Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
36
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2013
I wanted to read about the boxer but the real story of the man was a better time. Please read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2006
This is the autobiography of Johnny Tapia, a man who fought and dealt with drugs, death, prison and a terrible childhood to become a 3 weight world champion (Super Fly-Bantam) and emerge as one of the most colourful and best fighters of the 90's. A fighter for 17 years Tapia consistently defied the odds and had 62 fights (55-5-2) of which 19 were for a 'world' title, and was undefeated from for 11 years until age and hard living eventually caught up with him.

In short anyone who thinks Tyson had a hard life will be shocked by this candid autobiography of a man whose life outside the ring is as interesting as it was in it.

This is no ordinary rags to riches story , and would serve as a good warning to anyone on the perils of addiction and life most certianly on the edge.

In short this is a must have!!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2008
An excellent, " cannot put it down read ", Johnny has been through it all, from a very troubled childhood, where he was the archetypal " dragged up child ", where he witnessed at first hand, drugs, guns, rape and abuse to his formative further troubled years, where it was more of the same, to adulthood, where his life was just turbulence personified. A very powerful and emotive read, that will leave you suprised, shocked, saddened and laughing with Johnny all on the same page. As a previous reviewer, mentioned, the poor grammer, and quality of writing prowess, in my opinion this only adds to the simplicity of the book, and gives the impression of Johnnys own words from an uneducated background. When completed, Mi Vida Loca impulsively, has you yearning for a sequel, a film or footage of his fights to see more of a very troubled character. Five stars.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2012
You don't have to be a boxing fan to enjoy this, crazy life doesn't even come close to explaining this story!
A superb account of an extraordinary life that Jonny has lived ( and died 4 times). Not likely to win any literary awards but I don't care too much for grammar. I downloaded this for kindle on iPad, the only thing it lacked was some pictures to add to the story. Still it was £6.41 well spent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2007
As much as Johnny Tapia has led a crazy life, the grammar in this book is appalling. This book was obviously written firstly in Spanish & then translated over into English. It has been translated over very badly & reads in Pigeon English most of the way through. For what can be read, yes of course this book is good because Johnny Tapia has thrown caution to the wind in his approach to life ever since the terrible experience he went through at such an early age. I cannot help but wish him well though. To update you, he did have an overdose (approx. Feb / Mar 2006) which I understand now, 23rd April, he is hanging in there, Bless Him.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A good read about a very troubled but talented boxer. Highlights the impact of undiagnosed mental conditions and the consequences of that, recommended for all boxing fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
what a heart wrenching story to still accomplish every thing he did in boxing a true warrior in every sense
there will only ever be one johnny tapia rip
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
great book it wasnt for me as I am not into boxing, But I did read it and it was defo one off the best books Iv ever read 5* FROM ME
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
Great book and what a life really enjoyed it more about the life than the boxing but you can relate with him - only thing I didn't like is that with kindle fire there was no pictures (unless I'm doing something wrong) any book about someone needs pictures it just adds to the read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2015
This book certainly lives up to its title. You'd be hard pressed to find anyone who's had a crazier life than this. If someone wrote this as a movie it would be judged too unrealistic. I read the whole book in one evening, its less than 300 pages and the font is large like in a childrens book. My lasting impression of it is its quite sad that people are willing to bring children into the kind of enviroment that Johnny was born into. And what some people see as raising them would otherwise be known as abuse.
Its no wonder Johnny was able to succeed in the brutal world of boxing, compared to the rest of his harsh life fighting in the ring would have seemed easy. Despite his boxing success its still overall a sad tale born out of tragedy and poverty. Johnny knew no different way of living but as he said himself, am I lucky or unlucky?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)