Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • Lore
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

If you only buy one Clannad album, make it Lore. This just does not get any better!! With their mix of English and Gaelic, with haunting melodies, perfect vocals....ah, pure MAGICK!!!
I have literally worn this CD out!!
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2001
This is an excellent collection of captivating/haunting music and is recommended for any modern folk/new age audience as well as Clannad fans for whom it is one of the best albums. The Lore CD comprise both English and Gaelic lyrics. The vocals blend so well with the music that is is not necessary to understand the words to appreciate the music. The Themes and Dreams CD includes well known themes from films over the last decade or so.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2016
This is a Masterpiece of haunting Music & Pure Irish Voices sent from Heaven. Beautiful Music which is both relaxing & uplifting to suit anyone of any age. I can Highly Recommend Lore by Clannad with Double Cd Discs of Absolute, Timeless & Fantastic Music.

The Customer Service & Speedy Delivery has made all the difference & this is why I will Certainly be Purchasing other Music Disc's from this Seller in the near Future.

Thanks
S.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
I stopped buying Clannad's albums after Macalla and just added a best of album to my collection then picked up another best of album with tracks from Landmarks, Anam and this album. I was so impressed that I bought all three of these albums and have since added their latest album, Ndur to my collection.I thought Macalla was their best ever but Lore scores a photo finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
This particular haunting album by Clannad is beautiful and have played constantly over the years. A friend recently her the album playing and could not tear himself away from the CD. This second copy I have purchased is as a gift to him for his Birthday. A gift I know he will truly love to receive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
As Deborah MacGillivray quite rightly states, this is their best album - and, in my opinion, despite some other brilliant albums, by some distance. This is the perfect Clannad album, a mixture of tracks brilliantly sung in English and Gaelic and with lovely musicianship and arrangements. For me, it takes the band back to their folk roots, but with that New Age gentleness which the Brennan sibling, Enya, would have been proud to be a part of. It was around this time that Maire/Moya Brennan's solo career was moving into top gear and albums that she released after this were of a similar New Age vein.

It would be wrong to single out individual tracks but, if push comes to shove, "A Bridge (That Carries Us Over)", "Trail Of Tears", "Dealramh Go Deo" and "Farewell Love" all do it for me but, honestly, it is the whole collection of tracks which add up to the perfection that this album is.

The bonus CD - Themes and Dreams - is a 6 track, 22 minute disk of songs which have been featured in films or TV shows. "Harry's Game" is there, as is "I Will Find You" (Last Of The Mohicans) and two vocalists featured are Bono (In A Lifetime) and Bruce Hornsby (Something to Believe In). It's a nice little bonus.

Brilliant package.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2012
If you want to buy a Clannad album, start with this one! The record shows the band at their peak.
The songs on this record are very strong and more cohesiative to each after than the ones on different albums. The mood can be called mystic and ethereal although the sounds are more progressive than their previous albums.Some great folk pieces, multivocal tracks, jazz and Celtic ambient tracks can be found here and I am sure these ones are soul-touching. There is no bad track on the record!

One of the best songs is 'Seanchas' ,which is an uptempo jazzy piece, sung in Irish Gaelic. it was released as the first single off this record. The majestic 'A Bridge (That Carries Us Over)' is another masterpieces alongside with 'Broken Pieces' (written by Moya). From the folk pool and the love folk ballad 'Trathnona Beag Areir' was recorded and it is one of the most wonderful tracks of Clannad.The other traditional song is 'Alasdair Macolla' is a Scottish "waulking" song.

It can be seen that with this album Clannad has created a milestone in their career towards the sky!

This album should have won the Grammy Award in 1997!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
I am presently rediscovering some of my favourite acts and performers from years ago.
This double CD has a terrific range of Clannad's music including their greatest hits.
G.McMenemy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I had always wanted to collect albums by Clannad and this was now. The album is great and the service provided by the seller was excellent so I am a winner all round.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2014
Although I've given it a 5 star it is because it appeals to me as I find it relaxing and soothing to have as background. Might not appeal to all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here