Masters of the Monarchs' ... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Masters of the Monarchs' Music

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: £9.54 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
18 new from £9.54
£9.54 & FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20. Details Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Performer: Tom Bell
  • Conductor: Arthur Bliss
  • Composer: Malcolm Williamson
  • Audio CD (8 April 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Regent Records
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 348,076 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Overture
  2. March
  3. Ballet for Children
  4. Intermezzo
  5. Fanfare for the Lord Mayor of London
  6. Bridal Ceremony
  7. Andantino
  8. Poco Lento
  9. Moderato
  10. The Tame Bear
  11. Seven Waves Away
  12. Prelude
  13. Sonata
  14. Aria I
  15. Toccata
  16. Aria II, Passacaglia
  17. Paean
  18. The Rout Trot

Product Description

This début recording from virtuoso organist, Tom Bell, showcases works by three twentieth-century Masters of the Kings, or Queens, Music: Sir Edward Elgar, Sir Arthur Bliss, and Malcolm Williamson. Recorded on the magnificent Harrison & Harrison organ in Durham Cathedral, the recording features transcriptions of orchestral works by Bliss (who wrote no original organ music), together with original organ works by Elgar and Williamson. The centrepiece of the recording is Williamsons monumental six-movement Symphony for Organ. Rarely played, and here receiving its first modern recording on CD, this work is a pinnacle of the organ symphony repertoire, and demonstrates a kaleidoscope of vivid organ colour and technical demands in its 40 minutes.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Verified Purchase
For once, the Product Description tells it straight: this is a wonderful disc. The eight Bliss transcriptions and four Elgar pieces are varied, engaging and thoughtfully sequenced, but it's Malcolm Williamson's phenomenal Symphony for Organ (1960) that steals the show. What a gifted composer, and how beautifully he wrote for the instrument. Virtuosity and genuine musical substance combine to stunning effect over the 40' duration. Thank you, Tom Bell, for taking on this huge challenge and carrying it off triumphantly. A superbly played and recorded CD. Recommended.
Comment 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Customer Discussions