• RRP: £8.99
  • You Save: £2.70 (30%)
FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
A Man Called Ove has been added to your Basket
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Expedited shipping available on this book. Book has been read but is in excellent condition. No missing or damaged pages. Maybe some identifying marks on the inside cover. Quality guaranteed from the largest seller of used books online.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 8 images

A Man Called Ove Paperback – 7 May 2015

4.7 out of 5 stars 2,033 customer reviews

See all 22 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£6.29
£3.14 £2.90
MP3 CD
"Please retry"
£28.72
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£6.29 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. In stock. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • A Man Called Ove
  • +
  • My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises
  • +
  • Britt-Marie Was Here
Total price: £16.37
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Sceptre (7 May 2015)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1444775812
  • ISBN-13: 978-1444775815
  • Product Dimensions: 13.1 x 2.1 x 19.8 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2,033 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 196 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

Delightful ... the perfect holiday read. (Evening Standard)

It's the most enchanting, beautiful tale. (Ben Fogle)

A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. (Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods)

It's warm, funny, and ultimately almost unbearably moving. (Daily Mail)

An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. (Sunday Express)

Book Description

The international phenomenon: quirky and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet outrageously funny. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Jonas Jonasson's The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I actually read Frederick Backman's second novel, My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologies first, which I really liked and so it got me curious to read A Man Called Ove and here we are.

I think you can usually tell instantly if you are going to like a book from the very first page and this is exactly what happened with Ove. It starts with a very funny opening scene that had me smiling and laughing to myself and reeled me in straight away.

Upon meeting Ove, you will think he is one of the grumpiest men around. He considers everyone, apart from himself to be complete incompetent idiots. Ans despite being ousted as Chairman of the Residents Association, he still continues his daily inspection around the local area. But Ove is rare in his kind, with his old fashioned beliefs and a lifelong dedication to making every just so. You might just find yourself falling a little bit in love with Ove.

Despite Ove's grumpiness and rudeness to others around him, you very quickly find that underneath all that, he has a heart of gold; even if he won't even admit it to himself! He just likes things to be done right and can't understand why people have to change things. We also get to go back into Ove's past leading up to the present day, which also added to my endearment of him.
This story actually took me longest to read and not because I was anyway bored by it, but because it's one of those stories that you need to take your time over and savour. A Man Called Ove has been really beautifully crafted and I loved reading every minute of it.

A Man Called Ove is ultimately a love story with one person missing and I found it so endearing, but so heartbreaking. Although Ove would have hated it, I really wanted to just give him a great big hug.

This was a truly brilliant tale about true love that completely melted my heart and had me crying so hard at the end.
Comment 121 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Keen Reader TOP 50 REVIEWER on 14 Jun. 2015
Format: Paperback
I came across this book by chance, and thought it sounded intriguing. First published in the author’s native Sweden, this has been translated into English by Henning Koch and published in 2014.

Ove is 59 years old. Going to work on Monday, he is told that the company doesn’t need him any more – “Good to go home and have a rest now” he was told. But Ove believes that that makes him redundant, and he’s not good at feeling redundant. Particularly given the way his life has gone since the thing that happened six months earlier.

When new people move in next door, he is convinced yet again of the hopelessness of the younger generation – does nobody know how to back a trailer or put up a shelf any more? And when Ove goes on his morning checkup of the neighbourhood, why do people leave bicycles where there are signs saying not to leave bicycles? And why does that blasted cat keep hanging around his house?

It takes a while to get a ‘feel’ for this book – the very first scene is Ove in a computer shop having a go at a hapless sales assistant. Ove does sound like a grumpy old so-and-so, but you soon realise that that’s because the only part of Ove you see is the part that he’s projecting at this time, in the here and now. What makes Ove the man Ove is, is part of the story we then get to read.

This book is a total delight – I read the whole book in one lazy Sunday, but I found myself utterly enthralled. As the pages turned, I found myself alternating between laughing out loud, and having tears well up – it’s the type of book that gets you in every emotion, and every emotion chases every previous emotion across the pages. Ove’s past and present are shown to us, and possible futures as well.
Read more ›
2 Comments 146 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By Flutter Bye TOP 500 REVIEWER on 3 Nov. 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
This book was a total and unexpected delight. A very clever balance of humour and sadness and insight into the human condition. I loved it. There's nothing lost in translation; every nuance is captured and the unusual narrative style is one which perfectly captures this idiosyncratic individual.

I particularly enjoyed the wry observational humour that runs through the story. Ove is an isolated and potentially unpleasant individual. A seemingly nosy and obsessed neighbour, he's a stickler for rules and enjoys ensuring that others abide by community protocols. We're all familiar with the type and they can be difficult people to like and engage with. But Ove is exceptional. He's had to cope with loss in his life and the backstory is revealed bit by bit. He's a complex man, with high values and moral standards. He's a shrewd judge of people and character and despite his apparent grumpiness, he has unplumbed depths of kindness and understanding.

The written style is simple and understated, making it even more powerful. Different, engaging and definitely quirky, this man's motivation and story is one which continues to haunt me ( in a good way). One of the best books this year.

I have the Audible version.
Comment 118 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Vine Customer Review of Free Product ( What's this? )
I read a lot of books. A few leave me cold, but I can usually derive some degree of pleasure from most of them. Occasionally though I will read a book so good that for days afterwards it will still be on my mind, the plot constantly being replayed and the nuances of the characters remembered. A Man Called Ove is such a book; A Man Called Ove is absolutely wonderful.

The story, as the title suggests, is about a man called Ove. Ove is a difficult man. He is pig-headed and rude, has very little time for anybody and would have been a shoo-in if they were to have held a grumpiest man in Sweden contest. He seems to be the neighbour from hell, and initially he is as all those who live near him fall foul of his overbearing nature and his insistence in following rules – particularly when it comes to parking cars. As this beautifully told story proceeds though, the reader’s perceptions of him change, as does his neighbours, as his true nature is slowly revealed and the reasons behind his surly manner are explained.

Ove is a truly memorable character. He seems incapable of love but we find that he is just the opposite; he loved his wife so deeply that he finds life too difficult without her. He seems to be hard and uncaring but his various acts of kindness throughout the book show that he cares deeply, perhaps a little too much. He would appear to be a man without a heart, but this is just a wall he has erected around himself. We come to realise that Ove actually has a gigantic heart, a heart of pure gold.

I loved this book and whilst I can see that it perhaps won’t be to everybody’s taste I feel strongly enough about it that I will tell people about it. I will pass the book on, because A Man Called Ove is a man that more people should know.
2 Comments 119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: old english

Look for similar items by category