Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2015
Excellent book with first class introduction by Kenneth Tynan. Louise comes across as an intelligent, perceptive and good-hearted actress who turns her back on Hollywood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
A wonderfully written evocation of 1920's film makers and actors by the woman who epitomised 20's glamour and invented modern film acting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
The nearest you'll get to an autobiography from Miss Slinky and Sexy. Full marks to Lulu for producing such an interesting series of essays. However, we now know that some of her facts, concerning people she did not know so well,are wrong, but we should not blame our flapper - she tried her best. Oh to have known what she had in her full autobiog, which she dumped in the trashcan. Louise claims she did not want to reveal her full sexual exploits, but had no reticence in writing more on this subject than any actress has ever done before or since. I would guess that when she read Mack Sennett's book, and saw that even he shied away from dishing the full dirt on Hollywood, she had no option but to dump the manuscript - in case the 'boys' came round. She does, however, provide a solution to the puzzle as to what happened to the old silent movie stars. The Hollywood royalty (Gish, Normand, Purviance etc.) were apparently picked off one by one, and in various ways, by the movie moguls.All in all this unique book is a great read and well worth the money - not bad for a country hickess with a 'covered wagon' accent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2008
A very good book; an insight into the world of the 20's silent movies and the who did what to whom or who was doing what to whom of the era. For a washed up movie actress she produced an excellent comment on the times and herself as well as the industry.

Her movies are well worth a watch too, she changed the world of acting from the over dramatic to the natural. A real icon of the 20th cent.
33 Comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
I was really pleased with this book, good quality and arrived on time.
I would definitely use this company again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Love this book...A truly amazing and gorgeous film star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2016
Great quality, I received exactly what I ordered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Although it lacks great swathes of her career this is what she wrote so is essential.. Mr. Tynan's intro is superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2015
Arrived super quick, the day after I ordered it. Nice book. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)