Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2014
I didn't rush to read this having been a bit under-whelmed by Michael T lives. But having really enjoyed Last Days of Anna Madrigal I went back to this. I enjoyed some aspects of the book but the 'twist' is really contrived and spoiled the overall effect. So, I would say read this for completeness and don't let it put you off the series - Last Days of Anna Madrigal is an excellent conclusion to the final trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
Michael Tolliver was always the most boring character in the "Tales .." series. Having an entire book dedicated too him is too tedious for words. Do not buy this book skip straight to "Mary Ann in Autumn": lots of the old characters D'Or, DeDe, Anna, Mary Ann (of course) and xxxxx - no I won't spoil it for you. Maupin never has been able to write a thriller and the ending of Mary Ann is predictable - but a good summer read nevertheless.
But as for "Michael Tolliver Lives" ? The world is not enriched by his surviving the health crisis of the 80s and 90s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 November 2010
Armistead Maupin reminds us once again that a family can be what you make it. The characters in his series, Tales of the City, have been a formed-family since they first appeared in print some thirty years ago. The Barbary Lane collective house, headed by Anna Madrigal, had been home for many years to a disparate group of people who had lived, and loved, together. Introduced first in Maupin's five "Tales" books, the characters have aged appropriately as Maupin himself has aged. AIDS and other diseases - mental as well as physical - have taken their toll on the former residents of the Lane, but Mary Ann Singleton, Brian (missing from this book), Michael and Ben, as well as DeDe and D'Or and Anna Madrigal herself, have found life - and love - have continued.

Of course, the older generations above - original residents of Barbary Lane - have been joined in recent books by Shawna and Jake, as well as other characters. The younger generation have certainly enlivened the lives of the older group, as well as becoming part of the Barbary Lane Family.

In "Mary Ann in Autumn", Mary Ann has returned to San Francisco from her home in the wealthy suburb of Darien, CT, fleeing both the demise of a bad marriage and the frightening diagnosis of uterine cancer. She had left her Barbary Lane "family" twenty years earlier, returning only for a short visit to Anna after her stroke a few years previously. Now Mary Ann has returned, seeking solace from her many friends. Maupin writes well - as usual - of the feelings of the older generation and the worries that age brings us. Ill health, death, and the uncertainty of relationships are written about in Maupin's masterful hand. This is a beautifully told story of a "family" that can't be torn apart because they have chosen to be a family. No matter the geographical distance between "family members", the long-held bonds of love hold everyone together. All families should be so lucky.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 December 2010
I can't really criticise Armistead Maupin for being a little indulgent towards his literary 'children' in later life. He's protected the spirit of the earlier novels well and resisted the temptation to change our perception of well-loved characters just to surprise us. So it's easy for fans to settle in and get comfortable.

The story is quite a good one: Mary Ann returns to San Francisco after splitting up with her husband and finding out she is ill. She wants to get her treatment among her old friends. There's also a classic 'Tales' mystery lurking in the shadows, but I won't tell you what that is. I think the story works itself out rather nicely, even if it is a bit far-fetched in the end. But weren't the 'Tales' always like that? I think they were.

I do think that Armistead has tried a bit too hard to make sure we know we're in 2010, so prepare yourself for an onslaught of references to Facebook, iPhones, Apple TVs and all things high-tech. Even the language is brought bang up to date, and you may find this a little uncomfortable, or at least be distracted from the story like I was. I wasn't sure that the casual profanities that litter the text added much in a literary sense.

But these are fairly minor points. In the end, Maupin has created a good yarn that's easy to read and reminds you about characters you probably loved for many years. They may have got older, but they're definitely still the same bunch of misfits that somehow fit together. Mind you, there are some new characters, and I liked Jake the trans-man (who we first saw in 'Michael Tolliver Lives'), and Shawna's boyfriend Otto, with his monkey and his unicycle. I'd like to read more about Jake in particular.

I went to a reading for this book, and Armistead in person is every bit as engaging as his stories. Hearing what he said about updating the tales makes me less critical than I might be otherwise of this novel. It's hard to not like Mr Maupin, and it would be pretty hard not to like 'Mary Ann in Autumn'.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
Mary Ann Redeemed - for that is what this is, things have come full circle, Mary Ann is back and in trouble. Many of the characters are back and we are once again looking at our favourite family. Not an easy read in places, be prepared for a bit of an emotional roller-coaster, some of the writing is uncomfortable, but all the better for that. One for the fans, stands on its own but far better if you have read the rest, especially the first!...
A sense of lose ends being tidied up, and a continuing journey for some of the characters. I get the feeling though this could be the last of the series there is room for more.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
After the unfulfilling Mary-Sue exercise that was Michael Tolliver Lives this feels so much more like a Tales Of The City book. The style and the plot are classic Maupin and I found myself devouring the book as I did with the first six.

There's a great mix of old, new and nearly new characters going through their lives. We, as readers who've grown with the series, find out favourites going through similar growing pains. There're odd ommissions and a frankly doolalley ending but I thoroughly enjoyed the books. It felt like the coda the series needed and I am really happy we got the chance to reacquaint with this world.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2010
I devoured this book in a single sitting - it is a light, elegant and wry book with so many familiar characters and a great dose of wit.

There is a sadness underlying the frivolity - aging is a mixed blessing, after all. And the characters are certainly flawed. But it makes them more human.

Maupin has a great eye for character and that has always filled his books with life.

I hope we get a couple more to round off the series. It would be good to say goodbye properly
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
I think I can readily assume that anyone reading this will have read the Tales of the City series. Mary Ann returns to San Francisco, her marriage over and with cancer in her uterus which needs surgery. Perhaps selfishly she seeks the solace of Michael Tolliver. The novel is partly about aging - the title after all - and illnesses of various kinds are plentiful. Even the dog is epileptic. Anna is still there - much weaker and older but still a sun amongst the planets that are the cast of these stories. Other newer characters include Jake, who is having a hysterectomy for a quite different reason. Through Jake the author explores the ignorant denial of middle America personified by Jonah, a young Mormon come to oppose Proposition 8. Maupin also looks at the other San Francisco - the crack district of the Tenderloin through the character of the street Leia [Alexandra Lemke]. I think he struggles here a bit. The creepy Norman comes back,too - and there's a dramatic ending in his case. What shines through the book is the belief in caring and loving and being human, no matter what our gender or our sex or our preferences. "The genderless neutrality of the human heart". [172]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2010
For anyone who loved the earlier books this is a "must read". If you are new to Armistead Maupin and Barbary Lane then I plead with you to start with Tales of the City (the first book of the series) and follow the ups and down from the beginning.

Mary Ann is back in SF (the clue is in the title of the book), but why? And what/who will she find when she is there? It is impossible to answer these questions here without spoiling the fun of the book. READ IT FOR YOURSELF!

Armistead Maupin's brilliant observation of people shines though. As a fan of the earlier books it lives up to expectations with outrageous situations, coincidences and interweaving of lives to beat any TV soap.

This feels like a favourite old sofa - familiar and comfortable. Something to love and cherish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
I had completely missed the fact that this book even existed until browsing on Amazon a while ago. I am an avid fan of the Tales of the City series of books and have read and re-read every book. This latest book continues the story in the usual inimitable Maupin style. If you have read the other books, do not miss this one. If you have not, now is a good time to start.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)