Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 March 2017
What a shocker! I am so disappointed by this film, rubbish story, terrible acting I can not believe they did such a bad job of this remake. No complaints about the supplier who was just fine
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Love it . Classic Michael Mann.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Belongs in the top 5 Cop films of all time.
Outstanding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2017
Incredible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I'd already seen the film and liked it, but bought this DVD from amazon because it's advertised as having Spanish dubbing. It doesn't have the Spanish audio as advertised which is disappointing. Otherwise fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
People seem to love this or hate it. I was curious because Colin Farrell, who sometimes gets a bad press (probably out of jealousy of his looks, I know I am) and Jamie Foxx are actors that I very much admire - both rarely falter - and then I saw that this adaptation was written and directed by Michael Mann. And nobody, without exception, puts together slick and expertly crafted crime-with-extra-levels action movies like he does. Heat was exceptional, Collateral was exceptional. The Insider was a different kind of film but again, with the help of Russell Crowe and Al Pacino that also was a masterful film. The Last Of The Mohicans was a different animal again but fantastic. The Kingdom as well, you don't often see anything set in Saudi Arabia! The calibre of actors he works with, Crowe, Pacino, De Niro, Cruise, Farrell and Foxx, Day-Lewis, I guess gives him brilliant raw material to illuminate his ideas to the max.

I was no fan of the TV series, I don't watch TV anyway as it's generally overflowing with absolute junk. This has little in common except the names of the characters. The script, the staging, the extra complications to an already complicated plot, the set pieces and the performances of the actors and the stunning lead actress (Gong Li) are flawless.

Hopefully I will continue to be in awe of Michael Mann's work, he's a true craftsman.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2009
Does Miami Vice deserve 5 stars? Probably not because it is the worst Michael Mann i have ever seen. However it was one of the best movies in the cinema during 2006.

If you want a brain-dead movie, watch Bad Boys. If you want an intelligent hardcore realistic movie about going undercover watch MV.This 2006 movie opens with Numb/Hardcore blasting on the soundtrack as Michael Mann launches you straight into the seething underworld in which vice cops Crockett (Colin Farrell) and Tubbs (Jamie Foxx) operate, without opening credits or a title banner, and goes on steadfastly to resist the convention of slowing down to introduce the audience to who and what they're watching. The high-definition video photography - dark, lustrous, sometimes faintly grainy like a high-quality pirate - compounds the film's strange flatness.

The bottom line on the film is that is a very smart, tightly paced, action-packed police thriller with beautiful cinematography and great performances underscored by a compulsive tension that builds from frame 1 until the end of the movie.

The bottom line on the public is that because the film is so unconventional and densely plotted, it left many of our X-Factor lovin' brethren in the dust. Too bad. They're all lined up to take shots at a film which can only be described as "boring" by a reviewer who simply couldn't follow the bread crumbs.

When the film was released I read dozens of posts by moviegoers who had no clue what was going on in the film. To be completely honest, it took me two or three viewings to really understand how certain plot points worked together. This is a very good film for people who will appreciate the clever, intelligent way director Michael Mann constructs the whole. This is not a great film for people looking for ticking alligators, goofy sidekicks, wacky informants and a Jan Hammer beat. This is a movie for grownups. The rest need not bother.

Turn the sub titles on if you have a problem with the dialogue- Its not rocket science.

Regarding the music Michael Mann's jittery cop drama has an OST of two parts: the brash house/ hip hop of the clubs where Crockett & Tubbs do their under cover work, and the moody HEAT-like synths of the pair's respective private moments. You only really get the vibe of the former here with composer John Murphy's (28 Days Later, Snatch) excellent input reduced to 2 tracks. This album loses a star due to the absence of the Linkin Park/Jay-Z mash-up that scored the excellent trailer and begins the movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Captures the gloss and glamour of the original TV series but adds a hard, realistic edge which makes it a much more credible and satisfying product altogether. Tension is high throughout imparting a genuine sense of danger. Casting, performances and locations are good. A surprisingly decent film which far exceeds its parent show.

PS. This film has a great soundtrack but beware the sountrack album - some of the better tracks are not on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
The plot is tortuous. The end of the film is still a long way from my perfect ending. The performance of all the actors is very realistic. The film is ok. I watched it during the vacation. The film's camera switch is too montage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)