Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2013
Maybe I have just read too many modern sales and marketing books or this book was just really light on original content. I could not quite tell if this was meant to be some feel good self help book or just random thoughts of a blogger.

This book tried hard to follow the format of 'rework' by the 37signals guys but didn't quite have the same flow. The one or two points of original ideas I found in this book were great but you get no help from the author in learning how to implement them.

I am left no wiser in making my idea matter unfortunately.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Bernadette Jiwa is a Female "Seth Godin" who inspires a lot of people through her blog at [...]

This book is truly inspirational and by end of it I'm sure you will be motivated.

Couple of points why this book matters from my perspective,

--Byte Size Powerful lessons
--Easy to read
--You need not start the book from cover page, you an open any chapter and read it from there.
--Truly inspirational Content
--When I was reading individual chapters,I felt that it should not end and should go on
--I feel each Chapter requires a separate book on its own

Some thoughts from the book:

1.Every Product or Service was born from a problem that needed to be solved or a desire that was waiting to be fulfilled E.g Online Check-in,Fruit Smoothies in a bottle,Apple store Genius Bar.

2.While Tactics are necessary to spread your idea,but in the long run its more important that you have an idea that matters.

3.The secret to the success of Facebook,Pampers,Instagram,Basecamp and on and on comes to one thing:the ability to stand in the customers shoes and see the world from that persons point of view.

and Many Many more....

I would recommend this book to all of you as it motivates you definitely in taking some action or would make you to think differently in certain situations.

Hopefully it might also make you the next Zuckerberg or Instagram or Steve Jobs.

Thanks again Bernadette for Inspiring me :-)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
Bernadette Jiwa is a story-teller for businesses. She is the kind of writer you turn to when you're having a bad day, or you need a nugget of inspiration to get you going. This book is full of priceless little gems. Her skill is in noticing the details in everyday situations which she deftly weaves into a story. Her writing is succinct and simple, and she really does have the knack of making you look at things inside out and upside down. It doesn't matter whether you dip in and out of this book or read it all in one go, but you will go back to it again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
Bernadette has a great blog, The Story of Telling, and this is some of it condensed, quite brilliantly, into a very handy book. She explains why you need a mission for your business, helps you differentiate your idea, and does it all in such simple and compelling language, that you feel you have a wise experienced brand strategist at your elbow, helping you work it all out and enthusing you in the process. She provides you with stories and examples to show you how it's done. So, don't wait around - make your idea matter!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
This book is based on the concept that logic is not what convinces people to rally to your cause or click your 'Buy Now' button, it's about making your idea matter to your audience by making it about them.

Each idea provides potential for enhancing your brand and your message such as creating something that people can't live without, making your message stick, changing how people feel rather than what they do, what to leave out, how to be compelling, not singing to everyone and the power of one.

Packed with tips, quotes, checklists, questions to answer and case studies, Bernadette asks us all: 'are we doing what feels safe or what matters? Same amount of effort, big difference.'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
This is an excellent book that is thought provoking and original. I think it will benefit anyone working in customer services or consultants and entrepreneurs. The chapters are short but I found myself spending a great deal of time thinking through the messages and implications for my own work.There are many original insights. I particularly enjoyed the chapter 'What should Your Website do' which gave a whole new perspective on the topic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Rattan tat tat like a machine the wonderful little book fires off idea after idea with no respite. Brilliant stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
Feels like a computer may have written this by scanning every other *entrepreneurial* book on the market: drag and drop writing with very little insight about anything. Take risks, blah blah, celebrate failure, blah blah, persist, blah blah, know when to quit blah blah...Skim read in 20 minutes and then spend a couple of hours wondering why you wasted the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
Book is filled with snippets of useful advice for anyone thinking of launching a business. It's a really short book which can be devoured in an hour, but you'll find yourself going back to it many times over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2013
Got really bored of it. A typical self help book that tries to motivate you without teaching you anything new. Left it for a while, not sure if I will pick it up later to finish it or not. Probably, I won't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse