Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
11

on 24 October 2017
Bought as a present for my cruise loving parents who had the privilege of sailing with the Captain on numerous occasions. Hope they enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 August 2015
A very good book, from time as a cadet in training to life at sea in cargo ships to the good times if you were lucky to sail in liners as I did before you
met the love of your life and joined Irish ferries so that you could have a home life and still do the job that you liked. A good all round book of life at sea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2015
excellent read, but beware if you have the first book "NOT YET", this is just an expanded edition. So if you buy this, you needn,t buy "NOT YET" ...a mistake i made
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2018
Absolutely awe inspiring .Life aboard cargo ships and cruise ships.Well written. Very interesting about the cruising to Antarctica and Greenland
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
AN EXCELLENT FACTUAL BOOK DID NOT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN, AS A CRUISER IWOULD HAVE LIKED HIM AS MY CAPTAIN. THE BOOK CONTAINED MANY INTERESTING STORIES AND DETAILS OF PORTS OF CALL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2014
Fascinating well written account; with hilariously recounted anecdotes. Can be a little bit over technical at times in the ship's docking undocking procedures, but it you have sailed as a passenger (even on a ferry ship) and want to know what is involved in 'parking' one of them then even this part of the book is really interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 January 2010
A highly recommended book. My husband had this book for Christmas and has not put it down (he was also at sea in the early 70's and, coincidently, at College with the author). Although I have not read it, hubby says it is an excellent read and is glad it was bought for him
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 January 2013
An excellant Book could not put it down. Having travelled with Capt Rentell the flow of the book is just as he is in real life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
still reading the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2015
A brill book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)