Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 November 2013
I were surprised to find that a book from 1937 could be of such immense value to me in 2013. Though aimed towards women, the book is quite useful to men as well, everybody should enjoy breakfast in bed and become aware that single life could be interesting and meaningful, especially in our time when so many men and women do indeed live alone - perhaps not liking it.
I have just now ordered Hills' book 'Orchids on your budget' and I am certain it shall be as useful and amusing as 'Live alone' was.

Do buy, it's all you expect it to be and then some!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
A friend directed me to this book and I am very glad they did. It is quite dated in some respects, (although that gives it a certain charm and, considering its age, I think it stands up remarkably well to the test of time). But some of its messages are pretty ageless and I liked the author's positive approach and strong self-care message. Most of the book is just as relevant to women living alone today as when it was written.

A charming and uplifting read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
While the book isn't exactly a totally contemporary affair, it has a lot to offer and has a very positive message about self-acceptance, independence and is an antidote to the kind of books where having a relationship is the most important, defining thing about a person.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
entertaining! must read for single's, you could choose to live happily single or miserable & single.
this book led you with different scenarios, change your perception for being in a boring single-dom position.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
If ever you need someone to whisper in your ear to "stop moaning" about solitary living, then this is the book for you. Written very much in the style of her other book - "Orchids on your Budget" (about having a great life on not much money) the no-nonsense tone will have you positively revelling in having the place to yourself. Written quite a few years ago and obviously for an American market, the advice still holds good and will raise a smile.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2014
This book is really good fun. It is funny and strict and has loads of good advice. In fact it is pretty much the same as books on simplifying and decluttering written today. Except more amusing. I'd recommend this one over them as the tone is much less annoying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2014
Not really worth reading in my opinion. Out of date and a bit of a waste of time. Maybe I was looking for something else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2016
I loved the book. Previous reviews say it all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
I bought this for a friend who said she has found it helpful and at times inspirational.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2010
Fits neatly in your handbag and sure to make the sad and lonely single girl (not easily achieved) smile ! .. very plesed
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)