Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 28 November 2012
This is a really pretty little book, which rewards repeated dipping rather than a cover-to-cover read. The selection was largely unfamiliar to me and there is no obvious overlap with the other recent Betjeman collections I've bought, except for a tribute to Max Beerbohm which also appears in the wonderful `Tennis Whites & Teacakes'. Those expecting poetry will be disappointed though, as Betjeman appears to have penned very little of it for the Telegraph, but anyone familiar with his defence of Victorian architecture, and St Pancras station in particular, is in for a treat. The majority of the book is taken up with articles on Britain's landscape and buildings, starting with a charming travel column which I was surprised to see visit Huddersfield and Southend rather than more obvious destinations like, say, Manchester or Bath. On balance, I would have liked to see more of this kind of writing and fewer of his book reviews, where he seems generally less passionate and insightful, but overall 'Lovely Bits of Old England' sits very nicely with the rest of my Betjeman collection.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2017
Very happy with the product
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 April 2013
If you are fan of John Betjeman you will love this collection of his articles published in the Daily Telegraph. As always his writing is descriptive and displays his extensive knowledge and research and you can hear his voice on every page.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2013
The accolade of 'National Treasure' might have been invented to describe Sir John Betjeman, whose interests and accomplishments were many and varied and who, in his poetry, expressed the essence of what has come to be called 'middle England'. This generally delightful book consists of a selection of his pieces for The Daily Telegraph comprised in five sections : Betjeman's Britain; Book Reviews; Men and Buildings; Sundry Articles on Architecture; and Verse, Fiction and Musings Miscellaneous. His passionate defence of Britain's Victorian heritage shines through these pages but perhaps he was a little blinkered when it came to giving the best of modern architecture its due. And perhaps, too, he was less perceptive as a book reviewer : that almost iconic modern classic J D Salinger's 'The Catcher In The Rye', for example, receives barely a hundred words and he totally misjudges the spirit of J B Priestley's novel 'Festival At Farbridge'. Otherwise, the book is enhanced by the inclusion of the affectionate and eloquent obituary written by Betjeman's fellow poet, Philip Larkin. The title, 'Lovely Bits Of Old England', is something of a misnomer : two of the most enthusiastic and celebratory pieces are about Kelso in Scotland, and the Isle of Man, which is not even part of the United Kingdom, let alone England.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2013
I enjoyed most of this book and like and admire John Betjeman for his conservation work of buildings. It has inspired me to visit some of the buildings he mentions and to be more observant, especially of ralway stations and Town Halls.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
A lovely collection of articles written by a master of his art and sorely missed. Call me sentimental but this book is a lovely read and the discounted price was attractive too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2015
Would buy from again A+
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2012
I have always been a fan of John Betjeman - his writings and poetry. There is nothing at all to dislike. I would recommend it to friends, neighbours and local library.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2014
very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2014
JB had the knack of putting his finger on a subject and then putting it into words; this is a classic and I am glad his writings have been put together in a book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here