FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10.
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
The Long Fall has been added to your Basket
FREE Delivery on orders over £10.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by the book house
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This item will be picked, packed and shipped by Amazon and is eligible for free delivery within the UK
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Long Fall Paperback – 11 Sep 2014

3.7 out of 5 stars 48 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
£7.99
£0.50 £0.01
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more
£7.99 FREE UK Delivery on book orders dispatched by Amazon over £10. Only 4 left in stock (more on the way). Dispatched from and sold by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently bought together

  • The Long Fall
  • +
  • Every Vow You Break
Total price: £16.98
Buy the selected items together

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.



Product details

  • Paperback: 448 pages
  • Publisher: Headline (11 Sept. 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1472207238
  • ISBN-13: 978-1472207234
  • Product Dimensions: 13 x 2.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Average Customer Review: 3.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (48 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 375,728 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  • If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Product description

Review

'Another compelling, beautifully-written book from one of the best writers in a strong field. Once again, Julia Crouch plays on our darkest fears, and makes the reader feel that the closer to home, the greater the menace. Brilliant' (Erin Kelly)

A highly addictive revenge thriller... Julia Crouch expertly thrusts you back into those heady days of teenage gap years, when anything feels possible, yet danger lurks everywhere. I devoured The Long Fall in two days, and couldn't stop thinking about it afterwards (Louise Millar)

Book Description

A stunning psychological thriller from Julia Crouch for fans of Barbara Vine, Sophie Hannah and Gillian Flynn.

See all Product description

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
The Long Fall, by Julia Crouch, is described as a revenge thriller about a mother trying to protect her family. I found this aspect of the plot weak. The protagonist irritated me as so many of her actions reeked of stupidity. Her background may have been sheltered, but a working class girl clever enough to have been offered a place at Cambridge would be capable of critical thinking. The way she acted suggested a distinct lack of cognitive awareness.

Having said that, the first half of the book succeeded in drawing me in. The use of journal entries worked well and the characters were believable enough at this stage. Given their ages and the loneliness of the protagonist whilst travelling, it was possible to accept that she would act as described. Each reader comes to a book with their own personal life experiences colouring how they will respond to the unfolding tale, and I have yet to meet a young person as foolish as Emma, but I could swallow that such a girl may exist.

Having created the background and teased with sparse plot details, the build up to the key act was well written. Even though I knew what was coming I was eager to find out the hows and whys. This middle section was tense and enjoyable. Its conclusion left me satisfied and ready to continue with what was to happen next, the revenge. It was this which disappointed.

As soon as Beattie reappeared I guessed what was coming; not all of the finer details, but the gist of what was happening. A supposedly intelligent woman, even one with the many issues described, would not have walked so blindly into every trap set, would not have complied so meekly. I found too many contradictions in Emma.
Read more ›
Comment 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Enjoyed reading this but her latest one is so much better if honest. However saying that this one did keep me reading to finish it and yes I did enjoy it.
Time waits for revenge and this what is the story is centered around. The pretty surroundings of Greece hold secrets, and some that Emma and Kate would prefer left buried and not coming back to haunt their lives as they know now. Yes the blurb got my attention and it flowed well with menace in it. Not an earth shattering thriller but a good read with slow burning suspense in it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
Very disappointed with this book. I am an avid reader and particularly like the 'psychological thriller' genre. This came highly recommended but I really can't understand some of the rave reviews. It is written in a very simple style (like teenage fiction) and I felt no affinity with the characters. Large chunks of it are just a list of how many drinks and drugs they take and want they don't eat/vomit up. The story is completely unbelievable and I'd figured out where it was going from half way in - not something I usually bother to do. I kept reading expecting a great twist but there isn't one. Don't waste your time
1 Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I've read and enjoyed Tarnished by this author, and know that she is well thought of as a psychological thriller writer, but I'm afraid The Long Fall failed to hit the mark for me. Basically a story of an 18 year old girl called Emma travelling abroad on her own in 1980 and how what happens to her shapes her whole life until one day, it all comes back to haunt her. Straightaway I was irritated by the writing style and the journal that Emma writes, but it did seem as though it was working up to something possibly thrilling. However, I found myself even more irritated by the second half of the book which was a bit farcical and I can't say there was one single character in the whole book that I liked or felt anything for. I hate to give a poor review but this book really was a disappointment.
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Only putting one star because 'no star' is not an option. There are no redeeming features in this trite, formulaic 'story'. Cardboard characters, and a main protagonist who is completely unbelievable and thoroughly dislikable to boot. In my view this is the worst kind of ten a penny chick-lit. Only read it because I had to for a reading group which left me irritable and grumpy for days. Really, take my advice, don't do that to yourself.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The Long Fall sets out with an irresistible premise, posing the question of just how far each of us would go to protect our secrets and those we hold nearest and dearest. Julia Crouch explores this through the eyes of fifty-year old Kate Barratt, wife of wealthy hedge fund manager, Mark, mother to eighteen year old daughter, Tilly and prominent charity campaigner at the helm of Martha's Wish. When her younger daughter, Martha, died from an inoperable brain tumour at the age of eight, Kate established the charity to promote education in some of the most impoverished countries in Africa. As an image of Kate wings its way around the world via social media dubbed as the "Face of Kindness", does anyone really know the woman hidden behind the opulence and beautiful facade? More importantly, how will Kate respond when a mistake she made over three decades ago threatens her picture perfect existence and everything she treasures?

As an eighteen year old Kate made an admittedly very big mistake when she spent a month InterRailing through Europe, but she considers that she has more than paid her penance with the loss of Martha, a situation she holds herself partially responsible for. Yet when Tilly announces her own plans to travel to the Greek islands and the very scene of Kate's nightmare, the memories of those events collides with the comfort and security of the present day. As Tilly plans her journey, Kate battles with her neuroses and self-critical behaviour, but the appearance of an 'old friend' from her time travelling threatening to expose a truth that she knows could ruin everything is looming ominously.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category