Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Kindle Price: £6.99
includes VAT*
* Unlike print books, digital books are subject to VAT.

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

The Little Breton Bistro by [George, Nina]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

The Little Breton Bistro Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
£6.99

Length: 304 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of £2.99 after you buy the Kindle book.
Ready

Great Reads for 99p
Browse our selection of Kindle Books discounted to 99p each. Learn more
Get a £1 reward for movies or TV
Enjoy a £1.00 reward to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase any Amazon Kindle Book from the Kindle Store (excluding Kindle Unlimited, Periodicals and free Kindle Books) offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 reward per customer applies. UK customers only. Offer ends at 23:59 on Wednesday, September 27, 2017. Terms and conditions apply


Product description

Review

[Nina] George's engrossing novel is as much about indulging the senses with succulent dishes and dazzling sights as it is about romance and second chances. With a profound sense of place and sensuous prose, the novel functions as a satisfying virtual visit to the French Riviera. A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love (Kirkus Reviews)

A sweet lifesaver bound to be in huge demand (Library Journal)

Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has '"seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned (Daily Mail on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP)

A true gem for fiction lovers (Good Housekeeping on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP)

Book Description

An heart-warming story of romance and adventure - and a return to France - from the internationally bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP (500,000 copies sold worldwide)

Product details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 1042 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Abacus (2 Mar. 2017)
  • Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LY2KJXR
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #7,817 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
The Little Breton Bistro
by Nina George.
Published by Abacus, 2nd March 2017

The story is about Marianne, a sixty year old lady, who is desperate to escape a loveless marriage. Her husband Lothar is cold and seemingly without much feeling -- he is a Sergeant Major in the Army and a total pain in the neck, sarcastic, belittling, and apt to clip money-off coupons and insist that she uses them even if the food is out of date. With him she has lost all sense of personal value.

On a trip from Germany to Paris, Marianne decides that she has had enough of being bullied and put down, and plans to end it all. Leaping from the Pont Neuf into the River Seine she welcomes death. Fortunately she is saved from drowning by a homeless man nearby.
Taken to hospital, she is told by Lothar that she can come home on her own, with a psychologist, as his ticket is only valid for the next day and he's using it to go.
Marianne escapes from the hospital, taking with her a little ceramic tile on which is a painting of a village in Brittany, Kerdruc. This seems to call to her.

Somehow she is determined to get there. She has adventures on the way, a visit to Ste Anne d'Auray (one of my favourite venues), a meeting in a Convent, bus journeys and finally a walk through the woods to Kerdruc where the aromas of salt, sea and spray wash over her.
A night afloat and she is picked up by one of the many characters who frequent the Auberge d' Ar Mor around which so much of the story is set.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
A superb book and a very easy read following the ups and downs of one woman and the characters she encounters
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Well written tale of emotional discovery of the main character. A truly good book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
Marianne and Lothar are in Paris, but even in this vibrant city Lothar manages to kill Marianne's joy and after forty-one years of marriage she can't take it anymore. Lothar doesn't see her, he's unkind, he cheats and he doesn't want his wife to have anything. He has never given her the idea that he loves her. Marianne kept waiting for a gesture, a token of love, but she now knows Lothar will never give it to her. She sacrifices and suffers and there's only one person who can make it stop. That's why she and the Seine become one for a short time. While she thinks this will be the end of her life it's actually only the beginning.

After receiving a sign Marianne travels from Paris to Kerdruc in Bretagne. It's where she thinks she's supposed to be, at least for the time being, for the short existence she still has left. She finds a job in Ar Mor, a restaurant with friendly, but suffering people. Slowly Marianne uncovers a side of herself that went missing in her marriage with Lothar. The healing effects of Kerdruc turn her into a different woman. However, Lothar is still her husband and she isn't in Kerdruc to stay, or is she?

The Little Breton Bistro is a book to fall in love with. It's a story I could and will read over and over again. Marianne never learned to choose herself. She always did what Lothar expected of her and what's left is an empty shell. She has to go through something terrible to be able to hold on to life and maybe even dare living it. I loved her gentleness. She has such a big heart and she only gives and never takes. Her physical and spiritual journeys are both beautiful and it was amazing to see her grow, to become the most she could be. Marianne finds her brave side and discovers how gorgeous she can be, both on the outside and the inside.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
When Marianne’s attempts at suicide are thwarted, a whole new life of possibility is revealed to her.

Never having read anything by Nina George and being slightly irritated by the use of the adjective ‘little’ in so many book titles of late I wasn’t particularly looking forward to reading The Little Breton Bistro as I thought it would be another lightweight formulaic read. I was completely wrong. If I’m honest, I didn’t really think that the title did justice to the book.

The Little Breton Bistro is an absorbing tale of what it means to live life to the full and not live down to others’ expectations. The marriage between Marianne and Lothar is, I suspect, typical of so many marriages and The Little Breton Bistro actually gives hope and life to those in similar circumstances. It is a salutary tale of making the most of life.

The plotting is extremely good with every character in Kerdruc earning their place in the story and weaving a colourful tapestry of life, love and relationships. I really enjoyed the fact that Marianne and Yann, for example, are in their 60s and presented as warm human beings with real needs, insecurities and desires, rather than the 30 somethings of so many novels.

But it was the overall quality of writing I really enjoyed. There’s a wry humour that balances perfectly the deeper aspects. All the senses are perfectly catered for from the crackle of stockings to the ozone taste of oysters so that the prose sizzles with life. Some of the phrasing was quite beautiful and made me think of Dylan Thomas, especially the descriptions of Kerdruc. I also loved the underlying mythology and art that came through the superstitions of the Breton community so that this is strong storytelling.
Read more ›
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

click to open popover