Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Drake Pre-order now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
107
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2010
A touching, harrowing contribution to the misery memoir genre - the story of one man's struggle with sexual inadequacy, his fears of repressed homosexuality, and the humiliation his dreadful flatulence daily heaps on him. Anyone who has a heart should buy this book out of social concern.
0Comment| 133 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2007
Top flight! Once more John LittleRichard hits the nail on the head, we're losing what made this country great - hack journalism.

In a deftly coded satire on modern journalism Littlejohn reminds us of The Daily Mail's support of Oswald Mosley and the British Union of Fascists.

With his continual reference to 'recycling nazis' and 'the country our grandparents fought for' he brilliantly alludes to the papers owner Lord Rothermere, a friend and supporter of both Benito Mussolini and Adolf Hitler, which influenced the Mail's political stance toward them up to 1939.

If you like LittleJohns opinions I urge you to get somebody to read it out aloud for you, priceless!
0Comment| 186 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
Devastating. Through a series of extravagantly counterintuitive detournements, deliberate solecisms and a fresh and shocking schizoid logic, Littlejohn delicately intimates his troubled relationship with his own sexuality and his anomie in the face of a late capitalist society that has yet to afford him either respect or love. A startling account of spiritual desolation.
0Comment| 153 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
There are those who credit Plato with defining that obscure and fluctuating artefact which has been termed the 'western mind'. Perhaps we might admit the philosophies of Jesus of Galillee and Freidrich Nietzche into that elite club of thinkers who have contributed to its further elucidation - but never before has a work emerged of which we can triumphantly declaim: Plato is obscured, we have our new republic!

With a lacerating intelligence Littlejohn dissects his subject, exposing for all time the inadequacies of those who would make us weak. Let us move forward. Let us see this not as the end to the process of social thought (though that is, perhaps, what it is) but the beginning instead of a new era, a new politics, a new humanity. There is no more right and left, there is only Right, that blighted syllable now reclaimed for all time by Littlejohn - a man for whom the lost titles of Fuhrer and Duce can finally be taken back from the grubby paws of history.

Wonderful.
0Comment| 166 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2007
In the words of Soren Kierkegaard, "The most terrible fight is not when there is one opinion against another, the most terrible is when two men say the same thing -- and fight about the interpretation, and this interpretation involves a difference of quality." I cannot help that this terrible fight must come to exist between those foremost modern thinkers, Richard Littlejohn and Jeremy "I like cars" Clarkson. And when it does, the difference of quality will surely favour Clarkson because he did that DVD of crashing things into caravans.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
'Littlejohn's Britain' is the third instalment of the eclectic 'Littlejohn Mysteries', and arguably the best yet. As the novel commences we are reintroduced to maverick sleuth Richard Littlejohn; a straight-talking, no-nonsense freelance detective who stops at nothing to get answers. But Littlejohn has changed: no longer the bright-eyed optimist he once was, the events of the previous book, Murder at Mbongo Hall, have left him embittered and disillusioned with the job he once loved. However, it's not long before an anonymous tip-off from a civil servant draws Littlejohn deep into the heart of a political conspiracy which goes all the way to Downing Street.

Tightly written and highly exhilarating, 'Littlejohn's Britain' rockets along at the pace of a runaway train and never lets up. From the initial discovery of the dead prostitute ("She had it coming," a gruff Littlejohn observes with peerless humour) through to the unspeakable evil of the government's nefarious 'recycling' scheme, every turn of the page brings a shocking new twist which will never fails to excite. In particular, the climatic showdown atop the London Eye is worthy of literature's finest.

'Littlejohn's Britain' is rife with the trademark humour which has already made the series a modern classic ("bloody speed cameras!" should be the nation's new catchphrase), but it also explores a darker and more sinister side of Littlejohn's past. Tales of drinking, debauching and even a fleeting homosexual encounter are all gradually peeled away as the story progresses to reveal a complex and ultimately tragic character. With the addition of some truly horrific villains -- the scheming 'Two Jags' Prescott, PC-gone-mad Trevor Phillips, and psychotic gay Johann Hari -- the recipe is complete, and the result is some of the greatest work ever committed to print. 'Littlejohn's Britain' is simply a masterpiece; essential reading for anyone who can handle the action.
0Comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2007
Wittgenstein opined that "whereof one cannot speak, thereof one should remain silent". But John Little is a greater philosopher still - he cannot remain silent nor should he. This is a towering work of political philosophy - a diatribe against the ignorant, intolerant & plain stupid: those who castigate the defenceless & weak; those who would deny him his right to a life of extraordinary homosexual promiscuity & depravity that would make the most liberal amongst us blush. Only the Daily Mail would be brave enough to publish the man who tells it how it really is. Read him and weep.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2007
at last, a man with the visionary skills to realise how dangerous the London Eye is. So many people don't realise that this is an evil eye. Look at the patterns... it's clearly the eye that the freemasons use to signify control. They're laughing at us people, laughing. They're in league with the communists that make up the so-called labour party, and have ACTUEALLY erected this monument to their control, and we like sheep, actually RIDE IN IT. oh, i could weep for the stupidity of humanity. Buy this book AND LEARN THE TURTH before they get you.
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
Before reading this book I, like many people, believed Richard Littlejohn to represent the Daily Mail branch of the National Front.
But understanding more of the man helps you see Britain through his eyes - and boy has he seen it all.
The descriptions of his home life are truly fascinating - the image of him sitting in his bedroom dressed as a policeman playing "Second Life" and screaming at his mother that he wants sausages for dinner will stay with you long after you have put this brilliant book down.
You couldn't make it up.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
I read this while awaiting clearance in a terminal at London's Heathrow.

By the time I turned over the last page I realised Britain was not for me. Thank you Mr Littlejohn. You have saved me from a squalid life living in a small studio flat above yet another Indian Takeaway or Pizza Delivery service. As for the neighbours I would have had according to you. Well it is not worth thinking about. So I asked for the Immigration Service to return me on the earliest flight back to where I came from.

I just wouldn't want to live in a country that produced Littlejohn. Plain and simple.
0Comment| 80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)