Martinu: Double Concertos... has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 delivery
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by halcyonbooksuk
Condition: Used: Like New
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Martinu: Double Concertos For Violin And Piano SACD

Price: £15.48 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, SACD, 20 Apr 2018
£11.35 £11.42
Only 8 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Martinu: Double Concertos For Violin And Piano
  • +
  • Dohnanyi:String Quartet [The Nash Ensemble ] [Hyperion: CDA68215]
  • +
  • Bacewicz: Quintets & Quartets [Various] [Chandos: CHAN 10976]
Total price: £41.34
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Conductor: None
  • Composer: Martinu
  • Audio CD (20 April 2018)
  • Please Note: Requires SACD-compatible hardware
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: SACD
  • Label: Pentatone
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 51,269 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. I. Poco Allegro
  2. II. Moderato - Allegro Con Brio - Vivo (Presto)
  3. I. Moderato - Magali Demesse/Orchestre Philharmonique de Marseille
  4. II. Molto Adagio - Allegro - Andante - Magali Demesse/Orchestre Philharmonique de Marseille
  5. I. Allegro Non Troppo
  6. II. Adagio
  7. III. Allegro

Product description

Product Description

This release reunites the Kodama sisters in the studio following their scintillating recording of Tchaikovsky ballet suites for PENTATONE. In a review of a public performance of the Martin Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra, the Ziebline journal wrote Mari and Momoyo Kodama are extraordinary ... The fingers of the Japanese musicians were flying with with diabolic ease and finesse: a stunning finale.
A slice of heaven concertante works by Bohuslav Martin Bohuslav Martins distinctive musical voice, which infuses the great Czech tradition with modern idioms, is showcased in this captivating survey of his concertante works, performed by the Orchestre Philharmonique de Marseille conducted by Lawrence Foster.
The Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra is a lively and rhythmic tour de force. Breezily energetic and relentless, it is full of jazzy inflections and high speed fireworks, pausing only in the tranquillity of the slow movement for moments of serene calm. By contrast, the Concerto for Two Violins and Orchestra is a warm, lyrical work in the Romantic tradition. With its intricate and interweaving solo lines, expansive melodies and dance-like syncopations its an engaging work of considerable charm which deserves a wider audience. The Rhapsody-Concerto for Viola and Orchestra is a dreamily nostalgic work whose simple melodies, radiant lyricism and soaring viola line make it one of the 20th centurys most performed viola concertos.


Martinu's prolific output includes concertos for diverse instruments, but the double concertos recorded here for pianos composed in 1943, for violins in 1950-51 are examples of the Czech composer's fascination with the baroque concerto grosso , in the wake of Stravinsky's preoccupation with the genre. Although he studied with Dvorak's pupil and son-in-law, Josef Suk, Martinu produced music that rarely sounds specifically Czech, yet there are touches of his native folk idiom in the highly virtuosic concerto for two pianos, brilliantly played by the Kodama sisters. The later pieces for strings are more typical of the eclectic cosmopolitan style that he assumed under Albert Roussel in Paris in the 1920s. Of the two works here, the viola Rhapsody-Concerto is the better known Magali Demesse's version is a worthy successor to Josef Suk Jr's but the Franco-Romanian Nemtanu sisters play the double violin concerto in the spirit of Bach's masterpiece for the same combination. A revelatory selection of some of Martinu's most accessible works. --Sunday Times - Hugh Canning

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?