Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2010
I have used SharePoint 2003 & 2007 and I wanted to know 2010. This book suits me well because it is direct and simple, exactly as the title. It begins by listing down what's new in 2010, which was what I was looking for. Then it explains hundreds of tasks, organised into 14 chapters. The explanations are simple, step-by-step and really easy to understand. Even people who don't know SharePoint will be able to know how to do that task within a minute.
The book begins with explaining the basic of SharePoint: sites, columns, content types, list, library and documents. Then it explains the more complex ones: media, management policies, schedule & calendar, integration with Office 2010 and blogs. The last few chapters of the book are about security, search, personal sites and social networking.
Overall the book is written with amazing clarity. The pictures and screenshots make everything very clear. They are in full colour, showing what to do at every step. The layout of every page is very good. There are many useful tips in the chapters. This is the book that you need if you want to get started quickly on SharePoint 2010. If you are looking for a complete reference, this book is not for you.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
3 stars does not mean this is a bad book.

This book is a very basic overview of SharePoint 2010 aimed at new users o fthe system. If you were recently given a new SharePoint space at work and want to familiarise yourself with the system quickly, this book will do that, just not in a lot of detail.

If you set up SharePoint yourself then you should know all this already and you probably won't learn anything new or exciting.

As a basic guide to Sharepoint 2010 it's ok. Again, if your a new user of SharePoint you will probably fnd this useful. The full colour layout is clear, neat and easy t follow. So easy it could almost be a children's book.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2011
I was looking for a quick and easy Sharepoint guide for an urgent work project. This was perfect for the job .... I have a technical background, so didn't need to start from scratch, but wanted something to look up those areas i wasn't entirely sure about - and this did the job.

Consequently I've not read the book from cover to cover, but it's done what i needed of it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
It has helped me to deal with the basics of Sharepoint 2010. Everything is explained with screen shots and given examples.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2014
I found this manual to be an inexpensive and useful guide for gaining valuable insights to Microsoft SharePoint 2010. It is well illustrated and written and proved its worth in my preparation for an important job interview.

Chris Allen is a Hypnotherapist, Technical Author and writer with the following books available through Amazon:
Reality Shaper: The Quantum Detective
Parallel Lifetimes
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
This probably won't help you with installation, setup or so on, but as a guide to general sharepoint use (which is what I wanted) it's great. Questions of the "How do I get a list of XXX" are answered quickly and easily, with screen shots to help reassure you that you're on the right track. Just the right level of detail for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
Bit basic really. As a nominated SharePoint "Superuser" at work, I thought I'd brush up on my SharePoint skills. This book covers the basics, but is not really for advanced users. I learnt no more from this book than I did on the three days training I had at work. Ok if you know nothing or only want to learn the basics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
The information for this book could have been better advertised, as had I seen details about the book before purchasing, I wouldn't have purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
I would recommend this to anyone just trying to get their heads around what a very useful piece of software this is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
great book, simple and to the point. Arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)