Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2017
I have always been a fan of Logitech remotes, having previously owned the Harmony 1000 I decided to update to the Touch.

It's great and controls my entire home media system (need to buy the Hub for my IOT devices). It's comfortable and can stand a beating since my 20-month-old son likes to throw it across the room and it still works. The only downside is locking the remote (so my son can't change channels) is a bit of a hassle. It also only seems to actually lock the physical buttons when the screen is showing it's locked. When the screen goes blank the physical buttons are active again.

Other than that it's a great piece of kit and a welcome addition to any home media center.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Great remote, even got the wife's approval after showing her how easy it is to use.

I've got several devices in my setup with a hdmi switch so this is a god send.

Setup is fairly simple via the online browser based app.

Found every device inc my hdmi switch so no custom adding needed.

Real shame it doesn't work with my Harmony Link 😡.

Meaning I prob going to add a Harmony Hub so got RF functions & app use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
I think you need to know what you are doing to fully appreciate how good this remote is. Mine is now programmed to watch Sky, TV, Humax Box, DVD Player, Smart TV and Fire stick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
I have been using a Logitech Harmony 700 Remote for over a year to control my 6 Device Hi-Fi system. It has performed superbly during this time and the build quality is excellent. As I intend to add other equipment to my Hi-Fi system, I will require a Remote that exceeds the 6 Device barrier of the H-700. I decided to go for the Logitech Harmony Touch which I purchased from Amazon for a really great price.

The H-Touch needs to be programmed using Online Harmony Software and requires setting up an Account with Logitech which is straightforward. The Software is really easy to use and most will find all their Hi-Fi equipment from the Huge Logitech Database. What is important is to write out a list of all Devices including Make, Type, Model Number and Input / Output details you intend to control. This is a MUST before using the Harmony Software as it will help program the H-Touch with the correct information/choices and save you time in the long run as recommended by Logitech.

Once Synced all your Devices and Activities are copied to the H-Touch. I did have to assign my PVR Library Command to the DVR Hard Button as this had been, for some reason, left unassigned. Having completed the programming and fine tuning of my H-Touch, I found everything was working perfectly.

However, the H-Touch is not perfect, lacking features which are present on the H-700 like motion sensors. This really cool feature on the H-700 means it wakes up when picked up. The Touch has to be awakened by tapping the screen or pressing a button which is not as cool. On the H-Touch, selecting Activities is done by swiping the screen to the right but does not wrap. So when you reach the last Activity Page you have to swipe left to get back to previous Activities. It would be nice to think that Logitech could sort this out with a Firmware Update. The touch screen has a nice clear view with swiping being responsive and quick whilst offering basic UDLRT Gestures which I don't use and a user selectable onscreen Number keypad.

Favourite Channel icons are displayed 9 at a time. Vertical swiping allows you to see the rest up to a maximum of 50 including Radio Channel icons. Favourites can only be assigned to one Prime Watch Device such as your PVR or TV. The H-700 allows separate Favourite Channel icons on both my PVR and TV Devices albeit only 23 for each. I agree with other reviewers that the placement of the Transport buttons would have been better sited below the touch screen. The H-Touch does come with a nice Charging Base Unit, placement in which, should keep the H-Touch fully charged and ready to go whenever required.

A nice feature of the H-Touch is the ability to re-order the Favourite Channel icons and Activities without the need to connect to a computer. Customisable options are also available via Settings Activity which allows changing the background colour scheme, Brightness and Activity Icons to name but a few.

Something that has annoyed me is the re-chargeable battery inside the H-Touch can be removed but according to the Logitech website the removed battery cannot be replaced with a new one. So when the battery fails to hold its charge it seems that Logitech expect you to throw the Battery and H-Touch away in accordance with Local Laws. The question is how long can the H-Touch battery last for? I hope many years but seems outrageous that I may have to dispose of this Remote for the sake of a replacement battery after a couple of years (Remote comes with 2 year Warranty). I find it hard to believe that Logitech will not stock a battery for this remote. Perhaps I have misunderstood what I have read on the Logitech website. I have Remotes which came with equipment that are 20 years old and still work fine.

I think the Logitech Harmony Touch is a Great Universal Remote which does nearly everything I want it to.

However the battery issue is a real disappointment and for this reason I can only award a 4 Star rating and hope I am wrong about the Battery situation.

********
UPDATE EDIT
I have contacted Logitech who tell me the battery Life in the Harmony Touch with heavy usage will be at least 2 years.
Logitech also state the battery cannot be replaced with another because, "It is a design choice that Logitech made and the battery is made to last as long as the Logitech Harmony Touch remote".

Sounds to me like a really expensive disposable Remote so enjoy it whilst you can.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
Well made. Key smaller than my old One so takes a bit of practice to use it after a few beers, in the dark! My whole family can use it so meets the basic test criteria. Accelerometer would have been nice and a bigger replacable battery but all told I am happy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Need to know what you doing of its a long set up process
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
This review is the for the Logitech Harmony touch Remote control. This is the package that contains the remote unit only.

When I was originally shopping around for remotes, I was looking for a remote that would:
1. Allow me to replace multiple remotes strewn across the coffee table
2. Allow my other half to use our entertainment system without my help

Percentage-wise, the Logitech Harmony Touch achieves this as follows:

Using default Logitech setup 40%
Once you edit buttons and add macros: 70%
Once you add a Harmony Hub: 99%

First things first, it's a quality product. The look and feel is good. The weight distribution front to back is also correct. Its styling is conservative and restrained. It's a league above the One4All type remotes that are out there.

Out of the box, it obviously doesn't do anything; it needs setting up using the Harmony software so it can learn the InfraRed commands that work with your particular devices. Your PC needs to have the .Net framework and Silverlight installed to use the Harmony software. My ageing Windows 7 64-bit laptop already had both so I was able to install it straight away.

Tips for setting up the remote:

1. Be exact about model names. "Samsung D5500 series" was the option I first selected for my Samsung D5520 television. Lots of buttons were wrong or didn't work. I finally realised this and deleted the TV and added it again, this time using the exact model number UE40D5520RKXXU.

2. Look carefully at the button assignments Logitech have provided. When watching TV, the back button on my FreeSat decoder IS mapped to the back button on the remote but only if I press and hold it for 3 seconds. Logitech allows you to assign up to two functions to each key, one for a "short press", one for a "long press". It's worth going through the entire list and making sure the buttons you need most frequently are on the short press.

3. If you can't get a particular function working, it is possible for the Harmony Touch to learn (record) the IR code from the original remote (if you still have it) by pointing the original remote at the learning eye on the back of the Harmony Touch.

4. If you happen to have a laptop, take the laptop to the room where you'll use the remote and do the setup there.

So, pros and cons:

+ The Logitech device database is extensive. In the unlikely event you can't find your device, Logitech may be able to add the device for you if you learn the commands from your device's remote and then contact their support department asking them to add the device permanently.

+ No more hunting for batteries. The remote has a built-in (officially non-replaceable) battery that is recharged each time you place the remote back in the charging dock.

+ The "activities" function allows you to create a button on the touchscreen that manipulates multiple devices at the same time. You can add your own picture for the activity and customise the commands so that additional pauses and button presses are sent. For example, I have a button that says "Watch Netflix" and has the Netflix icon to the left. When I press it, it powers on the TV, selects HDMI2, powers on the Home Cinema amplifier and selects XBOX optical input, turns on the XBOX, selects my XBOX live profile, waits 30 secs for the home screen to appear then goes to my pins (use pins to prevent the macro breaking if the layout changes) and selects the first pin, which is the Netflix app. Activities allow remotes to be mixed together so in this scenario, play and pause are mapped to the XBOX but Vol up and Vol down are mapped to the amp.

- It's infrared. Infrared is one way communication. If the Harmony sends the IR code when you press the button, it has no idea whether the signal got to the device and the device performed the action. The marketing blurb for this remote mentions RF, but that's a little misleading. The only RF device it can control directly is the Harmony Ultimate Hub (available separately).

- It's line of sight. It's great that you can program up complex activity macros like the one mentioned above, but you have to sit there ensuring the remote is pointed at the relevant devices the whole time. That's not instinctive for most users.

To be fair, I got annoyed with the two cons listed above and rather than return the unit, I decided to take a gamble and pay out the additional £80 to add the Harmony Ultimate Hub to see if that helped mitigate these problems. It really did. The hub is an IR repeater that you can leave permanently in sight of your equipment's IR receivers. It is RF so it can go in a closed cabinet with your TV decoder, dvd player, media player, console etc. It has two external 2.5mm sockets for IR repeater tails so you can even solve the much cited problem of needing to separately control two Humax boxes in the same room since you can even map devices to a particular socket.

Overall I have to say it's a good piece of kit but it really only comes into its own when used with the Hub. It's cheaper to buy the Harmony Ultimate package which contains both the Harmony Touch and the Harmony Hub rather than doing what I did and buying them separately. At this price, it's good value for money. If you want the kind of guaranteed functionality that 2-way communication provides you are starting to look at AMX or Crestron and if you can afford that sort of kit then you probably wouldn't be reading this review on Amazon as your butler would be doing it for you.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
At the heart of my home system, I have an HDMI 4x4 matrix switch which can route any of four inputs (e.g. Sky box, DVD player) to any of four outputs (i.e. monitors). The Harmony Touch really struggles with this configuration. One of the problems is that any "activity" (for example, Watch TV) starts with a list of commands which cannot be deleted or reordered; this substantially restricts the extent to which one can then customise the activity - a shame, really, as almost every other aspect of the remote's operation is totally programmable. The matrix is not listed amongst the manufacturer's recognised devices (specifically or generically) and I found Logitech's support personnel very limited in their product knowledge and unproactive with their problem solving. The idea was to buy three more of these remotes for my home but I'll have to keep looking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2013
This is an awesome control; wish i had discovered it way back and consolidated all my remote controls into one. It is so much better having one unit control everything;

I have it hooked up to and controlling;
Sky Box
Amplifier
Cinema Surround Sound
Apply TV

It works great and its slick - it also has a numerical pad to enter any pin codes ie Sky movies or for parental controls. It also has favourites so that you can switch between 50 of your favourite TV channels without searching the Sky menu.

So easy to set up.

I highly recommend this control unit.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
Summary
---------

This is a well made quality device; what lets it down is the appalling set-up software.

If all your devices are in the database, have been entered properly (I had one that was incorrect), you're happy enough to accept the Harmony default set-up and don't often change things, you probably won't have any problems but if you charge your set-up much, or want to fiddle with the touch buttons or do anything out of the ordinary with it - beware! Many, many unnecessarily frustrating hours spent struggling with obviously poorly designed software await.

Background concepts
---------

The point of this type of device is not only to emulate several different remote controls but to integrate those controls and present you with a control set-up that is appropriate to what you want to do, even when that involves several devices. For example, if you have a satellite receiver connected to a TV and a separate audio amplifier you will want the sound related buttons on the remote to control the amplifier, the picture controls to control the TV and the channel selection to control the satellite box.

The Harmony achieves this using two central concepts; 'devices' and 'activities'. A device represents one of your physical devices such as a TV or amplifier, or more accurately, the set of IR remote codes used by it. Devices are generally selected from the comprehensive online database using the manufacturer and model number.

An activity represents something you want to do, such as 'watch satellite TV'. The activity is a set of devices and a mapping of their remote control codes to the physical and touch screen buttons on the Harmony. To continue with the example, the 'watch satellite TV' activity will have three devices; the TV, the amplifier and the satellite receiver. When you select an activity, the Harmony switches on the relevant devices and selects the inputs needed; using the same example, the TV and amplifier's inputs will be set to the satellite receiver.

Devices also include a mapping to the controls on the Harmony and you can select and use a device directly but the Harmony is clearly designed to be used with activities.

The Nightmare
---------

In order to set-up the Harmony, you have to download the 'MyHarmony' application. This connects to your online account (which stores your set-up) and to the remote itself via usb.

If you have all your devices' model numbers to hand, finding them in the database is straightforward. When you first set up an activity, you are presented with a series of questions about what devices it uses, what device controls the volume etc. - a so called 'wizard' or 'assistant' style user interface. The set-up software then makes a reasonable guess at how the activity should be set-up; assigning functions to buttons and adding extra ones to the touch screen. If you're happy with everything it does, then all is well, if not, the nightmare begins....

It really is difficult to overstate what an appalling mess this software is. I had an earlier version of Harmony remote (the 785) and the associated software (version 7.7) always was clunky, frustrating and counter-intuitive. The MyHarmony app is, I'm afraid, a case of one small step forward and ten giant leaps back. At least the developers have finally realized how to do a standard 'yes/no' confirmation dialogue - one should be grateful for small mercies, I suppose.

Firstly, this must deserve some sort of award for making a local usb connection so appallingly unreliable. The software needs to sync with the remote at least twice to change the set-up (once at the start, because you can do a limited number of changes on the remote itself, then after you've finished) - it locks up during sync a good 10% of the time. Given that I have gigabytes of data stored on usb connected devices that have never failed, achieving such a failure rate with the same technology is no mean feat and it deserves recognition. Sometimes, after such lock ups, you'll need to do a hard reset to get the remote working again: press both the menu and off keys for about 20 seconds (take a note, you'll need it).

If, like me, you had an old Harmony, you can import the settings from your old account... sort of. Actually all it does is retrieve the same devices and collect them into the same activities - any other settings (customized buttons, custom start and stop sequences) are all lost. Better than nothing, I guess.

If you want to change the default set-up perhaps the first thing you'll notice is the 'eccentric' organization of the button customization. In the old version 7.7 Harmony software, these settings were organized, logically enough, with the device or activity to which they related. In the MyHarmony app they are located under their very own section subdivided into touch screen and hardware keys. The practical upshot of this is that if you want to customize the button mapping for both the touch screen and the hardware buttons you'll need to select the activity or device twice and if you want to change something else to do with the same device or activity, you'll have to select it yet again.

Probably the worst design fault of all is carried over from the old software; there are some things that cannot be changed without re-running the set-up 'wizard' for the activity. These things include changing which input a device is connected to. A 'wizard' interface is fine for a 'first-pass' to get users going but it's a dreadful way of doing later tweaks. As if this wasn't bad enough, under some circumstances, the system decides that you really do want to start again and re-adds all the buttons it guesses you want for the activity to the touch screen - even when you've deliberately deleted them.

The Mysteries
---------

If you need to delve deeper into the features of this software, it soon becomes clear that there are some things it just decides for you, without any apparent logic or reason, and about which you can do nothing. You will find that many (all?) activities have an associated number pad. You will search in vain for any means of changing this at all. I managed to find out that it uses the number pad from the device that you said changed channels during the activity set-up. Obviously this will work well in most situations but if that wasn't what you wanted, tough - there is no way to change it. I find that totally unacceptable on a device as sophisticated as this. One of my devices is a media centre computer which needs two different Harmony 'devices' to control it and it doesn't change channels. I think the number pad was chosen when I assigned some controls to the channel up and down buttons, which turned out OK, but it's easy to see how it might not.

Equally bizarre and mysterious is the fact that the list of commands associated with each device gets censored depending on what you are doing. For example, you can assign commands directly to buttons or you can define command sequences and assign them to buttons - in the former case, the list does not include the number buttons (0-9) but in the latter, it does. So, you can't assign one of the number controls to the main screen but you can define a sequence consisting of just a number control and then add that to the screen.

There is a feature that allows you to add sequences that are automatically run on activity start and end. On my old remote, I had such a sequence to switch my TV to an unused input on ending the 'Watch TV' activity (in order to get over a quirk of the way it selected the TV tuner as its input). The Harmony Touch doesn't allow you to use the input selection controls in that sequence. I can't imagine what the 'thought' process was behind the decision to disallow this...

Clearly device commands are categorized in some way, which raises the question of how such things are decided when you learn a command directly from another remote? There seems to be no way to tell it that a command is an input selection or a number pad key...

Conclusion
---------

The above has really only scratched the surface of the endless examples of appalling software design displayed by the set-up application.

Harmony set-up software has been derided in reviews for some considerable time. I just don't understand why Logitech have not done something about it. This is a terrible application; as a software engineer, it makes me ashamed of my profession and Logitech should be ashamed to be supplying it.

If nothing else, it desperately (and I mean DESPERATELY) needs an advanced user interface mode that allows you to bypass the wizard interface and go straight to all the settings (including those that are currently hidden).

Even if you could resort to exporting the whole set-up as (say) an xml file and edit it with an ordinary text editor, that would be a giant leap forward in usability, IMO. At least you wouldn't be battling with the strange assumptions and quirky 'reasoning' of the 'design' team...
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 37 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)