book Review" Heroic...engrossing...in the tradition of "Billy Budd" and "Moby Dick"...fiction that hooks into the mind.

"San Francisco Chronicle" A rousing adventure yarn that resonates with and echoes the spirit of early sea stories...Johnson has fashioned a tale of travel and tragedy, yearning and history, and done so from a different, rarely explored viewpoint...."Middle Passage" is a story of slavery, often brilliant in its structure and riveting in the way it's told.

"Los Angeles Times Book Review" Highly readable...by turns mimicking historical romance, slave narrative, picaresque tale, parable, and sea yarn, indebted to Swift, Coleridge, Melville, and Conrad.

"Publishers Weekly" A savage parable of the black experience in America...blending confessional, ship's log, and adventure...in luxuriant, intoxicating prose. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

About the Author

Charles Johnson is a novelist, essayist, literary scholar, philosopher, cartoonist, screenwriter, and professor emeritus at the University of Washington in Seattle. His fiction includes Dr. King's Refrigerator, Dreamer, Faith and the Good Thing, and Middle Passage, for which he won the National Book Award. In 2002 he received the Arts and Letters Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. He lives in Seattle. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.


Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 12 June 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2003
Format: Paperback
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Format: Paperback
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on Amazon.com

Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars 79 reviews
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsI heard about this on NPR and I'm thrilled I had the opportunity to read it.
on 8 January 2017 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
3.0 out of 5 starsSacred Hunger from a different perspective
on 18 March 2014 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
4.0 out of 5 starsThoughtful and moving exploration of slavery
on 22 October 2015 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
4.0 out of 5 starsA reimagining of slave narratives and sea stories of the 1800s
on 9 July 2012 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful.
5.0 out of 5 starsAmazing
on 20 August 2016 - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase

Look for similar items by category