Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2016
One of the best sewing information books. A useful tool to read for enjoyment, and especially as a step-by-step guide when following a dressmaking pattern.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
I hoped for more information about overlocker but found what was included was very basic. These machines are far more complicated than sewing machines and so I thought there might be more help to get the most out of them. This was the reason I bought the book. Good for those who have little experience of sewing in general.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Lovely book - never used this seller before but will definitely do so again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Projects are not very interesting and most revolve around making storage items for your sewing kit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
just what I expected, very good . Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
Would have liked a few more professional tailoring tips, to enhance the finished look. When is the sewing bee coming back on our screens?
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
I bought this as a gift for my daughter in law and she loves it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
A little disappointed with this book! The tips and tricks section is very good, clear and well explained, but unfortunately only occupies a third of the book. I was gutted to discover that ALL of the fashion projects require you to go out and buy the patterns separately!!! This certainly is not what is suggested by the blurb

"It contains over 40 beautiful projects, including crafts, accessories, womenswear, kidswear, menswear and home furnishings. With a range of difficulties for each category - from super-easy but stylish ideas to get even the most nervous sewers started to more elaborate ideas for the aspiring sewer looking for a challenge."

This also couldn't be seen from the 'Look Inside' views. All in all a third of the book is useless without buying a pattern, and the step-by-step instructions are no more comprehensive than those you'd get with a McCalls or Butterick pattern anyway!

If I'd payed the full RRP of £25 this would certainly be winging it's way back to Amazon. But, for £9 I'll keep it for the useful sections.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
A wonderful reference book to help all levels of dressmaking,tailoring and craft work. I would recommend this book to anyone beginning a sewing project either as a new starter or a more advanced needle worker. May's explicit tips and guidance are a must for everyone. Thank you May.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Machines ,fabrics and method change it is good to have points of reference to turn to. Mistakes are costly. Good reference book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)