Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
9
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 November 2001
This book it tempting for the uninitiated and I admit I bought it - however I have found it to be very inaccurate and it makes most things seem very much more complicated than they are. For example I have obtained a Residencia, imported my car and obtained a Spanish driving licence in Murcia where many of the documents said to be required by Hampshire were NOT required. I did not use a Gestor but I do speak some Spanish.
Save your money and go direct to the Spanish departments and offices involved and ask - they will do all they can to help you. Do not let this book put you off doing-it-yourself.
The book is poorly designed and laid out because Hampshire tries to cover too many eventualities...
0Comment| 113 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2001
Excellent book detailing everything you need to know before you go, as well as when you are there. It gives you masses of information and advice and should be looked upon as a reference book, guiding you through the Spanish systems. If like me you are planning on a home in the sun, then this is the book for you before you go. No good trying to shut the gate after the horse has bolted!
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2001
I am so glad that I chose this book from the others on offer.There does not seem to be any part of life that goes unmentioned, along with countless warnings and cautions repeated throughout. The author makes it simple to find information and it therefore becomes easier to remember.. especially if your getting close to retirement !
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2001
A must for all future ex-pats. Deals with every aspect of moving to Spain. I invested in several books but this is the only one you need. Every issue and concern is covered,every daft question you have on Spain but are frightened to ask is answered honestly without pulling any punches. Highly recommended.....
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2000
This is essential reading for anybody thinking of moving to Spain. It is very down-to-earth and it is hard to think of a topic which is not covered-from plumbing to bull-fights. It is not the kind of book which you can read at one sitting-think of it as a selection of tapas, to be enjoyed at leisure.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2010
This is a helpful book, but there is a newer version available. Some of the advice given may well have been updated in that version. Nevertheless, worth a read for the prospective emigrant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
I bought this book when moving to Madrid but I found it too general. It just states the obvious and it's a waist of time. It definitely lacks accurate detailed information.
For anybody who moves to Madrid I would advise you to buy the Madrid Notebook or for the french speakin, le carnet de Madrid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
An extremely useful book which covers many bases. The text is clear and user friendly.

An excellent book for anyone contemplating a move. Recommended!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
It gives some advise but forgets about some important "details", but of course everyone tells the story according to their situation and interests.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)