Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
69
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2015
What I like about this book is the page turning suspense this is one of those books that you start reading and can't stop the next thing you know it is three in the morning and you are still reading.
There is not anything I don't like about this book.
I wold recommend this book to any body who likes dark fantasy with a twist.
Tracey hemmings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This is a fast paced novel, with plenty of supernatural components: vampires and were animals. Anita is not afraid to stand up to any authority figure - from the police to the head vampire, and when her back is up against the wall, that is when she really comes out fighting - see my blog for a more detailed review [...]. If you like the Sookie Stackhouse series you will enjoy this - and probably others by LKH.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
Anita Blake is an Animator, an animator is not someone who draws cartoons but rather a person who has the innate ability to raise the dead. Anita and those she works with raise zombies to settle will disputes, have abused people resolve their feelings and other things -- all for a reasonable fee. On the side of this most prolific of professions Anita is a vampire hunter -- she's nicknamed 'the Executioner' by the vampires and (obviously) isn't too keen on them. The Lunatic Cafe wasn't as good as the Circus of the Damned but was a very enjoyable romp nonetheless!

Anita Blake has problems. Aside from the usual she's facing a very jealous master vampire as she attempts to date her werewolf beau Richard. There's trouble in paradise as Anita is drawn into Were-pack politics -- eight shapeshifters have gone missing and she needs to discover the whys and the wherefores as soon as possible. As well as this; Edward shows up uninvited with a case of his own that may well tie into the missing shapeshifters.

I found myself really liking Richard in this book. But I'm already kind of bored of the brewing love triangle between Anita, Jean-Claude and Richard. I don't actually care who she dates and enjoy her friendship with Edward a lot more than any other dynamic (romantic or otherwise) in the book. There was a lot of time spent on the love triangle; probably too much. I found it quite jarring because the books have been so mercifully lacking in romance so far (a sign of things to come sadly). The plot mysteries are always good in these books, with that great hard-boiled noir tinge to them -- and I loved this one too. We learn a little more about Anita's world and are introduced to some new preternatural inhabitance.

Aside from Edward returning for more death and mayhem, we have a lot more of Richard, Dolph and Zerbrowski. Dolph is too funny and you can see he's pretty fond of Anita -- I thought it was funny when he and Zerbrowski were teasing her about dating Richard. I love Edward in all his ruthlessness, he was on good form here... he tells Anita for the first time he thinks she could, maybe, beat him in a fight.

The plot tied itself up in a coherent manner; although the final climatic "battle" scenes could have been slightly less drawn out. The pacing overall was decent, despite the interruptions for Anita to constantly argue with one of her love interests about some random thing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2009
Anita Blake is an Animator. Anita and co. raise the dead to settle will disputes and the like, for a reasonable fee. On the side Anita is a vampire hunter -- she's been nicknamed 'the Executioner' and (obviously) isn't too keen on vampires. The Lunatic Cafe wasn't as good as the Circus of the Damned but was a very enjoyable romp nonetheless!

Anita Blake has problems. Aside from the usual she's facing a very jealous master vampire as she attempts to date her werewolf beau Richard. There's trouble in paradise as Anita is drawn into Were-pack politics -- eight shapeshifters have gone missing and she needs to discover the whys and the wherefores as soon as possible. As well as this; Edward shows up uninvited with a case of his own that may well tie into the missing shapeshifters.

I found myself really liking Richard in this book. But I'm already kind of bored of the brewing love triangle between Anita, Jean-Claude and Richard. I don't actually care who she dates and enjoy her friendship with Edward a lot more than any other dynamic (romantic or otherwise) in the book. There was a lot of time spent on the love triangle; probably too much. I found it quite jarring because the books have been so mercifully lacking in romance so far (a sign of things to come sadly). The plot mysteries are always good in these books, with that great hard-boiled noir tinge to them -- and I loved this one too. We learn a little more about Anita's world and are introduced to some new preternatural inhabitance.

Aside from Edward returning for more death and mayhem, we have a lot more of Richard, Dolph and Zerbrowski. Dolph is too funny and you can see he's pretty fond of Anita -- I thought it was funny when he and Zerbrowski were teasing her about dating Richard. I love Edward in all his ruthlessness, he was on good form here... he tells Anita for the first time he thinks she could, maybe, beat him in a fight.

The plot tied itself up in a coherent manner; although the final climatic "battle" scenes could have been slightly less drawn out. The pacing overall was decent, despite the interruptions for Anita to constantly argue with one of her love interests about some random thing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2005
Animator, necromancer, called by vampires everywhere "The Executioner," Anita Blake is a feisty, independent, 21st century lady who can't seem to get a date with a human being. In "Lunatic Cafe," Book 5 of Laurell K. Hamilton's winning mystery-suspense-thriller-romance series, Anita is in love with Richard Zeeman, a kind, outdoorsy, handsome science teacher who just happens to be a werewolf - an Alpha Male. Anita thinks she can deal with his "condition" enough to consider marriage. Then she starts to see another side of Richard - one he has tried to keep suppressed. Lycanthropy just happens to be the principal theme of this novel, so the couple's problem is topical. The charismatic Jean-Claude, vampire extraordinaire, and Master of the City of St. Louis, finds it hilarious that Anita doesn't think Richard is "human enough" for her. Jean-Claude is wildly attracted to Anita, and also lusts to share her powers, but she looks down on his advances because he is a vampire - and the Head Vampire, at that. One thing to remember about Anita - she does not want to be controlled EVER!!
Employed by Animators, Inc., to raise the dead, Anita's sideline is slaying vampires - the ones who murder humans. She collaborates with the police's Regional Preternatural Investigation Team when hunting the criminal undead. A call from her counterpart, Sergeant Rudolph Storr, informs her that a badly mutilated body has shown up in the hinterlands of St. Louis. A crime appears to have been committed, perhaps by a werewolf given the nature of the wounds. Anita is convinced that a supernatural creature is the killer...but what kind of creature? "If there were no prints, could it have flown in? A Gargoyle maybe? It was the only large winged predator that attacked men. Except for dragons, but they weren't native to the country, and it would have been a hell of a lot messier. Or a lot neater. A dragon would simply have swallowed the man whole. Gargoyles will attack and kill a man, but it's rare. Besides, the nearest pack was in Kelly, Kentucky. What else could it be? There were a few lesser eastern trolls in the Ozarks, but not this close to St. Louis." In any event, whatever killed the human, the local sheriff and cohorts are determined to hinder Anita from discovering the truth.
Meanwhile, Anita's greedy boss Bert, always out to make a buck, passes a missing person's case to her. Several members of Richard's "lunarly disadvantaged" pack have disappeared. Richard is entangled in a fight over the leadership of the pack with fellow werewolf, and present leader, Marcus. And Jean-Claude is growing increasingly hostile about what he perceives to be a lovers' triangle. Rage, vindictiveness and jealousy, anyone? Anita may have removed Jean-Claude from the picture permanently, but according to Jean-Claude's ego, he is way ahead of all the competition.
As if this isn't enough to fill a book, a sub-plot concerning snuff/porn films involving lycanthropes and humans is revealed. The films and murders lead Edward, called "Death" by the vampires, to join the case, to the chagrin of Anita and the undead.
Dominance is a major issue in "The Lunatic Cafe." Aside from Richard vying for "leader of the pack" status with the unlovable Marcus, and Jean-Claude constantly asserting himself as Master Vamp of St. Louis, Anita has to constantly prove that she can take on all comers and still survive. And she is challenged all the time....and gets beat up badly, frequently, but does prevail.
Laurell Hamilton is at her best in "The Lunatic Cafe." She is an excellent writer who, with much flair and pizzazz, mixes fantasy with mystery, romance and dark humor. Her take on this derivative genre is a most unusual one. The mystery is at the fore of her novels, the supernatural takes second place, almost taken for granted as part of Anita Blake's natural world. And Ms. Blake is a delight - witty, savvy, and a major cynic with a tender heart. This gal has attitude with a capital "A." I highly recommend this series. A warning, however - to really enjoy these novels, and the characters' development, the books should be read in order. (at least the 1st four).
JANA
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2004
Up until this point, the main character in the series, Anita Blake, has been staying away from love. Anita is an animator and vampire slayer, who has been wooed for quite some time by the master vampire of the city, Jean-Claude. On the previous book, "The Circus of the Damned", we saw Anita moving away from the enchanting vampire to start searching for love in what she thought was a normal human. She was surprised when, after a vampire tore out the throat of his suitor, he did not die. Richard is a werewolf, and Anita is trying to reconcile this information with her own feelings for him. Anita's reluctant acceptance of love may have to do with the moment in time in which Laurell K. Hamilton wrote this book, since she was pregnant and delivered a baby girl named Trinity.
With each book, the reader gets a clearer idea about what the place in which Anita lives in is like. For example, we find out that there are creatures that we did not know existed in this world, like dragons, gargoyles and trolls. Also, we learn that discrimination against lycanthropes is illegal but existent nonetheless. In this case, everything starts when the husband of one particular lycanthrope shows up at Anita's office looking for help, since his wife is missing and he cannot go to the authorities for fear she will be fired if the "secret" comes out. In addition to this, Dolph, who works with the preternatural unit of the police department, summons Anita because there has been a murder of suspicious nature. Anita determines that the murder was committed by a shapeshifter, denomination that includes werewolves.
Besides the "usual" type of situations Anita faces, she has to deal with her relationship with Richard, and his battle for the leadership of the wolf pack with an alpha male called Marcus. Jean-Claude will not go away without a fight, and he is trying to get Anita to date him instead of the werewolf. To complete the picture, there is a female vampire that is in love with Jean Claude and thinks that the only way to get her prize is to eliminate her competition. Anita describes this situation perfectly: "Bully for me!"
Hamilton is perfecting a world and a character that grab the attention and the heart of the reader without letting go. As the story progresses, we learn more about Anita's past, her relationship with her mother, her previous experience with love, etc. Also, the reader comes to cherish some of the characters that at first seem unlikable, like Edward, the "gun for hire". A friend told me that the series will get kinkier as it progresses, and I already saw this happen in this book, but this change in tone matches perfectly the mood of the main character. The truth is, I cannot get enough of Anita Blake!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2000
This is the first Anita Blake I've read, but it certainly won't be the last! Hamilton handles her alternative-history modern world US with confidence, never letting the supernatural get out of hand. Anita is not exactly an original character (I'm afraid "feisty" comes to mind), but is far from being a cardboard cut-out. The money obsessed jerk of a boss and the enigmatic hit man friend are a bit too much to swallow though, and this sort of cliched characterisation stops it being a classic.
The combined love interest of a werewolf and a vampire is certainly different, (and goes a long way towards making Anita a fully fleshed out character),the plot's a real page turner, and the casual integration of mythology comes off perfectly.
All in all, a good thing!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2010
The Lunatic Café is the fourth novel in the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter series by Laurell K. Hamilton. Once again this series doesn't disappoint, we have a glorious love triangle going on for our heroine Anita Blake, a murder mystery and some crazy cops.

Well, what can I say? This book did not disappoint me at all. I enjoyed every minute of reading this book. We meet the local werewolf pack in this story and they are as vicious as they are made out to be, beasts, not human. Well some of them are, there are some nice ones, like Richard. Anita is once again left fighting for her life, and it's in quite a precarious situation but then it would have to be, it's Anita.

Anita has a bit of a challenging time in this book. She has two men vying for her love and attention but they are both monsters, going by her definition. Who will she choose? Anita has a murder mystery to help solve with the preternatural squad as well as chastise her boss constantly about the type of clients he is sending her. They are not her usual cases and she refuses to take any more, she's an animator and vampire executioner not a private investigator. Bert however just sees the dollar signs and says yes.

Edward makes a reappearance in this book which I am happy about. He's such an intriguing character. There's a hidden depth underneath that homicidal exterior. What I want to know is what makes Edward tick? We know he kills for money and for the challenge of things, but what makes him mad, what does he do when he's not with Anita or out killing his targets? I hope we get to find out. I don't think anything will happen between him and Anita, they are just sort of friends. When he isn't thinking about torturing or killing her if she doesn't give him the information he wants.

Richard, this is a guy I could grow to like. I liked him in the first book for a while until I remembered he was first introduced as a naked guy having some kind of sexual relations with another werewolf. He was quite comfortable in this situation which I thought was rather odd. Anyway, in this book, Anita and he are still dating but the strain is showing. Richard tries to be overprotective a bit too much for Anita, but then she is being slightly hypocritical. Will their relationship last?

This leaves Jean Claude. He's our ultimate bad guy, but he is so charming about it. Jean Claude is still trying to win Anita's affection by being underhanded. But then what do you expect from a master vampire? I don't know what else to say about him except that he is a viable suitor for Anita, but I'm not sure he will be the one she ends up with. Then again, I could be wrong. I can't wait to find out as I read the series.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and will continue to read and review the series. I would recommend this book/series to anyone who enjoys a more in depth plot line that involves all shapes and sizes of the supernatural.

Disclaimer: I do not own this book, I borrowed it from my local library. I have not been paid to review this book and everything I have said is of my own honest opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 1997
Get hot for the sexiest vampire and the female vampire hunter who loathes to love him.

The story is set in St. Louis of the future where supernatural creatures are protected by the Constitution of the United States of America. You'll meet werewolves, vampires, the risen-dead, and their licensed killers. Anita Blake is the top licensed vampire killer in the city.

The King of the City, Jean-Claude, is a vampire straight out of Harlequin romance with a bite. A love story of dominant characters who seek to establish a relationship of equals, not master and victim. Jean-Claude and Anita provide some of the steamiest repressed sex scenes in horror novel history. But don't get comfortable; you are reading along, thinking love and tenderness, when WHAM! the guts of a close friend are spilled all over the page. This is the honesty of L.Hamilton's novels, anyone can die.

Anita is dating Richard, the second most important werewolf in St. Louis. (This does not amuse Jean-Claude.) This story begins when the husband of a missing werewolf asks for Anita's help to locate his wife. Anita works with the Preternatural Squad and learns that many werewolves are missing.

Her search for the missing werewolves leads her to the Lunatic Cafe; where the were-folk hang out. Her place in the wolfpack is assured when she
shoots up the place. She uses her dominant position in the pack to solve the mystery.

An interesting part of the novel is the romantic rivalry between Richard and Jean-Claude. Richard seems to be winning. (This does not amuse Jean-Claude.) Jean-Claude proposes a more even dating playing field or he will kill Richard. This set ups a very funny secondary story-line.

L.Hamilton has written another great Anita Blake read. A "Dawn of the Dead" on acid, but the acid has a bite. However, they are getting formulaic.
Why are all of the secondary characters with a bent, bent?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 February 2011
Anita Blake is back with a vengeance in this gory urban fantasy series. She's got her usual problems; namely her relationships with werewolf Richard and his love rival master vampire Jean-Claude plus she's trying to track down missing shape shifters and deal with a growing number of dead bodies.

The shape shifting world is delved into in this book as Anita runs about wielding her gun and shooting down her enemies. She does come across as far more ruthless in this book, but she's still got her cuddly penguins and a unique code of honour she's determined not to break.

Expect the usual from this author; plenty of action, a variety of twisting subplots that almost magically weaves together during the final chapters and an interesting love story as Anita tries to accept that the two men she loves are both monsters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse