Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 7 September 2013
Pros:
Clear map
Highlights were all worth looking at
Gave background information about people and places (eg Gaudi/Picasso) so you can appreciate what you're looking at

Cons:
Out of date so some things don't apply (eg bird market in Las Ramblas shut in 2010) and prices are out of date.

Very happy overall and gave me a good trip round Barcelona with little to no preperation beforehand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
During my working life I have been to Barcelona and stayed in the city on many occasions. I have had a chance to explore the city -either by an open top tourist bus -red or blue routes, or by jogging around parts of it -a great way to get to know the place and build an appetite for dinner later. I have stayed in a hotel round the corner from the "Camp Nou" -Barcelona FC's ground. The ground is one of the Lonely Planet's "Top Sites" -as is Gaudi La Sagrada Familia -which is still being built and La Rambla which is a great tree-lined walk down to the harbour to view Columbus's statue set up on high -a bit like Neslon's column
Barcelona is my favourite European city. I think the Lonely Planet guide is packed with good advice -both for short stay visitors -and also those who want to go back a few times. It has a great "Day Planner" to make the most of your visit -but ensure you relax and enjoy the atmosphere of cafes and restaurants en route-it is the "coolest city" as the Lonely Planer says -it adds, "in the world"..'not sure if San Francisco doesn't take that prize for me.
I like the layout of the book which has 7 overlay maps on pages 18-19 which then are described in detail in the later sections
Each of the 7 sections immediately tells you of the top sights -and those that you can explore in just one day.If you arrive in Barcelona say on a Friday and leave on a Sunday, then it is good to go ready prepared. I usually make a list of good weather/wet weather sites so that I am not wasting time - but ensuring there are coffee stops on the way-the Lonely Planet is ideal
And for a short visit this ~A6 sized pocket guide is all you need. It has a larger map at the back too.
The guide book has the Catalan phrases on pages 178-178. For example bon dia for good morning rather than buenos dias as in the other parts of Spain(well most of it!). It is good to have a go -and the two pages are pretty good (French is also a standby if you get stuck as it's just up the coast)
The other 'plus' is that within each section there are mini maps too for particular areas. For example, on page 108 there is a street map of Gracia -which is also marked with a suggested route to follow.
The maps are very clear and uncluttered (one of my key criteria -the balance of sufficient information without cramming too much onto the map that you can't navigate around it with ease)
The guide covers good eating and drinking places -and night life-the locations of these are shown in the smaller maps with their own map reference
There is a survival guide on pages 171-177. It covers airport arrival and the use of taxis, buses, trains and guides on tipping. It is also lists several useful web sites that you can explore as part of your preparation prior to visiting Barcelona
So for a short visit -and a longer one of say, 1 week plus, this small book will help you find your feet and plan the hours that you are there.
Having been to Barcelona several times I can't spot anything that is missing in this lonely planet book. Try to get around as much as you can on foot to really soak up the atmosphere of this really chilled city - a very good guide that meets the needs it set out to achieve
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
The best pocket book ever bought . Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Guide books come and go but Lonely Planet is one of the most respected brand guides and this new Barcelona pocket guidebook demonstrates why.

Physically it is 10.5cm W x 15cm L so you will need a rucksack or coat pocket to carry it in rather than trousers and it is probably medium in weight for pocketbooks. It is easy on the ey with plenty of good quality pictures and icons you can see at a glance that help you get the information you need quickly. At the back of the book comes a handy pull out detailed street and map for central Barcelna

The book is split into 4 sections:

- Quick Start guide

This covers headline information like the Top sights to see in a quick and easy way that explains a little about the sight and then directs to the actual pages to read further.

Barcelona life follows in this section which is for those who really want to experience the core basics of what the locals do -where they go, what they eat/drink and where. A Day Planner is suggested if you really don't know where to start covering key places to visit, where to have lunch/dinner and after dark entertainment. It's a 4 day guide that will ensure you sample local life.

Factual practical information follows covering before you go, getting around etc

- Explore Barcelona

This section shows on a map the key neighbourhoods and then directs you to pages of places to see, eat and drink within those areas. This is a useful section as it breaks the key tourist trails down into key sights in a day, where to experience local life, getting there, shopping, where to stop to eat/drink, hints etc etc. Areas are covered in bite size chunks of information over about 15 pages each and include street maps etc. The areas focused are La Rambla & Barri Gotic, El Raval, Camp Nou, Pedralbes & Sarria, Barcelonaeta and the beaches, La Ribera &Parc de la Ciutadella, Montjuic & poble Sec and Passeig de Gracia &L'Eixample.

- The best of Barcelona

As suggested this section focuses on the main highlights of the city in handly lists that help you plan your trip and get the most out of a few days visit. This covers good information under topics such as Best Architecture, Best Places to eat and drink, best beaches, best shops, best for gay/lesbian etc. There is a lso a dedicated section the food lover's guide which gives focused information on where to go to ensure you find what you are looking for with minimum fuss including Best Tapa's which has got to be gold dust information.

- Survival Guide

Pages dedicated to practical information covering transport, phrases, banks, emergencies, airports etc

This is the only practical pocket guide you need if you want to shortcut where to go and get all the core information you need in one simple to read book.

Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2012
Great little book with lots of facts & details- complete with a map in the back, even though its only small. I've just come back Barcelona & used it all the time- it fits easily into your bag/ rucksack or even a large pocket! I also bought one for a friend who's also going to Barcelona. Excellent value for money.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
An easy to use pocket guide. Great for a short trip or first time introdution to this city. Comes with a useful pull out map too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 July 2013
This tells you everything you need to know for a mini break to Barcelona. It's small so easy to pack if you're like me and utilise the budget airline prices by taking carry on luggage only as it weighs next to nothing. The other Lonely Planet books are very big and bulky and I wouldn't be able to carry them around with me day to day but you can with this meaning you can reference it whenever you need to.
It obviously doesn't have the page allowance to go into as much depth as the other Lonely Planets but I didn't find anything I felt it was missing. If you are maybe moving to Barcelona or going for a long time then maybe invest in the big daddy and have a good read before you leave but just for a few days this is perfect.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2013
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A compact pocket guide that covers the main bases of what to see, where to go, and how to organise your sightseeing. It's enough for a first-timer on a long weekend, and as long as you don't expect anything too "off the beaten track" it'll direct you to the usual tourist fayre.

The map is a handy inclusion but is way too small scale to guide you around the tighter pedestrianised shopping streets (e.g. between La Rambla and the Cathedral), so best to upgrade to something a little larger in scale.

An easy 3 stars on format & content, but not quite a 4 star.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2013
This is an excellent pocket guide. As someone who prefers to use travel guides a source of ideas, rather than a strict script, it was perfect.

I was in Barcelona for a week, and it provided my group more than enough inspiration of areas to visit and sights to see. The descriptions of locations in the city, as well as various attractions and businesses are informative and interesting, and the couple of restaurants and bars that came recommended did not disappoint. It also contains usual bits of advise on how to navigate the city and dave money.

The layout is simple (divided into key areas of the city, then into headings such as 'best bars, best sights, best museums) and it is easy to find anything you are looking for, as well as being pleasant on the eye with a lot of nice pictures.

Importantly, it is definitely 'pocket' sized. Very light and easy to carry around.

The only room for improvement is that the map can at times take a little working our because of a lack of detail (e.g. hard to see which corner a marker on a busy intersection lay on), but then again this is a 'pocket guide'. On the whole, it did a fine job leading us to our destinations, and I would prefer it to a bigger (more detailed, but more cumbersome) map.

This guide never left my pocket all through my holiday, and I would highly recommend it to anybody planning a visit to the brilliant city of Barcelona.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2014
I bought this because I'm going to Barcelona with a friend for 4 days, and it's great. It's small enough to carry around with you, and has a lot of useful information, for example the major sites, where to eat and the less known sites which are worth visiting. It has a lot of helpful tips as well (e.g. safety and travel tips) and even comes with a 4 day plan for people (like me) who are only going to be in Barcelona for a short period of time. There is also a useful fold out map at the back which shows you where the main sites are.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)