Live At The I.C.A./Retros... has been added to your Basket

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Live At The I.C.A./Retrospective Double CD, Original recording reissued

Price: £25.24 & FREE Delivery in the UK. Delivery Details
See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, Double CD, Original recording reissued, 7 Mar 2000
£15.60 £15.59
Only 2 left in stock.
Note: This item is eligible for click and collect. Details
Pick up your parcel at a time and place that suits you.
  • Choose from over 13,000 locations across the UK
  • Prime members get unlimited deliveries at no additional cost
How to order to an Amazon Pickup Location?
  1. Find your preferred location and add it to your address book
  2. Dispatch to this address when you check out
Learn more

Amazon's Ray Russell Store

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Product details

  • Audio CD (7 Mar. 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Double CD, Original recording reissued
  • Label: Import
  • ASIN: B00004RDSW
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: 357,146 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Lapis
  2. Tip Roote Pt. 1
  3. Tip Roote Pt. 2
  4. Stained Angel Morning
  5. All Week Tomorrow

Disc: 2

  1. Stained Angel Morning
  2. Find Me And I'll Find You
  3. Riff Too Far
  4. That Dream Again
  5. Blue Rain
  6. Name Of Which I Cannot Recall
  7. Dragon Hill

Product description

Product Description

Double CD re-issue on JIM O'ROURKE's Moikai label for "lost" free jazz album from British guitarist who in the English free jazz improvisation scene of the late 60's & early 70's was reputed to be the first guitarist to have a pedal set up & was responsible for the guitar freak out on the James Bond "Dr. No" soundtrack! For a period in the early 70's he made records of a hydrid bastardisation of rock & free jazz energy. His sound is recognizably jazz, the rhythm section, the horns & group improvisation but even after all this time it's still a shock when he hits the strings! Explosive, sharp angular bursts of "skree" guitar rather like a Pollack painting fitted with guitar pickups! Like contempories Sonny Sharrock & Terje Rypdal he makes it sound as if the guitar is not enough, as if he's reaching for something wilder.. something that can't be contained within the 6 string cage! Features the original artwork with additional liner notes from Alan Licht & Ray Russell himself.. Check out recent RCA reissues also.

Customer reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews on 5.0 out of 5 stars 3 reviews
5.0 out of 5 starsWow! Great improvisation band!
15 January 2009 - Published on
Verified Purchase
5.0 out of 5 starsPsychdelic Free Jazz Noise Guitar Mania
29 May 2000 - Published on
4 people found this helpful.
Edward O
5.0 out of 5 starsAWESOME
25 June 2014 - Published on

Where's My Stuff?

Delivery and Returns

Need Help?