Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2011
Having literally just walked out of the exam room after taking 70-67 and passing, literally by the skin of my teeth, the first thing that came in to my head was that the exam preparation materials available for this version of the exam were wholly inadequate. This book concentrates on the original release of Windows Server 2008 (non R2) and the exam (certainly as at 6th April 2011) covers ONLY Windows Server 2008 R2 content which is slightly different in some respects. Certain technologies like SSTP VPNs introduced in Windows Server 2008 have been improved upon by DirectAccess in 2008 R2. Active Directory Recycle Bin was introduced at the 2008 R2 forest functional level too but the improvements don't end there.

The book is certainly a good read and for any System Administrator I would recommend grabbing a copy but you shouldn't rely on its content to get you through the exam! The 2nd Edition of this book has been announced on Microsoft's learning portal and I've been waiting for it to hit Amazon for six months! Given that I was three exams in to my MCITP, I gave up waiting and set about Technet in an effort to gather as much knowledge as possible to give myself the best chance of passing. Thankfully I did pass but only by drawing on this book and reading hundreds of Technet pages to update my knowledge to R2 - something this book simply doesn't cover.

Grab the book for reference if you want but if you're going for certification, wait for the 2nd Edition.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
A well crafted book that has a logical flow. Interestingly it starts by considering DNS design, which shows just how important DNS is, before moving onto Forest and Domain design, Active directory and group Policy. Much will be familiar to those who work with Windows 2003.
As security is now a major Microsoft focus the exam- and therefore a reoccurring theme throughout the book- considers how to design in security through Network Access Policies, branch deployments, Public Key Infrastructures and data security. The section on security policies and how to set a security baseline is a real call to arms to actually implement rather than just learn to pass an exam.
The major enhancements in Windows 2008 - and obvious exam question choices- Read Only Domain Controllers Terminal Services and Virtualisation- are all well covered here.

All these areas are backed up with scenarios, lesson summaries and practise tests. There are labs to families yourself with the new Windows 2008 features using the accompanying CD.

This is the one book you will need to get you through the 70-647 exam. Enterprise Administration is at the top of the Microsoft tree, and in order to pass such an exam there is a lot of detail in here for the experienced professional that requires to be read thoroughly as a result.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2008
This is a great book that introduces all the new characteristics of the Windows Server 2008, but also great for those who want to prepare for the MCITP 70-647 Exam. You can find topics such as the new DNS System, Terminal Services, networking, virtualization (very hot topic!) and a lot of other hot topics as well.
I liked the "real world" examples given by the authors, and also the test and review questions at the end of each chapter.
Covers all you need to know about the new Windows Server 2008. Highly recommended title.

Chris Spanougakis MCT
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
Although it's not the current up to date 2nd Ed, but it's still a very good professional training guide for you to learn something. If you are going to take exam, I would like to suggest you choosing the 70-647 2nd Ed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
Before I get started I would like you to know that this is NOT a commercial review. I am just an Amazon customer.

After many years using Microsoft books to prepare for my exams, I found this book excellent for many reasons. This is not a training kit for beginners of course. But experienced administrators will see that everything is explained very clearly and the coverage of each subject has been hugely improved in respect of previous books from Microsoft. Make sure you read it cover to cover and read ALL the "Real World" sections written before each chapter. It is True Enterprise Administration reading. Outstanding!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
Excellent book. Included CD Rom with practice tests is great for ensuring you are ready for the exam. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2011
Product arrived in a good packaging and I have already started to read it. It is very very useful for the purpose that has been purchased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)