Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2014
In order to force Susan (wife) to learn all the European languages, I have demanded that she speak to me in a different language dependent on which room of the house we're in. English is only to be used outside of the house.

Hungarian is for the downstairs bathroom. As it's just a toilet we haven't yet both been in there at the same time. But when the time comes, I know this book's going to come up trumps.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2017
Very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
This book has everything you need to get by on a holiday or to take your Hungarian a bit further. It has all the essentials and gives an easy pronunciation guide. It even includes 'My hovercraft is full of eels' from the Monty Python Hungarian phrasebook, which made me laugh. Strangely, I never needed to use this phrase on holiday. It has lots of brilliant info boxes throughout, giving information about Hungary, Hungarians, way of life, attitudes, manners, things to look out for, things to listen for (easier said than done - they speak so quickly). A very useful little book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
I am Hungarian. Trying to help my husband to learn the language. This book is much better then I expected. It is small and light. Easy to carry around. The colour coded sections help to find quickly what you need. The words are also written the way they are pronounced. Huge help. I do recommend the book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2013
If like me - you have never spoken a word of hungarian in your life and now need to - then this little guide is just the thing! It has easy phrases that are spelled out phonetically so you can use them when you have to. It also has a handy dictionary in the back both in english and in hungarian - so when you need to look up words it's pretty handy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
This little book was very useful when I visited Hungary and it was easy to find the words I wanted in the various categories.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Pocket sized so easy to take with you when shopping etc.
Good fun to read and easy to read and use.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
You want to chat someone up in Hungarian? This little book has select phrases. More still, little boxes provide a note of caution: 'mi ujsag' means what's up, not a caveman's invitation for 'me-you-shag'. It's not all fun and games, though: serious phrases and words are included, for use at the doctor's, shops, at dinner with Hungarians, and general travelling. There is also a very useful, wide-ranging dictionary at the back, including some wayward words and phrases, such as blocked nose. The front few pages also provide extra information, on the language and very basic grammar. A grand book to take with you to Hungary. If, though, you wish to make your sentences more flexible, you will need to take a grammar book!
For those wishing to take their Hungarian to another level, the next stop is 'Dirty Hungarian' which makes this book's phrases, such as, 'let's go to bed', seem tame, and actually provides very colloquial phrases, from meeting people to other situations. And if you want get serious about Hungarian grammar (a bold plan), try Hungarian Verbs and Essentials of Grammar, or for the more ambitious, Routledge's Descriptive Grammar, or Carol Round's Hungarian Grammar!
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
on the plane to Hungary I started reading the guide, I was surprised how complicated the language is and got real good help to learn the basics in a short time during the flight to be able to say please/thank you hello and good-bye and learn about the context.

While a good book and guide, it could be made easier to find the basics at the front instead of having to look for them somewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)