Mats Lidström: Rigoletto ... has been added to your Basket

Mats Lidström: Rigoletto Fantasy; Dmitri Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1 [Mats Lidström; Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra; Vladimir Ashkenazy] [Bis: BIS2289] SACD

Price: £12.62 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, SACD, 1 Jun 2018
£10.55 £14.24
Only 15 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Buy a CD or Vinyl record and get 3 months free Amazon Music Unlimited
With the purchase of a CD or Vinyl record dispatched from and sold by Amazon, you get three months free access to the Amazon Music Unlimited Individual plan. After your purchase, you will receive an email with further information. Terms and Conditions apply. Learn more.

Only on Amazon: One product for every need Only on Amazon: New Releases

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Jun. 2018)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: SACD
  • Label: Bis
  • ASIN: B07BF1Z3KQ
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 44,731 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Introduction and the Duke's Aria 'Questa O Quella'
  2. Caro Nome Che Il Mio Cor
  3. Tutte Le Feste Al Tempio
  4. Figlia! Mio Padre!
  5. Scorrendo Uniti Remota Via
  6. La Donna E Mobile
  7. Venendo, Mi Vede Alcuno?
  8. Cortigiani Vil Razza, Dannata
  9. Miei Signori, Perdono, Pietate
  10. Solo, Difforme, Povero
  11. O Tu Che La Festa Audace Hai Turbato
  12. I. Allegretto
  13. II. Moderato
  14. III. Cadenza
  15. IV. Allegro Con Moto

Product description

Product Description

Vladimir Ashkenazy and Mats Lidström began their collaboration in London in the 1980s, during Ashkenazys tenure at the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra where Lidström was principal cellist. They have since appeared together in concert as well as on disc, including a recording of concertos by Kabalevsky and Khachaturian on BIS. They are here reunited, in front of the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra, in a performance of what has become a true modern classic: Dmitri Shostakovichs Cello Concerto No. 1. The concerto was composed in 1959, during the so-called Khruschev Thaw, but even though Soviet censorship and repression had relaxed somewhat following the death of Stalin, the approval from the mighty Composers Union was still needed before any public performances could take place. When the concerto was performed before the Unions committee, Vladimir Ashkenazy - then in his early twenties was present and has recounted how nervous and uncomfortable Shostakovich appeared while observing the reactions of the committee. The disc opens with Mats Lidströms own Rigoletto Fantasy, based on Verdis opera. Inspired by virtuosic violin pieces such as Sarasates Carmen Fantasy, and with professional experience from the orchestra pit of the Royal Swedish Opera, Lidström has selected a string of highlights from Rigoletto, including of course the Dukes La donna è mobile and Gildas Caro nome, joining them together in a virtuosic, dramatic and moving narrative.


As imaginative and delightful as many of Lidström's flights of fancy are, he ultimately stays true to the opera's tragic tone…I was struck by the distinct vocal quality of Lidström's playing in the Shostakovich… --Gramophone, July '18

The cadenza is masterfully choreographed before the finale commands the stage. Cascading scalic flurries bring proceedings to a fever- pitch conclusion. Both dramatic and tender, Lidström's performance has a depth that makes you listen afresh to this familiar concerto. --The Strad, July'18

No customer reviews

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?