Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£18.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 November 2012
You can't judge a book by its cover but this book has the most attractive cover picture I've seen in a long time.It is a delightful read and for me Liz has conveyed a sense of happiness that's felt by the reader. Having built up something of a collection of British comedy films in which Liz appears it was a pleasure for me to see many of them referred to by Liz's own recollections, amplified by the her joy in working with many of her admired personalities. Also it was enjoyable to discover her many non-acting roles in life and indeed the impression comes across that she herself feels she has achieved much. Altogether a lively account of a lady whose character sparkles!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Books from actresses who were working in the 50s and 60s are as rare as hens teeth.So I suppose that I shouldn't feel too frustrated by this book.Whilst she tells us about working with many famous names of the period she rarely goes into much depth about them,the exception being Peter Sellers.For example on page 151 she says she got to know Kenneth Williams a lot better when she was making Carry On Behind,but nothing more.Most of the actors she performed with were "nice" or "lovely" with the exception of Jack Douglas.The only person she has a go at,rightly,is Peter Rogers.he let actors such as Charlie Hawtry and Joan Sims,decline into poverty,refusing their rightful requests for reiduals.Clearly Ms Fraser realised the pitfalls of the acting profession early on,and through wise investments has given herself a comfortable old age.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
A very enjoyable, well written, easy-to-read autobiography by one of the great British character actresses of the 50s and 60s onwards. A remarkable lady who appeared in many well-known film and TV comedies, numerous plays and several serious works as well. If you like movies, then this is a book worth reading. She is, in my opinion, a great British institution and here she tells of a life well-lived, complete with her own tragedies and triumphs, plus many interesting insights into those she worked with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2015
Looked forward to this as I'm a Carry on devotee. However found it rather unremarkable. Of course it traces Liz's career in detail but the author doesn't let her guard down and tell us what she really thought of her coworkers. She also only briefly touches on her avowed political beliefs, of which she did and continues to demonstrate. And little mention of her family too. So if you want an unchallenging quick read then you won't feel the disappointment that I do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I've always loved the beautiful and funny Liz Fraser and always wished to know more about the real Liz. Well there's so much of her life in this book mainly centred around her life as an actress. It's quite sad to read that so many of her great actor friends and collegues are no longer here and there are numerous references to their passing.
It's amazing to think that with just a few short appearences in several comedies that she would have such an impact on British cinema. Yet Liz is so much more than the "dumb blonde" she seemed to portay to good effect. Okay so many will remember her most in the carry on films, but for me, Liz along with most of the main carry on actors were truly great comic actors. This book will show just how many roles she's played on film and TV as well as numerous theatre appearences. Knowing more about her life now through her book only makes me want to meet her in person more than ever. Let it be known that Liz Fraser has brought so much laughter and happiness into so many peoples lives. Enjoy the book....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Since I may be one of the few people left on Planet Earth who remember Liz Fraser with great fondness, I was anxious to read her life story. Unfortunately, Miss Fraser should have left the writing to someone else. Books regarding show business personalities need to contain some choice tidbits that we've never heard before...the odd revelation or two. This book does not. Liz Fraser continually tells us that she "worked with so-and-so and he was awfully nice" and she "was costarred with this actress who was a real professional and taught her a lot". Everyone she meets is a delightful person whom she admires and likes. Not exactly what you would call "a tell-all book". I'm glad she had such a long and rewarding career but I wish the book contained a few more insights into the personalities of the people she worked with.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
If I'm honest, I hadn't expected Liz Fraser's autobiography to be anything out of the ordinary ... but it is! Beautifully written, and with seemingly total honesty, this is the best showbusiness autobio I have read in a long time. Miss Fraser has a charming turn of phrase, a very down-to-earth perspective on her career and image, and comes across as someone you would genuinely like to know personally. No pomposity, just the right sprinking of ego ("I am a good actress" - well yes, she is!) and many funny and entertaining anecdotes about colleagues such as Irene Handl, Sid James, Peter Sellers, etc. A real treat.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
Liz Fraser's book is written in an honest, frank way that won't overpower the reader.

She talks about her career in films over 20 years, shares her fond memories of co-stars like Sid James and Peter Sellers and talks about the problems of her private life, including two unfaithful husbands and a battle with cancer.

Give it a go.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Brilliant read, haven't finished it yet, finding it hard to put down. Did not realised how many famous people she acted with, highly reccommeded.
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Have always been a Liz Fraser fan so this was long awaited and didn't disappoint. I would recommend to any fan
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)