Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 27 July 2012
I brought this book pretty last minute after booking a trip to Berlin with no idea where to start once we got there.
I'm pleased i did, it's very clear and easy to understand. Each district has been put into sections with all the best landmarks, parks, shops, markets, clubs, bars and restaurants for that area.
There is a handy pull out map of those main districts and a tube map.
Hints and tips about things you may not know (train ticket times and prices, tipping, taxis, greetings etc) can also be found in the back with some basic German phrases.
Whether you're going for a short, or long visit and haven't been before I would recommend this book.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have been to Berlin many times and it is a City that has always fascinated me due to my interest in modern politics and history. When visiting a City I do like some kind of guide book and have found over the years some to be better than others. My favourite range of guide books have been DK Eyewitness range, which are comprehensive, have nice pictures, are logical and contain great fold out maps. The only issue I have had with them is that they are not that small and do not fit into your pocket that easily.

This Lonely Planet Berlin Pocket book is comprehensive & logical, its small enough to fit in your pocket and the information it contains is very comprehensive. It also contains a small fold out map at the back of the book which makes it a fantastic guide book for any tour of Berlin.

Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
Smaill but rather efficient, everything necessary is in there.
If you need more detailed information you can always refer to the Internet.
The pull-out map is quite cool too!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Anyone visiting Berlin who is not already familiar with the city would be well advised to pop this little guide book into their pocket. When out and about it can help you find a nearby facility, hotel, cafe etc. However, these days most people would probably choose to do this from their mobile phone (assuming they had a suitable roaming package!) but this book can do more than this and has plenty of useful background information and other stuff not so easily found online. The best way to use it would be to read the information and background before setting forth from your hotel and then consulting the street guide, maps and lists of locations as and when required when out and about. A pull out map is included, which is great, but unlike with some rival books there is no pocket in the cover to store it.

A great buy and perhaps almost an essential one for any holidaymaker new to Berlin

The Good
Inexpensive
Pull out map supplied
Well printed on good quality glossy paper
Well researched and comprehensive

The Bad
Much of the information can be found more easily and in updated form online
Short length
No pocket for map storage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I have a number of Frommer's guides many of which I use in historical research.

The guide itself contains short paragraphs of information on aspects of Berlin, yet these paragraphs seem strangely uninspiring. I looked at some of the areas which I know and couldn't believe what I was reading. The descriptions were vague and, if I hadn't known the areas, I wouldn't have been encouraged to visit them - they were written without any enthusiasm for the area.

At the rear of the book is a map - it is one of those where you tear along the perforated line and remove. However, since this map is detachable it can be easily lost, and that is a big disadvantage for the Lonely Planet guide. Frommer's maps come in a thin plastic pocket so that you can keep your map safe with your guide.

Frommer's guides aren't much bigger than Lonely Planet, yet their paragraphs of information make you lick your lips to find out and to see more.

Maybe I have been spoilt by Frommer's guides but I really do prefer them to the Lonely Planet guides.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Small, handy, easy to carry around, this useful guide is great to have if you wish to explore one of the great European Cities.

All the districts are clearly marked, with relevant points of interest noted in each district. Even historians who may have studied the Third Reich under Adolf Hitler are catered for. Many key areas in the district Reichstag & Unter den linden for instance are well noted; there is even a mention of the site of Hitler's infamous bunker, now a car park.(page 33)

Moreover, for those who wish to sample the German food and drink they are well catered for as well. Germany is renowned for its cuisine and its cafe culture. There are many eating places which provide international cuisine, Italian, Japanese, Chinese, Indian, even Turkish. There is something for everyone. Visitors may not find Berlin cheap, but if shopping around, some cheap coffee shops and eating places can be found like in many European cities.

There are also many museums, for Berlin has a rich history, especially in its architecture. Most of Berlin was destroyed in 1945, but rebuilding has restored many of these fine buildings to what they were. Two points of interest though are the dark side of Berlin, when National Socialism ruled from 1933 until 1945. The Judische Museum which can be found in Potsdamer Platz district is a grim reminder of the anti-Jewish progrom instigated by the National Socialists during the 1930s. The museum also conveys a history of the Jews throughout German history going as far back as 2,000 years.

The other side of Berlin of course, is when the city became politically, economically and socially divided after 1945 with the Soviet Union dividing not only Germany, but also Berlin. Very little remains of the Berlin Wall which came down in November 1989, the wall a symbol of Soviet repression and a barrier to freedom, and Checkpoint Charlie, the key route between east and west can still be seen in Freidrichestrasse (see pages 62-63).

A very good guide book then, with something for everyone visiting this remarkable city. It also contains a pull-out map which is very useful indeed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
This was a useful book to have out and about in Berlin. It covers the main sites and costs for entry etc. However, I was disappointed to see that one of the most interesting sites that I went to in Berlin (the Underground Berlin tours [...]) weren't covered at all. I realise that this is a pocket guide, but I would highly recommend the Underground tours and so it is a shame this wasn't covered by the book.

I also noticed that the map which came with the book was slightly inaccurate - most notably Checkpoint Charlie was recorded as several streets over from its actual location!

However, overall a very comprehensive and useful pocket guide book.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An easy to use pocket guide. Great for a short trip or first time introdution to this city. Comes with a useful pull out map too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
Currently organising a stag-do in Berlin and bought this for guidance on restaurants/bars. Good range of options and detail, handy map of central berlin with tube map, good size, reasonable price. Overall very happy, although it doesn't have many recommendations for activities outside the usual cultural stuff (but then I guess its not really designed to cater for stag-dos!).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Lonely Planet guides are my favourites, overall, and this one demonstrates why. The layout really works, for me, enabling me to decide on my priorities before travelling and then use it in "this is where I am, what's around me" mode when I get there.

The maps are great (including a separate folded map), there are some useful and attractive photos, the writing is first-rate, and the information seems up-to-date and accurate. It really is pocket-size too (the size of a thick wallet).

If I have a criticism, it's that holding it fully open and reading near the spine can be tricky, but I'll forgive that because the binding is so strong - this is a book that won't fall apart in a hurry.

Strongly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)