Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2009
Having seen the original many years ago, I'll admit that I got this for the original film and not for the extras. However, the new footage of the week after the decisive 2nd test is fascinating and really adds to the first film. The criticism of the forwards in particular from Jim Telfer is scathing and very interesting to see them rise to that in the 3rd test, even though they lost.
The players meeting is also worth seeing just for the aura of the players really struggling to get motivated for the third test.
The other real bonus is the extras of Mcgeechans training sessions on attack especially.
Definately worth getting, even now the euphoria of the 2009 tour is over.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This is amongst the best non-fiction films I've ever seen. Even if you aren't the biggest Rugby fan then there is still lots (enough for 5 stars) here for you.

Rugby is a tough, physical and frankly dangerous game. At this level, and especially in South Africa, it as close to simulated war as modern sport gets. Much of this documentary takes you straight to the moments before the "battle" begins in a pure, visceral way that really is something special. I think the lack of a standard documentary voice-over and the willingness to linger on faces of the players and staff seem to connect you to the emotions and characters of the individuals in a very direct way.

Highlights of the on-field action actually are not the most memorable parts of this film, even for the Rugby fan, though some elements like Dawson's dummy or Bentley's try are truly stunning.

For me the highs are:

Jim Telfer's Everest speech giving Shakespeare's "Once more..." a run for its money,
Ian MacGeechan's tense body language before the matches showing precisely how much it means to him and yet how helpless he feels in those moments, and
Irish prop Keith Wood telling a very young-looking English Scrum-Half Matt Dawson "let them kick me not you," in a moment that sums up a awful lot of what the Lions is about.

But perhaps the most memorable/affecting bits are the tough-to-watch lows:

Will Greenwood's Mum yelling "William, William. What have you done?" as her unconscious son is carried off the pitch apparently close to death.
Team doctor James "Robbo" Robson treating Cauliflower ears
The sheer, crushing anguish in Doddie Wier's face, and his desperate attempt to hide it, as Robbo tells him his knee has been wrecked in on field foul-play by Mpumalanga Province before the first Test has been played.

As a parent whose young sons play Rugby, some of this is really, really tough to watch. Though a sight of Graham Rowntree's bloodied ears has at least won the argument in favour of a scrum helmet!

Buy it. Watch it. Watch the extras. Watch it again . Though if your sons or daughters want to carry on playing rugby don't let their mother see the Mrs Greenwood bit.......
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
Living with Lions Anniversary Collector's Edition [DVD] [2009]

Absolutely cracking entertainment, very, very funny and very, very interesting. The only problem is I can't really see how this is a collector's edition. The DVD is as basic as you can get, no extras, not even subtitles!

Having said that, I'm glad that I've got Living with Lions but I would say you'd be as well off with the non-collector's edition DVD.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
Very good fly on the wall documentary. It shows the highs and lows of the British lions Squad Tour of South Africa in 1997, from the initial squad sessions to the the final Test. Has some gritty hard talking sessions, from both the players and the management. The lighter moments are provided by the Playercams of Messers Weir, Wainwright and Bently.

A excellent package showing the Lions on Tour
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
As the title suggests, I want to marry this DVD and have lots of DVD babies with it. We'd then grow old together until one of us dies and the other then mopes about waiting for Godot... Seriously, the best tour video ever made in my humble opinion. Was bought as a replacement for my old VHS copy and sets the standard that all future Lions tour DVD's will be measured by. Superb stuff from start to finish.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
i strongly recommend this dvd ..it shows the highs and lows ( mostly highs ) of an international touring side...................i nearly cried at a couple of scenes with the emotion being shown both by the management and players

i really enjoyed this and for the price this is top entertainment . i cannot see that you will be dissapointed
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
Quite simply the best sporting documentary I've ever seen. Anyone who doesn't understand what a Lions tour is all about, needs only to watch this DVD. Jim Telfer is an absolute legend.....!!!Ken - Dublin
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2013
Seeing greats of the rugby world being themselves and not giving more media soundbites is an amazing experience really lets you delve into the emotional trip this is and the utter devotion these men have for the game without losing their personalities. A must see just for the kangaroo court seen ha
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
What can I say, an amazing documentary into the 1997 Lions Tour. I first saw this on VHS when I bought it for my dad back some 15 years ago and as a female rugby fan, I found it laugh aloud hysterical. There were some massive characters on that tour; Keith Wood, Bentos, Buzz, Dodie to name but a few, and seeing them come together to form The Lions was brilliant. You can follow them right from training in the UK with team building madness, in the dressing room (with Ieuan Evans always throwing up before a match) to the sheer panic of Greenwood's tackle and the doctors thinking he's died on the field. An excellent dvd.

Oasis' Wonderwall has always made me think of The Lions 1997 in SA!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
THE sporting docufilm of all time, it will never be beaten. An incredible film from start to finish. Every rugby fan, regardless of nationallity has to see this. Every moment is captured, Doddy Weir having his leg almost broken, Scotty Gibbs destroying anyone in his path, Johnno having his face stitched back together, John Bently becoming a legend...and Telfer's speech...the hairs still stand up just thinking about it.

Whether you are a rugby fan or not, anyone who watches this will enjoy it and see what a truely special tour it really was.

"This is your Everest boys..."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)