Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49


on 20 October 2017
A short, readable book with a couple of theological errors but this did not detract from the overall lessons to be learned from these men of the Bible, some of whom I had not given as much thought to as men of great faith. The author puts a personal and speculative insight onto the possible ruminations of these men. Well worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2011
I liked the direct style of DL Moody. This is not a long book and it covers several key characters in the Bible. Sometimes the orators style means that it soars beyond what is written and speculates on what may have been happening rather than sticking to the facts, but that is a minor quibble.
On the whole it was a pleasure to read simple and clear expositions by a Bible believing man of God. Recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2012
This book is great for many reasons. If you're not a Christian, it should be of some historical interest anyway since it's by D L Moody, the famous 19thC American evangelist. If you're a Christian, you should read this book as it will lift your spirit. You can hear Moody's voice and simple style through the pages and his style is as fresh as when it was written.

These are talks about different men from the Bible with different angles on each. They contain basic Bible truths, but Moody's style is so winsome that it makes you smile. And it's short - an easy evening's read. And free!

Read this book.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2017
A Good little book, although it is difficult to distinguish on first viewing where one section ends and the next begins due to there being NO Contents Page or Index.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2017
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2016
Great detailed insight on some of the greatest men to have ever lived! Men of the Bible is an absolute must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 August 2015
A Christian classic worth the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2017
Great product...as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
This book is well worth reading - if only for the wonderful crescendo of his insights into the incident of the repentant thief crucified beside Jesus at Golgotha. D.L. Moody writes with passion that can move men's hearts. I read this in the run up to easter and I was lifted high in awe of Jesus and God's love for us.

Please remember, however, that D.L. Moody lived between 1837 and 1899 and witnessed the American Civil War. Those times were quite different to our modern world. Any sin-consciousness or legalism which may appear in the writing should be judged in light of the environment, culture and understandings of the writer's life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2014
I love this book so much. It teaches lots of things about the faith of these men of God, and what we can learn from them. It also taught me how to speak to non believers ,I.e by giving example about the thief and how he was saved and live with our Lord. Thank you brother for contributions to the kingdom of Christ.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)