Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
9
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 1 October 2003
An excellent help for anyone who is studying a Clinical Physiology subject, or simply interested in learning more about the human body. The book explains concepts clearly, suitable for those who are new to the subject, but also detailed enough for those who are aiming to build on basic knowledge of the subject. The illustrations are so detailed and realistic that they really do help you to understand the most complicated of processes! The book also gives you access to online resources where you can register and download flashcards and complete multiple choice tests and labelling exercises. There is even a 24-hour online tutoring service where you can send an email to a qualified instructor.
This book is essential to any student who is new to Anatomy and Physiology!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2008
I stumbled upon this book by accident when I used the ancient 2nd edition to finish writing up notes. I immediately bought the updated version and it's quite frankly one of the best books I've bought. It's comprehensive, detailed, and the illustrations are phenomenal - some of the best medical illustrations around. There are loads of handy revision questions, summaries, and critical thinking to help hone the knowledge and it's really good value. BUY THIS BOOK AND YOU WON'T REGRET IT!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
Seeley is an amazing book for learning the basic foundations of medical science. I am now in my final years but often go back this book if I need clarification of something simple.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2004
This book is a clearly laid out general text for anatomy and physiology, the emphasis, however, is on structure and therefore leans more towards the anatomy side. For physiology, particularly biomechanics and other mathematical areas of the subject I would suggest that a specific physiology text is referred to, such as the Berne and Levy 'Physiology' text.
I use this text for a veterinary anatomy degree, depsite its distinct human theme, in fact there is no reference to comparitive anatomy, not even within the mammalian species, for that I would suggest a supplementary text, Kardong's 'Vertebrates'. However, as many anatomical themes are concurrent throughout the vertebrate species, or at least within the mammalian condition, Seeley's text is a good starting point.
Along with the text there is access to a fairly good 'essential study partner' online whic provides good summaries of the aspects covered in the books with some basic illustrations and videos; there are also very good study guide notes which correspond to each chapter which you fill in as you go along providing you with a complete set of condensed notes - I've found these quite handy for revision purposes.
The text is clearly laid out with fantastic digrams and mostly comprehensive micrographs and photographs. There is a very basic introduction to cell biology and genetics etc. that I don't think is deep enough in coverage for a full understanding, for that I found Raven and Johnson's 'Biology' a better starting point. From thereafter, however, coverage is complete with good clinical references to contemporary anatomical issues. I would recommend this text for anatomy, physiology and medicine students as a good starting point.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2002
This book is strongly recommended in the education for medical students in the University of Lund. That's why I read it. It's perfect as a startup book for your pre-clin medical studies. It's not deep enough in the physiology part (although anatomy and especially histology is very good) but the integrated approach are really terrific and it makes you understand in a whole new way. If you want to become a good doctor, you should absolutely buy this book, or borrow it a least in your library. The first integrated anatomy & physiology book I've read that's deep enough for medical students. Good work Seeley.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Absolutely brilliant book, fantastic help for my course work, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
Exactly what I was expecting, and it's in a pretty good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2017
Fantastic book and in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)