Listen Now
Go Unlimited
Start your 30-day free trial
Amazon Music Unlimited subscribers can play 40 million songs, thousands of playlists and ad-free stations including new releases. Learn More
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (UK).

Mahler: Lieder has been added to your Basket
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Basket
& FREE Delivery in the UK on orders over £20.00. Details
Sold by: mivendo UG
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Available to Download Now
Buy the MP3 album for £7.99

Mahler: Lieder CD

5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews

Price: £7.28 & FREE UK Delivery on orders dispatched by Amazon over £20. Delivery Details
See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Listen Now with Amazon Music
Mahler: Lieder Amazon Music Unlimited
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, CD, 30 Nov 2009
£5.99 £10.96
Includes FREE MP3 version of this album.
AutoRip is available only for eligible CDs and vinyl sold by Amazon EU Sarl (but does not apply to gift orders or PrimeNow orders). See Terms and Conditions for full details, including costs which may apply for the MP3 version in case of order returns or cancellations.
Only 5 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
Complete your purchase to add the MP3 version to your Amazon music library. Provided by Amazon EU S.à r.l.
12 new from £5.99 3 used from £10.96

Amazon's Christian Gerhaher Store

Frequently bought together

  • Mahler: Lieder
  • +
  • Nachtviolen - Schubert: Lieder
  • +
  • Melancholie
Total price: £28.47
Buy the selected items together

Product details

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler
  • Audio CD (30 Nov. 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: CD
  • Label: RCA Red Seal
  • ASIN: B002K9C0R0
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 5 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 14,939 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen
  2. F?nf Lieder nach Texten von Friedrich R?ckert
  3. Rheinlegendchen
  4. Ich ging mit Lust
  5. Fr?hlingsmorgen
  6. Abl÷sung im Sommer
  7. Wer hat dies Liedlein erdacht?
  8. I. Wenn mein Schatz Hochzeit macht
  9. II. Ging heut morgen ?ber's Feld
  10. III. Ich hab' ein gl?hend Messer
  11. IV. Die zwei blauen Augen
  12. Zu Stra?burg auf der Schanz
  13. Das irdische Leben
  14. Nicht wiedersehen
  15. Phantasie
  16. Wo die sch÷nen Trompeten blasen
  17. I. Blicke mir nicht in die Lieder
  18. II. Ich atmet' einen Lindenduft
  19. III. Um Mitternacht
  20. IV. Liebst du um Sch÷nheit
  21. V. Ich bin der Welt abhanden gekommen
  22. Urlicht

Product description

Product description

I will ship by EMS or SAL items in stock in Japan. It is approximately 7-14days on delivery date. You wholeheartedly support customers as satisfactory. Thank you for you seeing it.

BBC Review

This Mahler recital provokes comparisons with Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau and Leonard Bernstein in many of the same songs back in 1968, and that’s already to pay the newcomer the highest of compliments. But Gerhaher’s eloquent sleeve notes take us back to Schumann and Schubert, and an approach to poetry that was barely alive when Mahler was writing his earliest songs. That’s partly what makes this early Mahler feel so natural with piano, but even in the songs conceived with orchestra, Gerhaher and Huber immerse you so successfully in their interior world that you barely register the orchestra’s absence.

The recital is beautifully planned, opening with the folksy simplicity of Rheinlegendchen, and a handful of songs that show Gerhaher to be more at ease with Mahler the rustic than Fischer-Dieskau, and with a more naturally beautiful tone and line. The four Wayfarer Songs introduce more emotional complexity, coloured with pain and sorrow, and Gerhaher’s lyric baritone deepens and darkens. The shadow of war looms over the next group; the eerie piano fanfares of Wo Die Schönen Trompeten Blasen (where the beautiful trumpets blow) are an alarm call as a soldier leaves his sweetheart, and Gerhaher conveys so much tenderness, and such piercing regret.

Then come Mahler’s five Rückert Songs, carefully reordered (they weren’t conceived as a cycle) to frame as their centrepiece what Gerhaher calls “the enigmatic, self-absorbed, and ultimately inscrutable Um Mitternacht” – the poet awake at midnight, bereft of all but the beating of his own heart: ‘one single pulse of agony’. Without orchestra, it’s stark and utterly devastating. And it’s left to Urlicht – the primal light from Mahler’s Second Symphony – to provide a glow of reassurance at the end of the recital.

Huber achieves pianistic miracles of colour and timing, and to call this a mature partnership barely begins to address the depth of their mutual understanding. The recording feels as truthful as the performances, and at a time when we seem to be overwhelmed by new recordings of Mahler’s symphonies, might I humbly suggest that this could be the finest Mahler you’ll hear all year? Absolutely essential. --Andrew McGregor

Find more music at the BBC This link will take you off Amazon in a new window

Customer reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 5 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

30 December 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
7 March 2013
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
20 July 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
14 October 2015
Format: Audio CD
Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
5 March 2010
Format: Audio CD
Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Would you like to see more reviews about this item?

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?