Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
Live! Bootleg
Format: Audio CD|Change


on 23 September 2015
This album tends to receive around 3.5 stars. The general consensus seems to be "it's OK". I disagree. This is a solid 4* album. It is raw, the performances are, (I understand), untouched and there are a great selection of songs. One of the criticisms seems to be over the raw sound. I'm sorry, but they should have a hat tilted at them for refusing to add studio touch ups. This album sounds this way because it is simply a collection of untouched recordings culled from various concerts during Aerosmith's 77/78 tours. That's the attraction of this album, it's pureness and rawness. It is a great concert document of crazy, drugged up late 70's Aerosmith. It captures the band in full swing. It's a great guitar album as well, Whitford and Perry's guitars working together, with the sold bass and drums of Tom and Joey. Steve's vocals are raw. Sometimes this rawness is all to clear, like with the opener 'Back in the Saddle'. They do the ultimate version of 'Come Together', which I think is one of the highlights, as well as cracking versions of 'Sick as a Dog', 'Mama Kin', 'Lord of the Thighs', (where we are treated to an extended jam), 'Draw the Line' and the great 'Chip away the Stone'. For me, the album looses half a star becuase of the sound. Due to the fact there was no studio magic attached to it, the sound isn't as loud as other live albums, (think Kiss's Alive!), and the other half star is lost due to the inclusion of the two 1873 performances. While the perfomances are great, and showcase early Aerosmith on their first tour, It just seems too random, popping up like that. Maybe they could have added 'Get the lead out' or 'Seasons of whither' or 'Kings and Queen's from the late 70's concerts to make it flow more. Either way, if you love raw live albums, love 70's Aerosmith and love dueling guitars, i'd buy it.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2016
One of THE great live albums by the best band I've ever seen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2018
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2009
First of all, for those wondering about the inclusion of the track Draw The Line, yes it's all here. It's not listed on the cover or the disc, and it isn't 'track marked' as a separate track on the CD either. It can be found as the second part of track 15, after Mother Popcorn. After 7 minutes of Mother Popcorn the track continues as Draw The Line for another 4:32.

As a live rock album this is a classic. Very live and raw it retains all the feeling of an Aerosmith concert. It's got to be my favourite Aerosmith album. Sweet Emotion and Lord of the Thighs are definite highlights with both Joe Perry and Brad Whitford showing what superb players they are. But there's no filler here. Last Chid, Dream On, Sight For Sore Eyes, the list goes on. A must have album for any rock fan!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 December 2011
When you look at the track listing, you think that your in for the ultimate live experience, unfortunately what you get is a very hit and miss live compilation of Aerosmith classics.

The main issue is Steven Tyler's voice. You can tell that the excess was catching up with him, hence you get a fair few questionable vocal performances. " Back in the Saddle ", " Draw the Line" & " Mother Popcorn" are pretty atrocious to be fair, the band's timing is also dodgy on several tracks, with one or two obvious wrong notes being hit. It's obvious that they couldn't wait to get off stage to get steamed all over again.

There are a few good points however. " Lord of the Thighs", " S.O.S", " Sick as a Dog", " Mama Kin" & " Come Together" are all superb and the version of " The Train Kept a Rollin'" Is just sublime.

It's an imperfect ( But honest and not overdubbed) live scrapbook.

OK, but not essential.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2013
Over the past 2-3 years I have really got into Aerosmith. My first taste of them was with Pump and Permanent Vacation back in the 80's and they remain 2 of my favourite albums in my collection. I then went to look at where they moved on to and but more importantly what were they doing earlier.

I like live music so looked forward to getting this. Now I do like the studio albums from around this time but I felt that Steven Tyler seemed to struggle and the overall sound quality was not great. The songs are great but just not to a high sound quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2015
Don,t be fooled this is not a Bootleg, the sleeve is designed to look like a Bootleg but infact this is a very good live album of 70,s live concerts by this gr8 band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2014
I have been listening to this album for 35 years. No point in commenting on the album except to say please Sony dig through the source concerts and make it a double.

Disc 2 proposed tracklist:
from Aerosmith: Make It, Movin' Out;
from Get Your Wings: Same Old Song And Dance, Seasons Of Wither;
from Toys In The Attic: Adam's Apple, Big Ten Inch Record;
from Rocks: Rats In The Cellar, Nobody's Fault, Get The Lead Out, Lick And A Promise;
from Draw The Line: I Wanna Know Why, Kings And Queens, The Hand That Feeds, Milk Cow Blues;
from Night In The Ruts - live versions as played by original band before Joe Perry left and album's release: Chiquita; Reefer Headed Woman, Bone To Bone, Think About It.

And for the record this CD has the following tracklist (not as listed on Amazon UK):
1.Back In The Saddle
2.Sweet Emotion
3.Lord Of The Thighs
4.Toys In The Attic
5.Last Child
6.Come Together
7.Walk This Way
8.Sick As A Dog
9.Dream On
10.Chip Away The Stone
11.Sight For Sore Eyes
12.Mama Kin
13.S.O.S.
14.I Ain't Got You
15.Mother Popcorn (includes Draw The Line as a hidden track)
16.Train Kept A Rollin'/Strangers In The Night
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 February 2010
There are many fantastic live albums from the 70's - this isnt one of them.A disapointing lacklustre compilation of live tracks from various sources.

There are a couple of high points , the extended version of 'Lord Of The Thighs' surely the definitive version! and a smouldering version of 'Train Kept A Rollin','Chip Away The Stone' and Toys In The Attic' are pretty good to.

However the rest are ramshackle performances bordering on collapse with Tyler in particular pretty awful on many an occasion(Back In The Saddle a prime example)

Throw in the poor tracks from Pall Mall '73 and you have a pretty disjointed disc
Essentially thrown together to bridge the gap between studio albums as the band disintegrated before the record companies eyes
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2013
I love Aerosmith, especially their 70s stuff and to me this album is the pinnacle of that era. A great track listing, from a variety of shows, that really seems to get to the essence of the Toxic Twins most substance indulgent period. You can almost smell the class As and liquor on some of these performances. I'm particularly partial to the Ain't Got You and Mother Popcorn segment. What I'd have done to be at that gig, although as I'd only have been about 4 years old I don't suppose I would have seen much. Anyway, if you like 70s Aerosmith this is an essential album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Rocks
£4.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)