Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
63
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 3 November 2017
Great book, good condition. Couldn't ask for anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Really pleased thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Unusual dolls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Prompt delivery item as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 September 2013
The forte of this book is undoubtedly its clear and detailed instructions. This is Jan's second book on the subject. If like me, you find the dolls 'ugly' with their over-large eyes and lips, you can still use the instructions and change the face. In fact, with a little imagination you can change the pattern pieces too. Another great plus point is the fact that all the template pieces - the doll body parts, are actual size. The photography is fantastic showing many step by step instructions. The book shows all the fabrics, embellishments and techniques you need to use. Instructions are included for six fantasy dolls. I am happy to recommend this book to all doll makers for this reason.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I purchased Jan's previous Cloth Doll book and was overwhelmed by the standard of teaching and clear information. It set me on a new adventure, so you can imagine how excited i was to see she'd written a second book.
So often second books disappoint - not this one. Jan has taken a step back and reread her work to see if it all makes sense. It is, again, so well detailed, it can be followed by anyone who can run a straight stitch on a sewing machine. Another masterpiece, Jan Horrox should never be underestimated in her talent and experience.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I have waited for this book to come out having begun doll-making with Jan's previous book "an introduction to doll making". As before this book is both inspirational but also has the advantage over similar books with very clear step by step instructions and clear photographs showing how to do crucial stages in the process of making your own doll. I loved it and will be attempting my own versions in the next few months.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
A great addition to the first book, I have enjoyed making these dolls and customising them from the templates provided. Easy to follow instructions and great photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 November 2013
As with Jan Horrox previous doll book, this one is clear, concise and imaginative. I particularly like the steampunk girl and intend to attempt this one very soon - when I get up the courage to try her gesso/acrylic instructions. It was her original book that started me on my doll journey which has given me great pleasure (and a somewhat depleted bank balance) and I look forward to working through this one. Jan's books always contain very clear working instructions, making patterns easy to follow and I would highly recommend her first book for beginners - an excellent starting book - and this second one for those wishing to move on to other techniques.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse