£5.99
FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Lost Ones: Book 3 of ... has been added to your Basket
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Lost Ones: Book 3 of the Veil Mass Market Paperback – 1 Jun 2009

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
£5.99
£5.99 £1.49
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£5.99 FREE Delivery in the UK on orders with at least £10 of books. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we dispatch the item. Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Frequently Bought Together

  • The Lost Ones: Book 3 of the Veil
  • +
  • The Borderkind (Veil)
Total price: £11.40
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.




Product details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Bantam Dell Publishing Group, Div of Random House, Inc; Reprint edition (1 Jun. 2009)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0553587803
  • ISBN-13: 978-0553587807
  • Product Dimensions: 10.6 x 2.9 x 17.4 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 1,647,470 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

"[A] fast-paced dark fantasy adventure...[that] should appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Charles de Lint, and Robert Holdstock." --"Publishers Weekly"
"Everything [Golden] writes glows with imagination."--Peter Straub
"Golden's storytelling is spellbinding." --"Boston" magazine

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
THIS IS THE LAST BOOK OF TH EVEIL TRILOGY AND WOW FROM START TO FINISH ITS ACTION ACTION.
TH ESTORY RUNS LIKE LOCOMOTIVE I LOVED IT!!HE SAVED THE BEST FOR LAST.
IF LIKE ME YOU HAVE READ ALL OF GOLDENS BOOKS THEN TRUST ME YOU WONT BE UPSET.
IF YOU HAVE NEVER READ ANY BEFORE THEN I RECOMMEND HIGHLY LOOK HIM UP!!!!
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4.1 out of 5 stars 10 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars End of a Trilogy 15 Oct. 2008
By April - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Oliver Bascombe is imprisoned along with his sister Collette and his fiancee Julianna after having been tricked into killing the King of Yucatazca, one of the Two Kingdoms; an act that has helped destroy the truce and brought the kingdoms to war. Behind the scenes, it is the sorcerer Ty'Lis who is manipulating events. Ty'Lis and the Atlanteans are hoping to weaken the Two Kingdoms and end up being the supreme power. They have been killing the Borderkind and hope to close off all gates between the modern human world and the world of myth and legends.

Oliver and Collette may be Legend-born, people with unique powers to enable the Lost Ones (humans trapped behind the Veil--which separates the worlds of myths from the mundane world) to be able to cross back into the human world they originally came from, but if so, they have yet to come into their powers or believe in themselves. But they still have to somehow escape and try to keep the human Kingdoms from war and the Atlanteans from killing people and closing the gates.

The story is fast-moving and filled with battles and action and magic and monsters and plenty of horrors (both of monsters and of warfare). There is some character growth in that Oliver and Collette and Julianna need to deal with being crucial players in events that will be possibly world-shattering. And there is suspense and emotion as characters are threatened by the evil Sandman and by the violence of warfare.

There could have been a little more character development and growth, but this is the third in a trilogy, so most of the emphasis is placed on bringing things to a climactic ending. Even that isn't handled particularly well--the warfare is horrific and there is also heroism and sacrifice, but Oliver's attempt to shorten the war seems ill-planned and odd, yielding an unintended result. Things seemed to tie up a little too quickly, but it was still a solid ending for this trilogy. My small pet peeve is that Ty'Lis succumbs to a classic Evil Overlord no-no when it comes to dealing with Oliver and Collette. Ah, well. I guess that's why the Evil Overlord-types never win...!
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun quest fantasy 2 April 2008
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
Oliver Bascombe has learned so much about the creatures of legend since that night Jack Frost busted into his Maine home (see THE MYTH HUNTERS) and the Sandman abducted his sister Colette (see THE BORDERKIND). The American attorney has crossed the Veil several times to and from the Two-Kingdoms mostly to save his sister, but has learned of an interesting prophesy that vaguely implies earthlings saving this realm; could the Bascombe siblings be the saviors?

However, when the sly Atlantans destroy the peace between Euphrasia and Yucatazca, Oliver realizes he must prevent Armageddon. He blunders when he is fooled into using the sword of Euphrasia and kills the ruler of Yucatazca. As the doomsday clock ticks down, Oliver frees himself, Collette, and his fiancée Juliana Whitney from the Yucatazca royal dungeon. Whereas Collette and Frost journey to Euphrasia to reason with Hunyadito, Oliver and Juliana beg the indifferent legends of the Two-Kingdoms to save the realms as no one will remember them if they fail to act. However, no longer one to sit idly on the sidelines with cold feet, Oliver attacks Atlantis bringing the hostilities to the place that started the fiasco.

Although like in most if not all (can't think of an exception) quest fantasies, readers know what to expect, but will still be enthralled by the conclusion to the Veil trilogy as this is a golden winner. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action as the Maine siblings use Yankee know-how and some magic to try to save the day. Fantasy fans will appreciate this fun finish to a fine saga.

Harriet Klausner
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Awesome Modern Fantasy 24 July 2011
By N. Kunka - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
Awesome. This series continued to build itself up and finally in the final book we see everything come to a bloody resolution. Golden manages a sense of closure that plays at your heartstrings and a desire to find out what eventually becomes of the characters, humans, legends and gods that he creates.

The grand conclusion left a little to be desired and some of the creatures in this final installment were a little laughable (flying sharks and octopi???), but there was a sense of "epic-ness" that definitely reminded me of Tolkein.

Poor Kitsune! And how cool is the new Sandman? I can readily imagine myself reading this again on a cold winter day with rain pattering at the window.
4.0 out of 5 stars I was somewhat disappointed in the “happily-ever-after” ending for the main protagonist 6 Aug. 2015
By Demetrius - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
The concept of a parallel world is nothing new; however, Chris Golden added a new twist by making the parallel world a home for myths and legends. I was somewhat disappointed in the “happily-ever-after” ending for the main protagonist. That’s not a reality that occurs in life and I found it a stretch that the challenges faced by the protagonist and his fiancé would have ended on a positive note. That said, overall I was pleased with the narrative.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended Reading for The Inquiring minds 18 Jan. 2009
By Carolyn L. Solomon - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This was my first time to read a Christopher Golden Book. After reading one I read the whole set and thoroughly enjoyed them all. You have to read the whole set.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know


Feedback