Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
38
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
34
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2017
fast - good value, great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2007
This is a long overdue book, in that it is the only one that covers virtually all modern manufacturing techniques in a simple to understand manner, yet with enough depth to make it meaningful to professionals. It is the perfect companion to all professional designers and engineers faced with the daily dillema - how do I make that? There are plenty of books and resources for materials but none I can think of that cover the full gamut of manufacturing technology. This should be essential reading for all involved in design and manufacturing. It will also serve as a fantastic resource for educators and students at all levels.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2008
There is one bad thing about this book: You realise after you've bought it that you've most likely wasted hundreds of pounds on other books which only cover specific materials. This book is the most unreal bargain, and when you get it in your hands, the shear size and volume of the book makes you realise that instantly.

A recent graduate of Product Design and an entry-level professional, I find this book simply the best I've come across; it's more detailed and technical than ANY of Chris Lefteri's famous material books, but it's more informative/illustrative than Materials and Processes by Ashby. It's the perfect blend of fantastic information and process walk-through using amazing case studies accompanied by detailed photography.

As it says on the tin; ... for design professionals. Thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2007
As a product designer, it is not always clear what route of manufacture is the most suitable or economical. This book is an excellent reference to the diverse manufacturing opportunities available to an engineers palette.

Professionals and Higher Education students will benefit from the detailed illustrated processes and case studies in fields as varied as consumer electronics to the furniture market. All of which have clear explanations on process, application, suitability and cost. The book is split into four sections; forming, cutting, joining and finishing for easy reference.

I'm sure that I will refer to this book on many occasions to inspire and direct in the future. An excellent buy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
A great book and a must for all product design students and professionals. Painstaking effort to research this book. It is as if the authour has been around the country to every factory that makes something and has detailed processes with words and great photos.
This is certainly a step up from those reworked line drawing books of outdated processes that i had as a student. Not overly 'techy', just great explanations and wonderfull photos of actual factories doing stuff. Some graet products are detailed as well. The book even starts with how the book was manufactured - nice touch. Well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2011
I'm guessing that about 99% of any initial inquiries you have about manufacturing processes could be found in this book. This is an excellent resource, packed with clearly illustrated diagrams and some detailed photographs, which show the manufacture of numerous, case study products. The book is clearly presented, structured around five main sections; manufacturing technologies relating to forming, cutting, joining and finishing, and material properties and applications. Simply flicking through this book is a great way of generating ideas and finding inspiration. It also provides some immediate direction in relation to material constraints and process considerations when developing your own ideas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2016
This is a truly beautiful book which I am glad to own but I am not sure that it really delivers on its title so I have knocked a star off. Design professionals are surely going to feel there is not too much meat once they strip away the plumage.

The plumage:
High gloss paper, thousands of photographs, enough processes to populate an encyclopedia - which is really what this book is - and a heck of a lot of book design with boxed off coloured areas for technical descriptions and icons telling you the functions each process performs.

The problems:
- The manufacturing processes are actually treated rather superficially with coverage dominated by photographs. You could get similar depth of text from Wickipedia. You could get video of processes off Youtube. I am sure that the sellers of manufacturing equipment detail case studies for many/most of the processes.
- The book is divided into essentially independent sections, one for each manufacturing process but there is little or no organizational material at a higher level. For example, if you know you want to mould a part in plastic then the book offers 17 possible processes, each described in its own section but there is no section with a title like 'molding in plastic' to guide you to a choice between the possibilities or to understand in depth the trade-offs.

I feel a bit mean focussing on the drawbacks of a book I genuinely like. If it had only been called "Manufacturing Processes for the Design Professionals' Coffee Table", I could have given it five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2008
rob thompson's book forges a bridge between concept and reality. what we envisage versus what is possible often finds impasse. what rob has done is join theory with practicality ie the merger of manifest and cognitive. if you are interested or inclinerd toward manufacturing process you must buy this book....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Brilliant book. Being a student on a Product design course, I required something that told me about materials and manufacturing processes that the tutors just expect you to know. Everything in here is useful and is definitely going to play a key role in my final year and it will be my main source for reference. Furthermore, I feel it is better than Chris Lefteri's "Making It" although a good source of information, it doesn't go into the depth that Rob Thompson does. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
There is a wealth of knowledge in this book.

It is structured brilliantly, and gives you all the information you need about manufacturing processes with supporting case studies and easy to understand diagrams.

Whether it be applications, suitable materials, unit costs, dimensions, whatever-its got it all.

Read this book and you can look at anything and mentally deconstruct how it was made, what it is made out of and why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)