The Mckenzie Tapes has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Mckenzie Tapes

3.9 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews

Price: £10.06 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, 4 Nov 2013
£7.04 £11.70
Vinyl, 23 Jun 2014
Only 6 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • The Mckenzie Tapes
  • +
  • The Minneapolis Party Tape
  • +
  • The Minneapolis Hotel Tape & The Gaslight Cafe: September & December 1961
Total price: £32.15
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Audio CD (4 Nov. 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Bda
  • ASIN: B00EALF82K
  • Other Editions: Vinyl
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars 17 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 166,183 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Hard Times in New York Town 0.59
  2. Wayfaring Stranger 0.45
  3. Makes a Long Time Man Feel Bad 0.21
  4. (I Heard That) Lonesome Whistle 3.21
  5. Worried Blues 0.51
  6. Baby of Mine 1.01
  7. Instrumental One 0.23
  8. Baby, Let Me Follow You Down 1.58
  9. Fixin to Die 1.10
  10. San Francisco Bay Blues 1.55
  11. You re No Good 1.25
  12. House of the Rising Sun 6.47
  13. Instrumental Two 2.19
  14. Roll in My Sweet Baby s Arms / Bells of Rhymney 0.40
  15. Come All You Fair and Tender Ladies 1.58
  16. Roll in My Sweet Baby s Arms 1.46
  17. Bells of Rhymney 3.06
  18. Instrumental Three 1.29
  19. Highway 51 4.26
  20. This Land Is Your Land 3.15
  21. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean 1.01
  22. A Hard Rain s A-Gonna Fall 7.23
  23. Instrumental Four 2.20
  24. James Alley Blues 2.44
  25. Hard Times in New York 1.58
  26. The Death of Emmett Till 4.27
  27. I Rode Out One Morning 2.59
  28. House of the Rising Sun 3.24
  29. See That My Grave is Kept Clean 1.09
  30. Ballad of Donald White 4.39

Product description

Product Description

Shortly after Bob Dylan arrived in New York in January 1961, he met Eve and Mac McKenzie at Gerdes Folk City, introduced to him by Woody Guthrie s wife, Marjorie. Folk enthusiasts, the McKenzie s had an apartment north of the Village where some of the young would-be folk musicians often met up. Dylan became a regular visitor and soon a houseguest too, sleeping on the couch in the family's living room. The middle-aged couple, generous down-to-earth folks, were among the first to adopt Dylan. Mac was a hard working, hard-drinking longshoreman, Eve, an ex-Martha Graham dancer, described Dylan as looking like a character out of Dickens, with long coat and cap. The original tape was most likely recorded over three sessions. The first was on November 23, 1961 after a Thanksgiving Day meal with the McKenzie's. The second was made about ten days later on or around December 4, 1961. Although other session may have been taped in the interim, the next known recording is believed to be from September 1962. This CD features the best of all three of these recordings all of which were made on a vintage reel-to-reel tape machine in the informal setting of the McKenzie apartment. The audio quality of these tapes is not in line with modern and consideration should be given to the circumstances in which these recordings were created.

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

31 August 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
28 August 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
26 June 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
8 June 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
4 February 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
4 September 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?