In Memphis 1972-77 has been added to your Basket

Dispatch to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid UK postcode.
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by musicMagpie
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Buy with confidence from a huge UK seller, all items despatched next day directly from the UK. All items are quality guaranteed.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

In Memphis 1972-77 CD

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
Amazon's Choice recommends highly rated, well-priced products available to dispatch immediately.
Amazon's Choice for "george jackson"

Price: £13.82 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 30 Nov 2009
£9.68 £8.58
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
15 new from £9.68 2 used from £8.58

Amazon's George Jackson Store

Product details

  • Audio CD (30 Nov. 2009)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: KENT
  • ASIN: B002S1VQIE
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 175,819 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Aretha Sing One For Me
  2. Things Are Getting Better
  3. Talking Bout The Love I Have For You
  4. Let's Live For Yourself
  5. If You Never See Me
  6. How Can I Get Next To You
  7. All In Your Mind
  8. Walking The City Streets
  9. Dear Abby
  10. A Woman Wants To Be Loved0
  11. I Don't Need You No More
  12. Let Them Know You Care
  13. Soul Train
  14. You Can't Run Away From Love
  15. Take Your Love And Go
  16. Smokin & Drinkin'
  17. Willie Lump Lump
  18. She Can't Replace Me
  19. Macking On You
  20. Patricia
  21. We've Only Just Begun

Product description

Product Description

* George Jackson is one of the legendary names of southern soul. As a songwriter he has been responsible for scores of breathtaking songs the past 50-odd years. He has written beautiful southern soul gems for the likes of Spencer Wiggins, James Carr and Johnny Taylor but has been versatile enough to write `One Bad Apple' for the Osmonds, `Old Time Rock and Roll' for Bob Seger and to see his "Only Way Is Up' become a UK number one for Yazz.

* As a performer he is revered for his beautifully versatile tenor voice, but his records were released on a variety of labels over a number of years and as such he never achieved anything like the success he should have done. This compilation mixes both released and unreleased cuts from his time in Memphis throughout the middle part of the seventies, and is the first of its kind.

* This Kent release features the three tracks that he cut for Hi Records in 1972 on his return to Memphis. They are the first flowering of a style that he would fully explore over the next six or so years, and include the astounding `Aretha, Sing One For Me'. To these tracks we bring you all of his released tracks from his time at Sounds Of Memphis Recordings. These were the three singles released via MGM, the super-rare `Macking On You' which was leased to Chess and the impossible-to-find collectable on ER Music `Talking About The Love I Have For You' backed with `I Don't Need You No More' which would set you back £500 if you could ever find one.

* Throughout the period that he was at Sounds Of Memphis Jackson also recorded many demos for prospective singles. The rest of our compilation is made up with tracks from this stash such as the glorious `All In Your Mind' and `Dear Abby', which was also recorded by Clarence Carter on his 1975 LP. We bring you seven previously unheard masters and all are classic slices of Southern soul.

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

3 June 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 reviews
Donald E. Gilliland
5.0 out of 5 stars70s Soul Supremecy
5 April 2012 - Published on
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful.

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: the jacksons

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?