Buy Used
£1.97
+ £2.80 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Dispatched from the US -- Expect delivery in 2-3 weeks. Former Library books. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Making Habits, Breaking Habits: Why We Do Things, Why We Don't, and How to Make Any Change Stick Hardcover – 1 Jan 2013

4.1 out of 5 stars 36 customer reviews

See all 14 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
£17.99 £1.97
click to open popover


Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Hardcover: 272 pages
  • Publisher: Da Capo Lifelong (1 Jan. 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0738215988
  • ISBN-13: 978-0738215983
  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 15.2 x 22.9 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars 36 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,221,490 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

The Bookseller, “Editor’s Pick,” 10/12/12
“Sensible and very readable…By far the most useful of this month’s New You offerings.”

Kirkus Reviews, 1/1/13
“Making changes does take longer than we may expect—no 30-day, 30-pounds-lighter quick fix—but by following the guidelines laid out by Dean, readers have a decent chance at establishing fulfilling, new patterns.”

Publishers Weekly
, 12/10/12
“An accessible and informative guide for readers to take control of their lives.”

Bookworm Sez” syndicated review
“By helping us understand what makes us tick and why, author Jeremy Dean avoids platitudes and misty advice to give his readers the tools they need to stop being frustrated by change and lack thereof. He advocates patience and dispels a lot of myths about why we do the things we do (or don’t), explaining why our willpower fails us or why we find some habits easy to make. That’s helpful, and could make a fix that sticks…This book…would be advantageous to anyone who’s serious about changing behavior.”

Curled Up with a Good Book, 1/6/13


“Dean teases out the factors contributing to our habit-forming tendencies with a careful analysis of the studies that have examined the impact of intentions, actions, and will-power…The author leads us through it all in a friendly style that makes the minutiae of science accessible.”

Toronto
Star, 2/3/13
“[Dean] looks at what we know about habit and offers tips on how we can all change destructive behaviour while adopting routines that will serve us better.”

January Magazine,
2/1/13
“Though Dean is currently working towards a doctorate in psychology, his voice is casual, friendly and smart. More importantly for a book of this nature, he knows how to break his material down and present it in a way that is not only logical, it also stays interesting and connected…An entertaining and deeply interesting book. And a huge bonus for some readers: it actually has the potential to totally change your life.”

WomanAroundTown.com, 1/29/13
“Dean examines the formation and perpetuation of our habits, and offers tips on how we can avoid pitfalls to create new practices which are more beneficial to us, and which can last a lifetime.”


“Loaded with surprising information about the brain and human behavior, this book that lays out a strategy for taking charge of ourselves. We probably can’t beat all our habits forever, but Making Habits, Breaking Habits offers a battle plan that allows us to know the enemy and sometimes evade it.”

Philadelphia Tribune, 1/6/13
“Dean busts the myths to finally explain why seemingly easy habits, like eating an apple a day, can be surprisingly difficult to form, and how to take charge of your brain’s natural ‘autopilot’ to make any change stick…Witty and intriguing, Making Habits, Breaking Habits shows how behavior is more than just a product of what you think.”

Spirituality & Practice, 1/15/13
“[A] fascinating book…Dean demonstrates a knack for cutting through generalities and cutting to the heart of the matter. Making Habits, Breaking Habits will shed new light on your own private and public behavior and the many quests for change that you undertake in your everyday life.”

VIVmag.com, 1/17/13
“What really stands out in Dean’s book…is the insight behind habits and their unconscious nature and often, their benefits…Full of anecdotes and interesting studies, Making Habits, Breaking Habits is an engaging read.”



InfoDad.com, 1/17/13
“Dean argues convincingly that habits are essentially automatic pilots…The prescriptive part of self-help books is where many of them fall down. Dean’s is better than most…The book reads like one in which Dean primarily shares his own fascination with a variety of research projects of various kinds, pausing occasionally to relate this study or that back to the whole issue of forming and changing habits. And there is nothing wrong with being a bit discursive, especially when the underlying material is as interesting as much of it is here.”

DaySpa, January 2013
 “Analyzes the phenomenon of habits, and breaks them down so they can be fully understood—and ultimately managed.”

Truth,
January 2013
 “Dean helps you understand the psychology behind your habits—both good and bad—and gives you the information you need to kick a bad habit and finally keep your New Year’s resolution.”

Bookviews.com, February 2013
 ”This is serious psychology and an often fascinating look at the way habits are formed, reinforced, and strengthened throughout our lives…Smoking, drinking, and comparable bad behaviors can be changed and this book can help anyone seeking to make that change.”

ForeWord, Spring 2013



SirReadaLot.org, February 2013
“A psychologist’s popular examination of one of the most powerful and under-appreciated processes in the mind…Witty and intriguing, provocative and practical…The book provides unexpected and fascinating answers to the common problem of changing one’s habits.”

PsychCentral.com, 2/24
“Mixing roughly three parts information with one part practical technique for yoking habits to the service of self-improvement, Jeremy Dean’s Making Habits, Breaking Habits tours the last hundred years of psychological research on habit and synthesizes an impressive amount of insight into human habit formation and, for that matter, de-formation…He effects a direct, bloggerly style, mercifully unclouded by the stultified prose plaguing many psychology authors whose backgrounds are different from Dean’s (i.e., career academics). Nevertheless, the book is carefully—even densely—footnoted with a trove of research studies.”

Blogcritics.org, 2/20
“Quite interesting to read and it makes you realize that you’re not alone…After reading this book, it just affirms that if you really want to make a change, you can make it happen.”

Midwest Book Review, March 2013

Book Description

In the tradition of Predictably Irrational and Stumbling on Happiness, a psychologist explores the science of habit-forming: how the automatic brain runs our lives, why seemingly simple habits can be surprisingly difficult to implement, and how you can finally change yours for the better. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

See all Product description

Customer reviews

Top customer reviews

on 18 March 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2016
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
44 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

Most recent customer reviews

Pages with related products. See and discover other items: purple wedding, purple wedding favours, balloon in a box, wedding boxes, bridesmaid gift box, bridesmaid presents

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?