Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
35
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2010
Book arrived in excellent condition. It is a slim book but contains many photographs, maps and diagrams making it an excellent accompaniment to the study of this subject.There is a good reproduction of the early Paris map of Great Britain and explains and gives examples of itineraries of journeys which was how we gain information of medieval journeys since they did not have formal road maps. The text is in readable, bite-sized chunks and all information is referenced.Is more informative than a book three times its size.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
I was looking for a simple easy to read book to tell me about the road development during this period of history. I found this and it the job very well. There will be more comprehensive books, but for a quick easy read with good information you can't go wrong.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2011
I found this book to be a page turner! I expected it might be a bit of a dull read if i'm honest, but i couldn't be more wrong. My only complaint is its very short. It is a book which covers the basics and may well pique ones interest to do further research.
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
A good read and will give you an insight into what to look out for when searching for these.
Ideal for metal detectorists, ramblers, and nature lovers
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Whilst a limited subject as the title sugests, I find that when combined with other individual subjects, they all knit together into giving one an overall general understanding of this wide area called Archaeology.

Whilst I would never be able to attain an expert status, it will all go together to give me an enjoyable insight into the subject.

It is because of this, I feel that this book has it's important place in my personal library.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
The arrival date was way over time. It could have been due to the transport here in Spain, it can occur.
Its a really informative little book, fun to read and also fits into a decent sized pocket. A Must have for the curious and the ramblers, a good idea to introduce ones children to; to see and imagine how our forefathers daily life with transport evolved. A super job done on this little book.Congratulations to the author
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
This is mildly interesting if you have a burning desire to find out more about obscure roads and tracks.

However, it is probably a victim of its own success in that it always feels like the area you are interested in isnt covered in enough detail. Admittedly this is a short book trying to cover the whole country and it might have been better to split it into volumes - or make it larger.

Also, there is a heavy academic angle to the way information is presented, but this can be a bit inconsistent. This is great if you want to challenge some of the claims made (which you may well do) but it also makes it a bit dry and hard reading in places.

Overall, worth getting if you are really interested in old roads and tracks but dont expect it to cover them in any great detail.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
This is a very interesting book. It gives you a picture of how people moved around the country in the past. A good book if you like history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
such an interesting book for all who are interested in archaeology and the attempts to "see" the landscape as it once was.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2016
This is a poorly written essay - looks like it's been self published using a home computer. All pictures are black and white, remember those?

Actually rambles and conflicts with itself

Like you'd expect from an A level student .... B+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)