Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
36
4.4 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2016
Absolutely brilliant. ideal for anyone to try and master as these crafts are dying out and we need more people to come into the art of willow making.
Just watch what you can do with your hands, that you always thought you could do just a little bit of patience and your time and look at what you can achieve. This is my favourite book of the whole collection and my volunteers went and bought this book for there own piece of mind. Handy tips and much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2001
Having been on a Living Willow sculpture course this year at Wisley, I decided to buy this book as it had been recommended to me. I was a little disappointed at the content of the book as I thought it would contain a little more detail about making all the sculptures, I felt there were too many photos but not enough instructions to enable you to recreate them yourself. There could have been more about the basic techniques of willow weaving. I guess you are supposed to use your imagination! Otherwise, considering that there aren't many books on the subject then I would recommend it for ideas.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2011
More a 'what's possible' slim book for the coffee table rather than a detailed how to do it book. Some instruction but limited. Well illustrated with clear colour photography.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
This very thin book contains the bare minimum you need for the projects it presents. I was interested in learning how to make a living willow fence, but there is very little information about them (3 pages of mostly pictures) and no information about the weaving technique. I guess I will be relying on the internet for that information, but then why buy this book?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2013
A good guide for having a go on your own, but a bit lacking in real technical information, example a guide to suitable varieties, possible diseases.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2010
I really enjoyed this book which gives clear practical instructions. I have already made one living willow chair which is growing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2009
Covers the basics and well as giving to pictures of bigger projects. Good book given the price, but could do with more detail and variations different weaves.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
Great to have a down to earth guide to making living willow sculptures. Great to give confidence that anyone (with a bit of imagination and patience) can create a piece of changing art in their own garden. Superb starter to the whole process.

It is not a heavy manual but a book to inspire trial and error and how to incorporate other materials.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2012
i bought this book after completing a course in rustic furniture making, in the hope i could move on to to willow weaving. With the help of this book i can. I would say that anyone with reasonable diy skills and a bit of creative could use this book to construct somthing rrally beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
If they taught this subject at college this would be the text that went with the course - the best guide out there to live willow weaving! It is simple and a startiong block for your own creative projects.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)