Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Lying Under the Apple Tree (Vintage Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 February 2013
Alice Munro's stories read more like short novels. They are poignant and full of bittersweet characters. Munro writes very visually, you can see the Canadian landscapes and small town settings which she draws beautifully. There is a sense loss in many of the stories but Munro's genius is her sympathy with her characters. Their refusal to let life defeat them is uplifting.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Very well-written and well-observed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Alice Munro is as good as everyone says. These short stories are perceptive, warm crystallizations of very human problems and desires. They challenge and illuminate and her prose is a delight.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
If there is a better writer of short stories I would very much like to know who it is. Ok maybe Bellow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Thank you! The book arrived before 6th June and is in excellent condition. I have not got around to reading it yet, but am looking forwards to it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
For someone who hasn’t read Alice Munro before this particular collection could be seen as a good introduction to her work as it features a selection of her stories from her collections between 1998-2009.

Having won many prestigious awards her name is synonymous with beautifully crafted stories of acute observations of human behaviour and emotion. This is certainly reflected in all the stories here. Each story is complete in its telling of an experience but often you are left thinking I wonder what happened next or was she/he really happy with the choices they made. Munro draws you in to people’s lives and leaves you still continuing their story in your head. I found it in turns intense, engaging and thought-provoking.

If you like stories that run at a pace with “stuff happening” you might find this book stifling or unrewarding as you have to invest time and patience in reading every sentence and absorbing the language and style which is very descriptive.

Also with this collection of stories I felt that the theme was one of overriding melancholy or tragedy throughout so if you like reading for several hours as I do, you might find the stories become a little heavy when read one after another there’s not much in the way of light-heartedness or humour.

In contrast, to compare this collection with one of my favourite authors William Trevor – his short story collection “Outside Ireland” explores everyday lives of everyday people with intimacy and complexity but he also has moments of great wit which alleviate the sadness and tragedies abounding.

Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 May 2012
Why is Alice Munro regarded widely described as one of the greatest female short story writers, yet also perhaps read less than this accolade would suggest?

This selection from five collections covering the decade 1998-2009 displays the key aspects of her writing. On one hand, stories which are often as long as 30-40 pages, loosely plotted to allow digressions into the lives of various characters, generally lacking in suspense or dramatic endings, or pithy punchlines. On the other, very acute observation of human behaviour and empathy with their thoughts and emotions, a strong sense and apparent love of the Canadian landscape and seasons, and a deceptive rambling in stories which maintain a clear underlying purpose and momentum.

I particularly enjoyed "The Bear came over the Mountain", about a sensitive and creative woman whose Alzheimer's has become sufficiently serious for her husband to place her in a home. When she forms an attachment to another resident, is this a kind of revenge for her husband's serial infidelity? What makes this story interesting is that it is written from the husband's perspective. Although sad in places, this is too insightful and at times sharply witty to be depressing.

On a lighter note, I appreciated "Chance" about an academically inclined but uncertain young woman on the brink of her adult life and possible career, who responds to a letter from a married man she has met by chance on a train. To what extent is she choosing her fate?

The three stories selected from "Too much Happiness" were the ones I enjoyed most in that collection: the woman who has suffered terribly from a controlling man, the woman estranged from a son whom she loves who drifts into a lifestyle she finds alien, and, most gripping of all, the widow who has to deal with a sinister guest.

I found it hard to get into the first story "The Love of a Good Woman" which seemed quite disjointed with too diffuse an opening section for me. "My Mother's Dream" written apparently from the viewpoint of a baby is also highly original and imaginative, but not to everyone's taste.

Perhaps one is most drawn to the stories which reflect one's own experience, so that the range of Munro's topics make it likely that there will be something for everyone. Also, each story gives a great deal to discuss, as we are likely to come away with some different perceptions of each tale.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Super read! Highly recommended. Beautifully crafted stories and not a word is wasted. Each story is a little gem. This book is a joy to read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
I don't usually like short stories - in fact I usually avoid them - but I tried this collection as it was recommended by one of my favourite authors, Lori Lanssens, and I absolutely loved the stories, There is tremendous depth and acuity shown by the author and it was possible to become involved with the character despite the brevity of the story - previously one of my main objections to short stories. Perhaps this collection would be better described as novellas rather than short stories. A delightful experience and I recommend them to everyone, especially short story phobics as I am (or was)!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
It is some months since I read this book and yet the stories are still fresh in my mind - the sign of an outstanding writer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse