FREE Delivery in the UK.
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
A Matter of Magic has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery. Light shelf wear and minimal interior marks. A tradition of quality and service.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

A Matter of Magic Paperback – 1 Jul 2010

4.4 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£10.99
£8.00 £8.42
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£10.99 FREE Delivery in the UK. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Tor Books; 2nd edition (1 July 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0765326329
  • ISBN-13: 978-0765326324
  • Product Dimensions: 14 x 2.5 x 21.6 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 834,359 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

Delightful....Will charm readers. --Publishers Weekly on Mairelon the Magician

A successful blend of Regency romance and historical fantasy in this lighthearted romp that should appeal to fans of both genres. --Library Journal on Mairelon the Magician"

About the Author

Patricia C. Wrede lives in Edina, Minnesota.


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
Wonderful; a light-hearted mixture of fairy-tale and Georgette Heyer, bursting with the same unmistakable energy as "Sorcery and Cecelia (or: The Enchanted Chocolate Pot)". Giving her strong-minded magicians a Regency setting is something at which Patricia Wrede excels. Although, as an English person, I find the writing noticeably American in places (complete with the odd gaffe), there's certainly nothing so jarring as to mar the book overall.

A word of warning, though, that this volume is nothing new, but a reprint under one cover of Ms Wrede's two novels about Kim and the magician Mairelon.
Comment 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I wanted to like this but it's just too clunky - not the writing itself so much (though there are plenty of inconsistencies here) but the plot, structure & characterisation. Kim herself is so thinly drawn as to hardly warrant her position as emotional centre, never mind point-of-view protagonist. Several characters - and even entire scenes - are basically ripped off from Georgette Heyer - the French lady wizard is effectively Leonie from These Old Shades. Heyer also seems to be the main (only?) source for the early 19C thieves argot - except that Heyer - who directly researched her cant & slang - knew how to fit the argot into plausible grammar. As a mash, Regency England, mystery & magic is a great idea - but I'd love to have seen it done with more polish, care & art.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Patricia Wrede was co-author of Sorcery and Cecilia, a Jane Austen-meets-fantasy idea which strangely worked very well (unlike the sequels). This one works rather well as well. This is a packaging of two novels, telling the story of the beggar girl who is adopted by a rich magician and turns out to have magic of her own. Wrede is no great writer, and doesn't pay enough attention to the plausibilities, but it still more or less works!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I love this book it kept you going till the very end, I hope she does another one this book will have you holding your breath to screaming with joy. This book contains the first book and second once in the same book and it all ends well,love having this omnibus compilation of the Mairelon books and the new cover is beautiful (though I am a bit more partial to the older covers). The Mairelon books are 2 of my top books of all time. It had hit so many of my favorite genres and themes: young adult fiction, fantasy, romance (only a touch), a level-headed, tomboyish heroine, a Cinderella story, comedy of manners, and the Regency period. I have read them every year for the past 7 years and every year, my appreciation for the writing and the wit and humor infused in those pages increase.

I'm not good at summarizing plots, but here goes...

Kim, a London street urchin disguised as a boy, is hired to break into the wagon of Mairelon, a street magician who just so happens to be a real wizard. She is caught and then joins Mairelon and his faithful, but all-too-proper servant, Hunch on a journey through the English countryside to retrieve a magical platter. They become entangled with the 10 or so other people (this includes some Druids-who-aren't-really-Druids) who are also chasing after that platter.

That's only the "Mairelon the Magician" half of this volume. In the second half, "The Magician's Ward", Kim becomes Mairelon's ward and struggles to balance surviving the societal expectations of being a ward of a well-to-do family and dealing with the recent magical skullduggery that is going on in London.

Fans of Wrede and Stevermer's Regency story, "Sorcery and Cecilia", should definitely check this book out. It has the same wit, humor, and feel.
Read more ›
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
This book had completely realistic characters, an exciting plotline and someothing extemely orginal, which was just what I needed after reading lots of vampire and angel books :P Fantastic! I urge you to give it a try, although it may not be for all consuming romance addicts as the story only carries a hint of romance, yet the mystery and magic combine to make a wonderful tale!! :D
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category


Feedback