Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Living in Oblivion Vol. 4 [CASSETTE]

Currently unavailable.
We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.
Customers also viewed these available items
Currently unavailable. We don't know when or if this item will be back in stock.

Amazon's Living In Oblivion (Series) Store

Special Offers and Product Promotions

Product details

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Dance Hall Days - Wang Chung
  2. One Thing Leads to Another - The Fixx
  3. True - Spandau Ballet
  4. Come on Eileen - Dexys Midnight Runners
  5. Digging Your Scene [US Single Version] - The Blow Monkeys
  6. Sister of Mercy [Single Version] - Thompson Twins
  7. Under the Milky Way - The Church
  8. Lean on Me [Ah-Li-Ayo] - Red Box
  9. Since Yesterday - Strawberry Switchblade
  10. You Don't Know - Scarlett & Black
  11. Some People - Belouis Some
  12. Shock [Single Remix] - The Motels, The Motels
  13. Belly of the Whale - Burning Sensations
  14. Tenderness - General Public
  15. Get Out of London - Intaferon
  16. Go! - Tones on Tail
  17. Slang Teacher - Wide Boy Awake
  18. Lawnchairs - Our Daughters Wedding
  19. Mexican Radio - Wall of Voodoo

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9c7e35c4) out of 5 stars 18 reviews
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c7fd1c8) out of 5 stars Living Oblivious 20 Sept. 2004
By David B - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
There are some tracks on this disk that (thankfully) I had never heard of. However, there are a few songs here that are very difficult to find.

Belly of the Whale - Burning Sensations. In fact it was for this one song that I bought the CD.

Get out of London - Intaferon. As previously mentioned this is a hard song to locate.

Also, WangChung, Tones on Tail and the Thompson Twins add to the value of this disc (for me at least.)
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c7fd414) out of 5 stars Enjoyable Pop Songs 17 Mar. 2002
By Danaphile - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Beyond the obvious hits there are some quite catchy numbers that most people (like some reviewers) will completely ignore. Go! by Tones on Tail is a radio classic, and You Don't Know by Scarlett & Black is a delight. A must-have for those open to hearing things they haven't heard a million times before.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c7fd7f8) out of 5 stars Some gems, some better forgotten 5 Aug. 2004
By Pat Patterson - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
As with any compilation, some tracks you already have, some you want, and some you don't really care for. The selling point for me was the inclusion of Intaferon's 'Get Out Of London' - REALLY hard to find on CD - and I'd rather get it on this for a handful of bucks than on the Olsen twins' Winning London soundtrack for maybe 3 times the price.
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c7fd6c0) out of 5 stars Dynamite compilation of non-typical 1980's hits! 30 Nov. 2005
By Get What We Give - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The Living In Oblivion series of CD compilations does something that many similar compilations do NOT do: they give us some great variety of "hits".

There is no doubt that "Mickey" by Toni Basil was a huge hit. There's also no doubt that "Our Lips are Sealed" was a break out hit for the Go Go's, but the Funboy Three version wasn't. But what about "Living in a Box"? It only hit the Billboard top 100 at #89 in 1987. So why is it here? Why are a large number of these songs? They're not top 10 hits, right?


I'm sick to death of so many compilations relying on top 40 hits from the 80's. The U.S. music tastes are typically very different from those of Europe. Just because a song doesn't make the U.S. Billboard top 40 doesn't mean that it isn't a hit in other countries. And although I'm an American, my music tastes have always run more in line with those of Europe.

I'm delighted that the Living in Oblivion series (and the Pop and Wave series) have incorporated a variety of hits from the U.S. and Europe.

I also like that some of the more obscure groups and their songs are available on these compilations. There are several songs on these albums that never were released on CD (as they hadn't come into being at the time of the groups' albums initial releases), so albums such as these are the only place where you can find these hits. The Boys Don't Cry song "I Wanna Be a Cowboy" hit the Billboard charts at #12 in 1986, but the group disappeared soon thereafter. Then all of a sudden a dance version of that same song came out in the early 2000's and rocketed up the dance charts.

Don't be misled, the Living in Oblivion series is one of the absolutely best series for a variety of music from the 80's. If you want to hear run of the mill, top 40 only hits from the 80's, well, then you'll just have to look elsewhere.

Also, the liner notes and pictures of the groups included in the jewel box are really clever. You get to find out what the chart position was for the songs in the compilation and see what the groups looked like at the time of the song's release. My only issue with these liner notes is that the author of them seems to be disparaging the very music which these albums are espousing. Apparently many believe that the music from the 80's was vacuous and devoid of emotion. One need only listen to the song "The Promise" by the group "When in Rome" (Living in Oblivion Volume 5) to know that such a statement is false. While that group only had this one hit and then faded into obscurity, "The Promise" made the Billboard Top 100 at #11 and the Billboard Dance Chart at #1.

Anyway... I can't recommend this album and its entire series any more! It's simply awesome! Before believing those who would disparage this series of albums, please check the Billboard charts and you'll see that these songs were in fact hits.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c7fdbc4) out of 5 stars MUST HAVE mid-level 80's hits 11 Jan. 2014
By Roger R. Stoffel - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is part an absolutely fabulous 5 cd series (even though liner notes say there are 6 volumes) of mostly new wave mid-level chart hits from mainly early-mid 1980's (a few reach back to the late 70's or into the later 80's). If you listened to and enjoyed radio from that era, you definitely need to pick up this out-of-print set, even though you may not know all the songs. Recording levels are consistent through all 5 discs of the series which is great for making your own playlists so you have level playback, and quality of the sound is top notch. Each track has artist info/ photo, top chart position and release date for both the U.S. & U.K., what album(s) it appeared on, time, composer & producer. 19 tracks; time: 76:17.
Were these reviews helpful? Let us know

Customer Discussions