Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Live at the Grand Olympic Auditorium
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 October 2004
Long term political idealists rage against the machines very last album (brings a tear to the eye)These guys were a massive influence on everyone in the genre now known as nu metal. This album really does the raw power of their music justice. Zack de la Rocha's (vocals) burning desire to spit in the faces of the members of american government shines through from the opening boom of Bulls on Parade to the dying screams of Freedom. A must have for all rage fans and a truly amazing live album in its own right. So much energy it's hard to see why the band split, nice one guys a great way to go out with style and good luck to Audioslave.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
Live albums are pratically hit or miss opportunities for fans, many of them are made for the record producers so they can make more cash fall into thier already over-stuffed, over-flowing pockets. And some of them are badly produced and almost terrible to listen to (Linkin Park's Live In Texas anyone?), unless they're Pantera or Machine Head that is. But there had been a band who always stood up to the critics who may not have taken likely to their rebelious energetic music, gave the middle finger salute and never cared to what anybody thought about them, and that bands name is Rage. Against. The. Machine. If anyone went to Rage's gigs back in the day and shat themselves with excitement for one of the planets most coolest revolutionary band, then they're defintetly gonna be reminded of that power the WAS Rage Against The Machine. Rap Rocks finest have got all the classics here with songs including 'Bullet In The Head', 'Killing In The Name', 'Calm Like A Bomb', 'Testify', 'Know Your Enemy', 'Bombtrack' and the brilliant ending track 'Freedom'. The only thing here that could let you down is how Rage will never play a show that your listening to (or witnessing, if you got the DVD) EVER again, which could even bring a tear to your eye. But if anything we should be VERY grateful for what Rage gave us, Zack De La Rocha is god, he's a good man to let this be the last album of pure power that was Rage Against The Machine.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 May 2006
Rage Against The Machine could have - and probably should have -imploded as soon as they finished touring their debut album. Their second album shamed them, and their third, while decent enough, wasn't much of a credibility-booster. Covers album Renegades, meanwhile, was their equivalent to Guns 'n' Roses' Spaghetti Incident; a covers album (and one much better than it had a right to be) that was the equivalent of spitting on their hardcore left-wing fans from above.

A live album seems like a cash-in, a disappointing idea, especially for such a politically-charged band. But with RATM, every show came damn near a riot, and a live album is just as essential to your collection as the band's incendiary debut. This album - recorded across the band's last couple of shows, and so even more fiery than normal - is extraordinary. Songs from Evil Empire are thankfully absent except the two best, 'People Of The Sun' and a thunderous 'Bulls On Parade' (which opens the set). Throw in 'No Shelter' from the Godzilla soundtrack, two cuts from their covers album and the rest taken from their debut or The Battle Of Los Angeles, and you have what is essentially The Best Of Rage Against The Machine.

And that's what it could easily be. The band are on perfect, tight, grandstanding form here, storming through their 'classics' with the vigour of a band who knows that its time is up. Bemusingly for some, the 'hits' like 'Bullet In The Head' and 'Killing In The Name Of' are out of the way fairly soon, with the band ending the show, their friendship with vocalist Zak de la Rocha and RATM itself with an epic rendition of 'Freedom.' As it collapses to an end after seven minutes, all four of the band disappear, never to be seen together again.

And that, to this day, is that. Zak is still working on a three-years-mooted solo album, the three musicians of the band have formed Audioslave, and this live album is the final release of one of the finest bands of the 1990s. It's a worthy addition to anyone's collection.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2004
I had heard that they were doing one last concert but I had no idea that they were going to release it on CD and DVD.
When you hear the riffs of Tom Morello's guitar ringing out through the walls of the hall, Brad Wilks smashing the drums to bits, Zack De La Rocha singing out his soul and Tim Commerford adding bass to those memberal songs, it makes you want to be at the concert.
I bought the CD on the 3rd Jan 2004 and I have nearly worn my cd player, i just love the album.
If you have only heard one song by RATM, you still must buy this album ASAP!!! and the DVD, it is bound to be excellent...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 29 July 2007
This is an outstanding example of the power of RATM in a live setting. The playing is tight and the audience are obviously loving every minute. You get a good cross section of songs from their albums and all played with vigour and passion. 'Killing in the name' is especially good live. Highly recommended, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
I purchased this album a few weeks ago purely as I hadn't listened to there albums for a while and thought it would be a good idea! As soon as the first riff's kick in I was reminded of how awesome there Riffs and songs in general are. I would recommend anyone looking for some new music who loves heavy and funky riffs to pick this up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2003
Anyway Rage against the machine are my one of my favorite bands (if your new and have heard audioslave 3/4 of rage although they rock, YOU MUST BUY THIS ALBUM due to the fact that it is quite frankly superior in every concieveable way).
Rage were THE band of the mid/late 1990's early 2000's and anyone who has seen one of the live DVD's will know that the are so much more awsome live. EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS ALBUM ROCKS. the only reason for me not believeing this to be quite worth five stars is that it does not have 'wake up' on it one of rages best songs and it has so far yet to appear in a live recording (i havent seen live and rare so this is an assumption) but the true greatness of the rest of the songs more than make up for its absence!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2004
This last performance by rage is a unbelievable performance by one of the greatest bands of the 90's. It is an essential purchase for anyone who liked their previous albums, and this live performance shows why they are such a great band. Some songs may not quite have the energy to them like killing in the name of, like it did on the studio perfotmance or other live versions. Buty still they all sound very good songs and the fact its the bands last live performance make it an essential purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2011
the sound is terrible......listened to 2 songs then put it off,do not buy if your wanting a good sounding live album,its fuzzy and really bad,i though my speakers had went but its just a really bad sounding album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
I should stary off by saying that this is a fantastic live album; great songs by a great live act, with a fantastic production job meaning that the "live" impact is still present but that the sound quality is high enough not to spoil the record. Many RATM classics are here (most of their songs are classics by now, of course), and all of the band members are on fine form. However, I am prevented from giving this five stars by some minor quibbles. Firstly, some key Rage tracks are missing, Take The Power Back, Wake Up and Revolver springing to mind, and so it is hard to look on this as a definitive Rage collection, live or not. Secondly, one or two songs don't quite come off in my humble opinion; Bullet In The Head is a fantastic song, but doesn't really carry the same momentum here as on the studio version, and the same applies to, dare I say it, the incredible Killing In The Name. Nevertheless, do not let my nitpicking deter you from purchasing this prime example of what a live album should achieve and excellent introduction to the world of Rage (Zack has that little bit extra fury live) though I definitely would recommend that a new fan buy the studio albums as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Battle Of Los Angeles
£5.54
Evil Empire
£5.49
Renegades
£5.49
Prophets of Rage
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)