4 new from £197.90

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Love Is a Slug: The BBC Sessions

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Available from these sellers.
4 new from £197.90

Amazon's Fuzzbox Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

  • Audio CD (1 Aug. 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Cherry Red
  • ASIN: B0000666BM
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 488,347 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Aaarrrrggghhh!!!
  2. Fever
  3. Rules & Regulations
  4. Justine
  5. Aaarrrggghhh!!!
  6. Love Is The Slug
  7. Hollow Girl
  8. Console Me
  9. Spirit In The Sky
  10. You Got Me
  11. Preconceptions
  12. Jackie
  13. She
  14. Bohemian Rhapsody
  15. Wait & See
  16. Self
  17. What's The Point
  18. High Hopes

Product Description

Product Description

Here together for the first time are the 18 tracks recorded by the BBC for the legendary John Peel and Janice Long sessions in 1986/87. The band were the darlings of the serious music press and enjoyed massive exposure through the mainstream media that resulted in a string of hits in the late 80's.

The CD features all the bands best known tracks from their earlier period including the alternative versions of their hit singles 'Rules & Regulations', 'Love Is A Slug', 'Spirit In The Sky' and 'What's The Point'.

Other highlights include their uniquely Fuzzbox version of Queen's classic 'Bohemian Rhapsody' that's sure to bring tears to your eyes and the timeless and much covered 'Fever'.

The CD booklet features exclusive photos from the band's personal archives, a complete discography with selected 7" picture covers, suggested band websites and the limited edition Fuzz comic that accompanied their hit single ‘Love Is A Slug’.

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Fuzz box were not so well known when they were a punk band and they were out to have fun which this cd is full of. It has the fun songs on it and some realy good seriouse songs on it to showing fuzz box also had a talent for writing songs with a meaning. They sadly didnt have much succsess when the changed their image and released pop songs which they had a few minor hits with.
but to me this album shows fuzzbox for all they were and how i want to remember them its a great cd if you like punk and not so seriouse stuff to, well worth getting if you were into them and didnt hear it on the radio when they did these sessions!
Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x98a48084) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x977f97a4) out of 5 stars Fuzzbox bothers John Peel 23 Oct. 2002
By Robert Alan Bryan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is a good disc. It's a historical document and worth owning IF you are a fan of this group called Fuzzbox.
It's SAD that their first album never was issued on CD. It came out in 1986 at a time when some borderline acts were still getting only cassette and vinyl treatment.
Fuzzbox's "Big Bang!" was on CD but by that time the band was working in a different direction (not that I didn't like it) and sounded nothing like they do here. Yes, one can buy Fuzz & Nonsense or the 2-CD Rules and Regulations disc but I wish their debut would see the light of day on compact disc.
OH I DO Digress. These BBC sessions are good for the Fuzzbox fan or someone who's curious. While I can't recommend the cover of Bohemian Rhapsody I do play tracks 6 and 9 quite a bit.
HASH(0x9717fd38) out of 5 stars BBC Sessions 23 Sept. 2002
By Stephen Cox - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I just received this album, and its great. Most of the songs were recorded for the BBC around 1986 when Bostin' Steve Austin came out. The songs are great, with slightly different touches on some of them from the Bostin' album, but it has a more spirited and looser feel. The sound quality is very good, almost like right off the Bostin' album. The extra touches (they goof up on the first take of the awesome "She", so they do it again) make it feel more personal. These are some of their best songs. I wish "Do I Want To?" had been on it and the version I got from HMV didn't have the Fuzzbox comic in it, but other than that its an awesome CD. Great songs from one of the best and most unique bands ever. Geniuses at writing songs and they play them utterly perfectly - Stephen Cox
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for similar items by category