Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 November 2012
PRECISION: this is the review of DVD issued in 2007, which contains the full (uncut) 126 minutes long version of this film. WARNING: This review includes some minor SPOILERS!

"Mclintock" is one of the very few pure comedies in John Wayne's career. Although officially a western, this film is in fact an absolutely not serious retelling of the "Taming of the shrew", with some slapstick elements.

George Washington "G.W." McLintock (John Wayne) is an extremely rich and somehow aged cattle baron, who owns most of the land, water rights and businesses in and around the good town of Mclintock, named after him of course. The town seems to be situated in Oklahoma in the times when it was still a teritory. McLintock began his life without a penny to his name and he is very much a self made man, something he is very proud about.

However, ever since his wife Katherine (Maureen O'Hara) left him two years earlier, things were clearly kind of hard on him and he started to drink even heavier than usual. He is also in conflict with some local civil servants, beginning with the governor (nominated, not elected) of the territory. And then, all of a sudden, his estranged wife arrives to the town, willing to obtain divorce and sole custody of their daughter Becky (Stephanie Powers). As if that wasn't bad enough already, Ms McLintock finds also that her husband just recently hired an attractive lady (Yvonne De Carlo), officially as a cook...

Even worse, Becky is sweet on one of "G.W." hired hands, Devlin Warren (played by Patrick Wayne, "Duke"s son) and McLintock seems to be ready to accept this young man as his future son-in-law - but that is anathema for Katherine, who dreams of her daughter marrying one of distinguished gentlemen from the East Coast... What follows is a pure comedy, with jokes not always flying very high, but it is still a very entertaining, very relaxing and quite heart warming show.

Made in 1963 this is a rather old film, but I do not think it aged so much (as "Taming of the shrew", which is much older, didn't age either...). Some scenes including Indians are a little bit naive, but on another hand in this western the "Injuns" are also shown as quite noble and tragic characters. At one moment a Commanche chief about to be arrested says to the governor: "We will not just die away, we will go, but not without a fight. It will not be a big fight because there is not many of us left and we have only few guns, but there will be a fight before the Comanches are gone". This is a surprisingly good speech to be found in a slapstick comedy...

A great delight of this film is in its total lack of political correctness. There is a Chinese guy working on McLintock's ranch and every word he says is a pure delight, but of course today nobody would dare make any Chinese speak like that... Many John Wayne's lines seem to come straight from an Ayn Rand book, so if your political opinions are a little bit left from center, watching this film can cause you some hypertension. There also seem to be only three things required from a man to be "real" man - work hard, never ask for any handouts and never, NEVER refuse a challenge to a fistfight... And for the feminists, well, watching this film can be life threatening, as each of the main female characters (and they are both real wildcats) is ultimately "tamed" with a hearty spanking...)))

As far as the technical aspects of this 2007 DVD (the one with red stripes on top and bottom of cover) are concerned, be advised that not only this is the COMPLETE and UNCUT version, but also the film and the soundtrack were restored and cleaned, so the quality of image and sound is EXCELLENT!

Bottom line, I liked this film very, VERY much and I spend a lovely evening watching it. This is a guaranteed remedy against bad mood after a hard day at the office. Enjoy!
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 13 June 2014
[NB. This is a review of the reissued 2007 full-length DVD with several Special Features, not the truncated previous issue. Why does Amazon persist in lumping all reviews for a film/book/CD together, regardless of the edition!]

I didn`t expect to enjoy this 1963 knockabout comic western as much as I did. For me, the words comedy and western seldom sit happily together - and I`m not talking about blatant spoofs such as Blazing Saddles, but the clunking mirthless 'humour' in, for example, many a Ford western, or films like this one.
But much of McLintock is surprisingly thoughtful, with slapstick interludes that seem almost to have intruded from another, dafter film. There`s an increasingly pointless (though well-choreographed) extended mass fight by a mudslide, allowing everyone to fall down it and get covered in mud (oh, my splitting sides) and a sequence, only a little funnier, in which a drunken Wayne and various others fail to mount the long staircase in his room, and keep tumbling down it. (Laugh? I nearly started.
However, the Duke is at his relaxed best, Maureen O`Hara is hilariously, and I have to say sexily, enraged half the time - though it`s never really explained why she was so angry with estranged hubby Wayne in the first place - and Stephanie Powers is pleasingly tomboyish as their flirty daughter. She has a nice father/daughter scene with Wayne, who could be the tenderest of actors.
That excellent western support Chill Wills scores again as Wayne`s chubby sidekick, and Yvonne De Carlo (a year before she became a Munster!) is a welcome addition to the household, as cook and cause of O`Hara`s reluctant jealousy.
It`s an original screenplay by Wayne`s favoured writer James Edward Grant, and his pithy, unfussy style saves it from being too wordy or facetious. Old hand Andrew V. McLaglen directs with professional ease.
The plot? Who cares... Well, it hangs on two arrivals at the local railroad station, the imperious, worldly-wise Katherine (O`Hara) and the fresh from college Becky (Powers), the former having ostensibly come to see the latter, though of course she wants also to see her husband again.
It`s a strange not-quite-love story, with flame-haired O`Hara (what a gorgeous woman she was - and still with us at 94!) rampaging about the town, while Wayne bides his time, until the Great Spanking. There`s a fair amount of spanking in this movie, and the participants would have us believe it`s all good clean fun, not erotic at all! Mostly they`re right, but it`s somewhat disingenuous to claim such a thing. O`Hara was once voted as having the best legs in Hollywood, and we (just about) see why.
One of the pluses of the film is the gusto with which everyone enters into its spirit. On the excellent Extra Features (which include interviews with O`Hara and Powers, a fascinating short docu about the late Michael Wayne, the Duke`s son and the film`s producer, and an amusing chat with two amiable stuntmen) both Maureen & Stephanie extol the wonders of working with Wayne, whom they adored, and the camaraderie and sheer joy experienced making the movie.
This isn`t what you`d call a Great Western, but it`s a throughly enjoyable, often touching comedy that just happens to be a western. I still don`t know why Katherine is so angry with McLintock, but it`s fun watching these two old friends sparring together, O`Hara frequently getting the better of the iron Duke.

About 3 stars for the film, 5 for this reissue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2012
I'm a big western fan, and always thought that I shared the same general outlook on the genre (give or take a few films) as other fans. But coming on here and seeing rave reviews for this joyless, tiresome, profoundly-unfunny film has me wondering if I've just finished watching a different movie altogether.

First off, how could anyone over the age of three find anything funny in the script? I mean, the jokes....well, they're not really jokes....just some kind of lame comments about a particularly 'firey' (and poorly acted/ scripted) female character; punctuated by sub-Benny Hill "oh lawks I've done it again!!??" slapstick.

(And I don't mean good slapstick/ farce - this is bottom of the barrel stuff)

This is one of the few films I've had to watch in THREE sittings because it was so irritating.

Perhaps the worst part is the last ten minutes, where somehow everything is made OK again by giving the tiresome redhead woman a good spanking. I don't object to this on any sexual politics basis (this is John Wayne for crying out loud), but only because it is such a BAD ending to any film.

Actually, scrap that. The worst part of the film is the mud-slide fight with the comedic "woosh" noise in the soundtrack as they fall down the hill. THIS SCENE LASTS FIFTEEN MINUTES.

Actually, scrap that. The worst part in the film is the seemingly endless 'comedy' fight between the young, boring guy and the fat old guy which truly does GO ON FOR EVER.

Actually, scrap that. The worst thing about this film was that, while watching it, I actually found myself questioning comedy westerns as a whole. Was Blazing Saddles REALLY that funny? Support Your Local Sheriff that good? Is it true that a genre seemingly adaptable to any artistic motive has always come up short when used as a vehicle for comedy?

Yes, this film really is that bad.

I don't give a monkeys about Andrew McLaglen's family connections: he was an absolutely DREADFUL director and Shenandoah (the only half-decent thing he made) is overrated.

11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2014
This review concerns ONLY the Scandinavian Blu ray/DVD combo release. At the time of writing this edition was available at a quite low price, which was really just as well. I have other films released in this series and am quite pleased with them, but this McLINTOCK! release is not without problems, all of which are on the Blu ray disc. I've no complaints about the DVD as it's more or less the same as the DVD we've had for some time - minus English subtitles, of course.
There are two problems, both of which are apparent within a few minutes of the film starting. After the the credits, it will become apparent that there has been no attempt at restoration - not that this is in itself a fault, it's just disappointing. But the first thing you will notice is the colour and contrast, which are inferior to the DVD version - compare them and see! The second thing is really weird. The image is stretched. Presented in the 2.35: 1 aspect ratio, the DVD picture looks correct. The Blu ray, however has the image slightly squashed from top to bottom,making the actors look fatter than they should be. The aspect ratio of the Blu ray, unlike the 2.35:1 of the DVD, is closer to 2.55:1. I view films on a Philips 21:9 TV and the DVD image fills the screen on the 21.9 setting. To correct the distorted image on the Blu ray, I have to change the picture setting to 'Super Zoom 16:9' - not something I normally have to do for commercial DVD or Blu ray releases.
This may not bother most people, but it's something to bear in mind if you decide to buy this version. Sadly, the recent US release is region 'A' locked, so I guess we're stuck with this one until a UK region 'B' one becomes available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2013
Do not touch this item from "Sweden" Everything that possibly could be wrong with a blu-ray disc is all "here" Fergus McGann.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 June 2011
McLintock! is directed by Andrew V. McLaglen and written by James Edward Grant. It stars John Wayne, Maureen O'Hara, Yvonne De Carlo, Patrick Wayne and Stefanie Powers. Music is by Frank De Vol and cinematography by William H. Clothier. It's a Panavision/Technicolor production and locations used for the shoot were Nogales, Old Tucson and San Rafael Ranch State Park, Arizona, USA. A loose reworking of William Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew, plot finds Duke Wayne as cattle baron George Washington McLintock, whose estranged wife Katherine (O'Hara) returns with daughter Becky (Powers) to the family town after a two year absence. Having left George originally on suspicion of him committing adultery, she now wants a divorce and with it full custody of Becky. George isn't keen on the idea and Katherine's arrival in town also signals the arrival of chaos.

Produced out of John Wayne's own Batjac Productions company, McLintock! became one of Wayne's most successful and popular movies of the 60's. Played for laughs, film sees Wayne surrounded by family and friends and this shines thru in the final product. It looks, and was, a fun production, its values may be dated a great deal now, but it's easy to see why the paying public warmed to it. Wayne is in his element as the tough, hard drinking and no nonsense title character, and those playing off of him are in tune with what's needed to make the comedy work. The action is well staged by McLaglen, especially a free for all punch up at a mud pit, and Clothier's photography beautifully brings the Arizona locales out from the screen. A touch too long at just over two hours, it still manages to last the course to deliver the goods for the western/comedy seeker. 7/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Mike Wayne the son of the Duke saw "McLintock" as a sequel to "Hondo" in its treatment of the native American and in the way it extolled the John Wayne ethics, and to an extent you can see this.

"McLintock"(63) is loosely based on Shakespeares "The Taming of the Shrew", and boy does Maureen O'Hara as George Washingtom McLintocks errant wife need some taming! McLintock being played of course by The Duke. GW is the owner of a huge spread. He is rich and even has a town named after him. He has a beautiful and feisty daughter played by Stephanie Powers. What more could he want? Well he could do with his wife back in the marital bed as she has become estranged. He has to win back her favour and champion the Comanche Indian cause at the same time. Chill Wills as Drago a close friend of GW asks of divorce:"Is that where you pay a woman not to live with you?" Very topical! Thankfully things don't get that bad. As you may have gathered the film is much more a comedy than a serious Western. There is much knockabout humour where no one is particularly hurt or offended, despite the Comanche firing a few bullets around. The plot is not that important.

On the set of the film when Duke first espied fouteen Navajo chiefs newly arrived from Monument Valley, he did a double take and quipped, "Hey, didn't I kill you twelve pictures ago?" The chiefs laughed. This demonstrates just how relaxed Duke felt. In the film Wayne is surrounded by familiar faces. The director was Andrew V McLaglen the son of Victor who appeared famously as the drunken Sgt Quincannon in the sentimental "She Wore a Yellow Riobbon"(49). Waynes own son Pat features prominently. Despite Waynes best efforts he could not propel his son to greater stardom, although he did appear as Sinbad in a later film. Wayne was quoted as saying his happiest filming experience was on "The Quiet Man"(52) when he worked on location in Ireland with Jack Ford and Maureen O'Hara and met many interesting people. Here he is reunited with O'Hara and you can see the chemistry. Working with familiar faces did not necessarily bring the best out of The Duke and in this film he just ambles through, although to be fair not too much is demanded of him.

This is an enjoyable family film. It is not one of John Waynes best Westerns and is far from a classic, but it none the less makes very enjoyable viewing. It is not necessary to have something cerebral to watch every time. I liked it and that is what matters. Recommended viewing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 22 April 2013
'John Wayne' for me, the ultimate cowboy, his swagger and screen
presence made him a favourite for many.
this '1963' movie loosely based on 'Shakespear's' 'The taming of
the Shrew'
'John Wayne' again teaming up with 'Maureen O'hara' in this he's
a wealthy rancher and property owner, even the town bares his name
he plays hard and drinks hard, doing things his way......however
his estranged wife 'Kate' turns up in town wanting a divorce and
to try an persuade daughter 'Becky' to live with her, 'Becky who is
on her way back home to live with her father.
things ain't gonna be the same, the war of words is about to erupt.
'John Wayne' is no stranger to comedy, though I do prefer his role
in films such as 'The Cowboys' 'The Shootist ' and 'True Grit' among
this a light-hearted romp of 'slapstick' 'bickering' and fists flying
hardly a classic, it does however have it's comic moments.
the picture quality is superior to the 'DVD' version....it is region 'A'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
This isn't my kind of film at all. Despite the good cast, they are way passed their best. Maureen O'Hara was never my sort of actress. Yvonne De Carlo was at her best in 'The Ten Commandments', although she was popular in the 60s television series, 'The Munsters'. John Wayne was at his best in 'The Man who shot Liberty Valance'. Only Stephanie Powers comes out on top as a teenage actress with her career ahead of her rather than behind her.

Commentary by Leonard Maltin, Maureen O'Hara, Stefanie Powers, Michael Wayne, Andrew McLaglen, Frank Thompson and Michael Pate.
The Batjac Story: The Legacy of Michael Wayne
Maureen O'Hara and Stefanie Powers: Remember 'McLintock'
A Good Ol Fashioned Fight
The Corset: Don't Leave Home Without One
2-Minute Fight School
Original Theatrical Trailer
Batjac Teaser
Introduction by Leonard Maltin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 November 2014
This region free US import Blu-ray of Wayne's greatest comedy western is an absolute beauty to behold. Restored I believe from the original film elements owned by the John Wayne estate and his personal production company Batjack, the film has never looked better than this. "McLintock" was plagued by copyright issues and bootleg dogs for years, but now returns in all its full length Panavision glory and joyfully reunited with composer Frank De Vol's riotous original score. Wall to wall cheesy, Wayne does the best impression of himself in big lug mode ever seen on screen! The quality of the picture is absolutely astonishing, and looks like a brand new movie! Acres of extras and behind the scenes gossip. Simply terrific fun!

Roger Hopkins
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)