Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2016
Very well researched book and very interesting read, simple newspaper style layout and colour coded and charts the history of the brigade from being part of the police (blue) the national fire service (green) and then Liverpool, Merseyside county the fire and rescue (red).
Most of the notable turnouts are there as well as developments but I feel it lacks interview and personal stories from those brave men and women that served. Still a good read if your interested in brigade or local history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Obviously a lot of research went into this book. The history is told by newspaper articles, photos and information from other sources. It is a decent sized book packed with lots of information. Although I found it very interesting it is not a history story in itself but is definitely worth having a copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I bought this for my Step Dad who used to be in the Liverpool Fire Brigade. He absolutely loved it, and was doubly thrilled to find out he was actually in it, along with a photograph. It made his day. A big thank you to the author, and well done for including so many photographs too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2010
I bought this book initially because my father is on the cover photograph (4th from the left). The book highlights the dangers and heroism of the firmen at that time - what it doesn't emphasise is the low pay they received.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
My husband was a Firefighter based at West Derby Rd Fire Station Liverpool sadly he died but he is featured in this marvellous tribute book to literally "Liverpools Finest" and have bought a book each for our sons who are very proud of their dad and which they will treasure always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
Great Book about real heroes - they always say that you can tell the hero they run into burning buildings when everyone elese is running out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
great book brings back memories of days in AFS 62-68 remember many of the jobs described and quiet a few officers and men mentioned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Excellent service. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)