Lully: Atys (Les Arts Flo... has been added to your Basket
+ £1.26 UK delivery
Used: Good | Details
Sold by momox co uk
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: From Europe's No.1 in used books & media articles.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Lully: Atys (Les Arts Florissants/William Christie) Box set

Price: £24.79 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
10 new from £17.24 2 used from £16.21
£24.79 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Amazon's William Christie Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Ouverture (Prolog)
  2. En Vain, J'ai Respecte
  3. Air Pour Les Nymphes De Flore
  4. La Saison Des Frimats
  5. Air Pour La Suite De Flore (Gavotte)
  6. Prelude Pour Melpomene
  7. Air Pour La Suite De Melpomene
  8. Ritournelle
  9. Menuet
  10. Reprise De L'Ouverture
  11. Ritournelle (1. Akt)
  12. Atys, Ne Feignez Plus
  13. Allons, Allons Accourez Tous
  14. Atys Est Trop Heureux
  15. Un Amour Malheureux
  16. On Voit Dans Ces Campagnes
  17. Si L'hymen Unissait
  18. Mais Deja De Ce Mont Sacre
  19. Entree Des Phrygiens
  20. Second Air Des Phrygiens
  21. Prelude
  22. Venez Tous Dans Mon Temple

Disc: 2

  1. Qu'un Indifferent Est Heureux (2. Akt)
  2. Prelude
  3. Je Veux Joindre
  4. Tu T'etonnes, Melisse
  5. Que Les Plus Doux Zephrys
  6. Entree Des Nations
  7. Entree Des Zephrys
  8. Que Devant Vous
  9. Indigne Que Je Suis
  10. Que Devant Nous
  11. Reprise De L'Air Des Zephrys
  12. Ritournelle - Que Servent Les Faveurs (3. Akt)
  13. Peut-on Ici Parler
  14. Le Plus Juste Parti
  15. Dormons, Dormons Tous
  16. Prelude
  17. Ecute, Ecute, Atys
  18. Que L'amour a D'attraits
  19. Gote En Paix
  20. Trop Heureux Un Amant
  21. Garde-toi D'offenser
  22. L'amour Qu'on Outrage
  23. Venez a Mon Secours
  24. Qu'Atys Dans Ses Respects
  25. Espoir Si Cher Et Si Doux

Disc: 3

  1. Quoi! Vous Pleurez! (4. Akt)
  2. Prelude
  3. Belle Nymphe
  4. Ritournelle - Qu'il Sait Peu Son Malheur
  5. Je Jure/Je Promets
  6. O Vous Qui Prenez Part
  7. Que L'on Chante
  8. La Beaute La Plus Severe
  9. L'hymen Seul Ne Saurait Plaire
  10. Une Constance Extrme
  11. Un Grand Calme
  12. Venez Former
  13. Ritournelle (5.Akt)
  14. Vous M'tez Sangaride
  15. Venez Vous Livrer
  16. Toi Qui Portes Partout
  17. Ciel!
  18. Atys Lui-mme
  19. Quoi! Sangaride Est Morte!
  20. Je Commerce a Trouver
  21. Il S'est Perce Le Sein
  22. Ritournelle
  23. Venez, Furieux Croybantes
  24. Entree Des Nymphes
  25. Premiere Entree Des Croybantes
  26. Second Entree
  27. Que Le Malheur D'Atys

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 4.5 out of 5 stars 4 reviews
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, excellent CD package 18 Jan. 2010
By Redmond Geek - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This package consists of three CDs plus a 187-page hardbound book containing the complete libretto of "Atys" in French, English, and German. The book also gives a brief history of the opera and "Les Arts Florissants". The sound quality is excellent. The performers are very skillful. My only quibble is that the interpretation is a little bit "tentative" compared to more recent (and adventurous) presentations of Lully's works. Nonetheless, this is a joy to listen to.

If you're not sure whether you're a fan of French Baroque opera, this probably isn't the best place to start. But if you already know you like the genre, this package would make a wonderful addition to your collection.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful recording of a wonderful work in a wonderful re-issue. 11 Sept. 2012
By Abert - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
William Christie first resussitated Lully's masterpiece in 1987. It caused a real stir in the operatic and classical musical field.
The work was brought on stage during that year, as well as being recorded on CD.
For various reasons, the cast on this CD is different from the video recording, with different leads.
In the title role here, we have Belgian tenor Guy de Mey. As I have expected, he delivered 101% of the role of Atys in this recording.
I have no idea why he wasn't singing this role in that grand production, suffice to mention that he would most probably not 'look' the part. Even so, his voice is of exceptional beauty to my ears: it is distinctively baroque, lyrical and light, yet carries full-bodied tone colours and never sounds thin or flat. He always sings in great expressivity; in short, a vocalist of the very top calibre.
As the Cybele the goddess, mezzo-soprano Laurens is highly convincing - she sounds authoritative, pathetic and demanding in turns. Agnes Mellon as the lover Sangaride is of limpid and girlish tone and depicts the character very well.
Unlike the video productions of 1987 and 2011, Celenus here isn't portrayed by Rivenq, but Gardeil.
The story of Atys is magically tragic, smacking of Daphne and Apollo's tale. The music represents Lully at his very best, and the performance under the direction of Christie is nothing short of being exemplary.
If you find the DVD of Atys issued in 2011 interesting and lovely, this CD version would undoubtedly make you crave for even more!
5.0 out of 5 stars An Attractive Repackaging of a Very Good Performance 25 Jan. 2015
By NRL - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This performance of Lully's "Atys" was one of the first CD's I purchased back in the 1980's. It was justifiably praised for its blend of early music authenticity and theatrical vitality. Now, it's been repackaged in an attractive book/CD combination, with full libretto, an introductory essay and attractive color illustrations - all contained, along with three CD's in an attractive hard-cover presentation. Lovers of French baroque music and/or William Christie's informed and stylish productions will want to get this set.
8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reissue of an old recording 9 Oct. 2009
By Peter J. Brand - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The buyer should beware that this is simply a repackaged edition of an old recording from the early 1980s. While it is an excellent recording, this should in no ways be taken for a "new" recording of Lully's Atys.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

Look for similar items by category