Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2015
Disappointing - out of the 28 species discussed in this book, only 7 are not birds. It gets repetitive, I was hoping for something better - waste of money unless you are particularly interested in birds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I was expecting a great book when I read the description and heard reviews of Mr. Fuller's previous book on extinct birds. However this book is not that good. The first thing I noticed was that the text was rather large, perhaps to make up for the lack of it. It seems as though very little information is given on anything. He glances over most species. It would have been a much better book had he gone into detail on each of the species and how they had perished. Granted, this wasn't possible for all species listed, but it would have at least added text. The pictures are ok, but nothing special, nothing you can't google. I was hoping for a great book, but was disappointed. Like the previous reviewer said, it seems more like a children's book. The price tag is nowhere near worth it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I have purchased all of Mr. Fullers previous natural history titles (Extinct Birds, The Great Auk, The Lost Birds of Paradise etc.) and found them all to be excellent, erudite and scholarly works of a superb standard. Unfortunately this falls well short of the quality of his earlier works. Whilst I still find his tales of extinction fascinating, the overall "feel" is that of a "dumbed down" enterprise, which coupled with the ludicrously large and irritating print size gives a very slipshod impression.
I was very much looking forward to reading this, but am really sad to say it proved a massive disappointment.
I wonder why the author (who I admire and respect greatly) has so "missed the mark" on this occassion - any ideas ?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2014
This excellent book describes 28 animals and birds that are extinct or are thought to be extinct.
The author has attempted via a good text and pictures that range from first class to poor The poor pictures are explained as they are the only ones that exist and for that reason are used.The author has tried to authenticate all pictures but this was not possibls as in some cases the photographer had died.
Well researched and written while it discloses the stupidity of man in caring for nature.
The section on the Tasmanian Tiger Is outstanding.
A first class read-highly recommended.
.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I was looking forward to this book having owned Mr Fuller's Extinct Birds for some years.

Sadly this book does not compare. Although the images are on the whole quite interesting the majority are black and white and some are at best poor.

In addition, the text does not reflect his previous writing and verges on the level of a schoolchild's text book-I think in some cases there just simply isn't a lot to be said and Mr Fuller freely admits on a couple of occasions that the circumstances and people behind some of the images are unknown.

I think this would actually have worked better as a chapter in another of his books rather than as a book in itself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
a truly brilliant, fascinating book - i have long had an interest in extinct animals (and possess some feathers from extinct birds and dodo bones) and this book fills a gaping hole in my library, brilliantly written and edited this is a must have for any serious student or collector of natural history - a minor masterpiece
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Enjoyed the book from start to finish especially the bird species studies. Very much an easy and enjoyable read throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2015
Very sad but perfect for using on my degree and it is very interesting to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2015
Sad, but interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2014
Errol Fuller has gathered together a poignant and touching photographic collection of animals taken just before they fade into extinction and oblivion.
Fuller has produced some excellent books on extinct birds and this continues with the same high standard of scholarship and information.
There are many rare images in this book. As these lost animals stare at us from their zoo cages, it makes you sad to see what we have lost and also wonder what will be in future editions of a similar book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse